Originally posted by SaintDL:Stereotyping is an issue.
did i say i can't put up with it? gimme a break!Originally posted by SaintDL:But really. Singaporeans speak singlish. You can't go anywhere without hearing a singlish phrase.
You take the elevator, and the dood comes in with his friend talking in singlish.
You take the stairs, and you hear someone waiting for the elevator speaking singlish thru his mobile phone.
You walk down the street and you hear dozens of singlish phrases.
You... ah you get the point.
So if trendz can't put up with it, he should just migrate. 'Nuff said.
i didn't even say singlish cannot be condone.Originally posted by striderz_o405:Well... YOU SAY WHAT CHEENA. I SUPPOSE YOU ARE STEREOTYPING ALL CHINESE AS CHEENA PEOPLE.
AND DO SOME REFLECTIONS. WHAT MAKES YOU THINK YOU ARE SO SUPERIOR TO SCOLD SINGAPOREANS WHO SPEAK SINGLISH?
Originally posted by ditzy:NO!!!DO I LOOK LIKE BARBEQUE SAUCE TO YOU?!?!?!
well, he should save up the money, few weeks ago i was chatting with my oversea friend an australian. the conversation went like this,Originally posted by SaintDL:But really. Singaporeans speak singlish. You can't go anywhere without hearing a singlish phrase.
You take the elevator, and the dood comes in with his friend talking in singlish.
You take the stairs, and you hear someone waiting for the elevator speaking singlish thru his mobile phone.
You walk down the street and you hear dozens of singlish phrases.
You... ah you get the point.
So if trendz can't put up with it, he should just migrate. 'Nuff said.
heng is a chinese, but i didn't say she's cheena.Originally posted by striderz_o405:Well... YOU SAY WHAT CHEENA. I SUPPOSE YOU ARE STEREOTYPING ALL CHINESE AS CHEENA PEOPLE.
AND DO SOME REFLECTIONS. WHAT MAKES YOU THINK YOU ARE SO SUPERIOR TO SCOLD SINGAPOREANS WHO SPEAK SINGLISH?
a prime example of an ah beng.Originally posted by kiss_my (_i_):lim bei want use wat i like la!!
lu kpkp wat..
u not happy u mai use singlish la!!
dui bu qi.. wo tai chong dong le..![]()
This is not singlish.Originally posted by kiss_my (_i_):lim bei want use wat i like la!!
lu kpkp wat..
u not happy u mai use singlish la!!
dui bu qi.. wo tai chong dong le..![]()
look who's talkin'.Originally posted by newcomer:Stop being so rigid and start using some Singlish for christ's sake.
wah liu..Originally posted by Hidden^OnE:This is not singlish.
It is really not advisable. Look. if you were to speak to an expatriate or a foreigner; a caucasian, i bet it is very difficult to understand what ya tryin' to say with the lahs, lorhs and all.Originally posted by dinky1409:Well, I believe to each his own.. You may dislike Singlish but to the majority of us, Singaporeans, we actually do not mind, or else why are we still using it right? I guess Singlish is ok but when situations do not permit, it is advisable to speak proper English. If we are really comfortable with speaking Singlish among our own friends, why not? It is just part of our lifestyle and I believe it does not degrade our stand in the today's world in some way or another..![]()
you should spend a few months in UK, US, EU etc...Originally posted by trendz:It is really not advisable. Look. if you were to speak to an expatriate or a foreigner; a caucasian, i bet it is very difficult to understand what ya tryin' to say with the lahs, lorhs and all.
Really, it is a disgrace. Why can't we all speak standard english?
Talking about singlish as a national identity, we have enough. We don't need one more to bring us down to a level of being mocked at; or simply being a laughing stock in the global front.
realli meh??Originally posted by trendz:Singlish - we've enough of national identities.
We don't need any more.
In time to come, those people who ain't versatile (ie. not fast to adapt, know how and when to speak standard english), will get lost even before the gateway of global mass communication.
Have your say.