Ban smoking on the island? Sure people all over the world will kpkb...Originally posted by Glen999:i still think the government is not doing enouhg leh..
guess government is stil lobbied by powerful tobacco companies..
otherwise, governmetn can just ban smoking in the island.. like how they ban the chewing gum...
government can setup a center for people have trouble to quit smoking.
Well-said!Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Ban smoking on the island? Sure people all over the world will kpkb...
Suggestions:
1. Increase taxes on cigarettes by 50% every year
2. Smugglers in cigarettes get 20 strokes of the cane and long imprisonment
3. Smokers do not get subsidized medical treatment in government hospitals and polyclinics
4. Extend smoking ban to bus stops

It's already not lawful to light up at Bus StopsOriginally posted by oxford mushroom:Ban smoking on the island? Sure people all over the world will kpkb...
Suggestions: 1. Increase taxes on cigarettes by 50% every year
2. Smugglers in cigarettes get 20 strokes of the cane and long imprisonmentNot possible under human rights laws
3. Smokers do not get subsidized medical treatment in government hospitals and polyclinicsThey are not priortised should they have Cancer due to smoking already
4. Extend smoking ban to bus stops
Smugglers in cigarettes get 20 strokes of the cane and long imprisonment Not possible under human rights lawsSingapore is not a signatory to the relevant UN and European Conventions.
3. Smokers do not get subsidized medical treatment in government hospitals and polyclinics They are not priortised should they have Cancer due to smoking alreadySince when? I work in a hospital and I have never heard of this. Where's your info from?
Is it illegal to light up at bus stops already? I didn't know that...will stop smokers at bus shelters the next time I see them.
Duh...cant u sense the sarcasm in my post? Precisely its impossible to stop people from smoking what.... i am a non smoker myself but i also understand smokers have their rights to smoke...i guess this is all becos of a group of incosiderate smokers who blow their smoke at other people in queues or eating places last time thats why such a ruling came in.....Originally posted by vito_corleone:are you forking the bill for all the measures that you propose be implemented? i do hope you have a pocket that is billions-of-dollars deep![]()
Dont be stupid-lah, smoking makes your lungs rot, and you stink.Originally posted by vito_corleone:FYI smoking HAS NOT been really proven to cause any disease, nor does 2nd hand smoke.![]()
Originally posted by vito_corleone:FYI smoking HAS NOT been really proven to cause any disease, nor does 2nd hand smoke.![]()

Good effort, but can be more sarcastic!!Originally posted by gasband:To successfully curb smoking in Singapore:
1) All smokers have to go through a Basic Theory and Advance Theory Test on smoking.
2) All smokers have to bid for a Certificate of Smoking (like COE) before they are allowed to smoke. Of cos, the half yearly Smoking Tax (like Road Tax) and Yearly Insurance have to be bought.
3) Smokers can only smoke in designated areas in public. But smokers have to bring cashcard with them becos all these areas will have ERP gantries and u have to pay when u go into these areas.
4) Smokers must attach a pipe from their mouths to their nose when they smoke so only themselves will smell their smoke.
5) Raise per packet of cigarettes to $200 per packet of 20.

don't believe me go ask around lor. thats why they state that smoking MAY cause xxx disease, they don't dare to put smoking WILL cause xxx disease. for every report published about the potential hazards of smoking, another comes up saying it does not.Originally posted by Jerina:Dont be stupid-lah, smoking makes your lungs rot, and you stink.
Even if it doesnt bring any diseases, it doenst bring good either.
If you're a smoker, I wishes you good luck.Originally posted by vito_corleone:don't believe me go ask around lor. thats why they state that smoking MAY cause xxx disease, they don't dare to put smoking WILL cause xxx disease. for every report published about the potential hazards of smoking, another comes up saying it does not.![]()