Were you really thinking of 24" in front and 26" at the back?Originally posted by spidey3:no lah. Bicycle is all RWD. Not appropriate to have smaller back wheel. Difficult to drift.
I was considering 24" back and front. I was just humoring ditzyOriginally posted by Wanda:Were you really thinking of 24" in front and 26" at the back?
Like that also can?![]()
It not about the wheels mah...it's about the bike frame size. Like someone mentioned, gotta choose the bike with sufficient standover height, i.e. at least 1" space between the top tube and the groin area.Originally posted by spidey3:I was considering 24" back and front. I was just humoring ditzy
You were saying you have a bike, I assume also 26". So how tall are you if I may ask? Do you have problem with the height of the bike?
Well from what I know, you need not have to change the cassette(gears) because if changing the size meaning changing the diameter of the rim and length of the spokes. Not sure about the hub which holding the cassette though. I ain't a wheelbuilder. Contact reputable bikeshop for more professional assistance.Originally posted by spidey3:Yes, I think they are V-brakes. And that was what i think also. The brakes has to be change to accomodate the small diameter of the wheels. The original breaks pads will not reach the correct position if using 24" wheels.
What about the gears on the back wheel. Do you think it need to be change if we change to a 24" wheel?
yes I do feel the salesperson had not given a good service. Though he had not pressure her into the sales I do think he could have done more in his giving us an expert advice.Originally posted by JasonC:Bottom line is, you cannot simply change the wheel sizes. as mentioned earlier, most frames are built specifically for a certain wheelsize only (there are some which have adjustable brake bosses, but that's a different story)
it appears that your friend bought a frame that is too large for her; which is pretty unethical of the salesperson, whom should have known better than to recommend the particular frame to her.
I'd advise that you get your friend to change to a smaller frame ( typically, most ladies will be comfortable with a 14"-16" frame.
PM me if you need assistance with that.
changing frame. I don't know. Form what I see - I think the frame is the most expensive component for this bike. It is a 6061 aluminium frame. Very light but solidly built.Originally posted by mase101:Well from what I know, you need not have to change the cassette(gears) because if changing the size meaning changing the diameter of the rim and length of the spokes. Not sure about the hub which holding the cassette though. I ain't a wheelbuilder. Contact reputable bikeshop for more professional assistance.
JasonC mentioned about changing of frames and it seems like good idea.
Not that I have anything against icYwATeR but removing the brake isn't a good solution and its dangerous especially on the streets of Singapore.
Hi JasonC,Originally posted by JasonC:Bottom line is, you cannot simply change the wheel sizes. as mentioned earlier, most frames are built specifically for a certain wheelsize only (there are some which have adjustable brake bosses, but that's a different story)
it appears that your friend bought a frame that is too large for her; which is pretty unethical of the salesperson, whom should have known better than to recommend the particular frame to her.
I'd advise that you get your friend to change to a smaller frame ( typically, most ladies will be comfortable with a 14"-16" frame.
PM me if you need assistance with that.
you want brake oso canOriginally posted by spidey3:changing frame. I don't know. Form what I see - I think the frame is the most expensive component for this bike. It is a 6061 aluminium frame. Very light but solidly built.
Removing the brakesIt is like chopping of the head to cure a headache.
Road bike use mountain bike tyresOriginally posted by spidey3:Hi JasonC,
Thanks for the help.
You do seem to have a bit of knowledge in this subject on mountan bike.
Can a road bike use a moutain bike type tyres?
wheels 26" diameter too high for friendOriginally posted by spidey3:my friend is not very tall and she has to tip toe. Can manage but I am afraid will have problem on uneven terrain.
I notice if she tries a bike with 24" wheel her foot can touch the ground flat. I think reducing the wheel to 24" will make the sit height down by atleat 2".
the reason I ask is because when we were shopping around - we actually found this road bike which she like very much. It has 17" frame and come with either a 18" or 22" wheels. Very narrow wheels - completely road bike. Height just nice - 18" for her and 22" for me.Originally posted by icYwATeR:Road bike use mountain bike tyres
can meh?
Technically, no.Originally posted by spidey3:Hi JasonC,
Thanks for the help.
You do seem to have a bit of knowledge in this subject on mountan bike.
Can a road bike use a moutain bike type tyres?
This cyclocross - are they sometimes call hybrid bikes?Originally posted by JasonC:Technically, no.
however there is a breed of bikes known generally as a "Cyclocross' - essentially a frame with a geometry more geared towards a road frame, but with knobblies (MTB Tires),
Bike expert, bows.Originally posted by JasonC:Technically, no.
however there is a breed of bikes known generally as a "Cyclocross' - essentially a frame with a geometry more geared towards a road frame, but with knobblies (MTB Tires),
also, there's a new hype going around now, the 29er, or 29" MTB
these are generally MTBs with 29" wheelsets, which are pretty close in size to those of a roadie (roughly 700c).
if you intend to use your mtb mostly for tarmac, then a good way to go (without breaking the bank) is to switch over to slicks.
what frame is it?Originally posted by spidey3:changing frame. I don't know. Form what I see - I think the frame is the most expensive component for this bike. It is a 6061 aluminium frame. Very light but solidly built.
Removing the brakesIt is like chopping of the head to cure a headache.
About the hub to hold the cassette - this component (hub) you are saying is specific to the wheels. So that the hub of one wheels will not fit another type of wheel.
roadie with knobby tyres?Originally posted by spidey3:the reason I ask is because when we were shopping around - we actually found this road bike which she like very much. It has 17" frame and come with either a 18" or 22" wheels. Very narrow wheels - completely road bike. Height just nice - 18" for her and 22" for me.
We thought about what we want to use the bike for. She was more for going riding of the tar road. But I was more into going riding off road. So we kind of went for a mountain bike (the 26" model) instead which is more all terrain. But I forgot to ask the salesman, whether it is possible to get the road bike but change to nobbly tyres.
http://www.aleoca.com/aleoca_bicycles.htmOriginally posted by seow:what frame is it?
Maybe find someone who owns the same model then swap?![]()