It is never fun dealing with government bodies or GLC on any project. Once you mess it up, you'll pay dearly for it.Originally posted by one-niner:wonder which SI is bidding for the system that IBM screwed up ? cool 90 million ...darn thata alot of money for a portal system.
Nevermind that, they'll squeeze your price down till it hits bedrock!Originally posted by de_middle:It is never fun dealing with government bodies or GLC on any project. Once you mess it up, you'll pay dearly for it.
I suppose they will sue for liquidated damages and loss of normal profits(normal damages).Originally posted by one-niner:Sorry guys i am not a legal guy and anywhere near drafting a contract.
But i do belive definintely a company like IBM will be ensuring that their lawyers pour over the clauses within the contract to ensure a fair deal in their right and make sure they CYA.
So any legal skillset ppl care to comment abt the type of damages CPF is going out against IBM etc ?
Originally posted by ShutterBug:Nevermind that, they'll squeeze your price down till it hits bedrock!
They are SO EXACTING, and yet, when they obviously screw up, we supposed to recognize that it was an honest mistake!!
WTF!
Originally posted by dark_snowboy:I suppose they will sue for liquidated damages and loss of normal profits(normal damages).
Whens the day of hearing by the way?
Liquidated damages is the amount specified in a clause in the contract to be paid to the injured party if a breach occurs.Originally posted by Parka:What's liquidated damages?
Anyway, don't expect them to get any money from suing for loss of normal profits. Normal profits is very ambigous and hard to calculate.
hope the judge is not biasedOriginally posted by chunyong:eh, lawsuit in SG leh...CPF is SG govt one....if they lose then is govt lose face liao leh
Ya sure they pay good money.... right.Originally posted by Parka:But they pay good money. So unless one doesn't have anything to deliver, don't act as one.
they have a case if there are proper documentations of CPF's change requests which caused delays and extra costs for the projectOriginally posted by Parka:At the point IBM was unable to meet the deadline, they are already liable to be sued.
At the end of the story, IBM didn't deliver. IBM's going to lose anyway, it's just a matter of how much they are going to pay for the damages.
CRs ..haha Fi is working in the IT industry as well ?Originally posted by FireIce:they have a case if there are proper documentations of CPF's change requests which caused delays and extra costs for the project
currently it's IBM singapore handling this case on their own
not sure if HQ will be sending their legal team down to assist.
Correcto Mundo!Originally posted by the Bear:well, i would say, looking at the stuff reported, IBM is liable to be sued for major damages...
CPF seems to have gone above and beyond what is, as the client, is contracted to do.. they have allowed IBM to extend the deadline by a whole year (i would have sued IBM there and then) and still IBM did not deliver...
it is not a matter of "singapore" or GLC or whatever the hell it is (so you conspiracy theorists and anti-gabrament fellas - you know who you are), it is simply about contract law..
IBM quoted (in a tender), an offer was made, CPF accepted, a consideration was paid, and in the end, IBM totally failed to deliver even after CPF allowed lots of things (like a 1 year extension)
IBM is liable for the contract price and damages (if i'm not wrong, without need for mitigation)
not 1 billion/min?Originally posted by fai:IBM = 1 million per hour
One other point, are government agencies still slow in payment???? or they purposely hold back the retention money which is normally a large percentage till they are pleased with the outcome???Originally posted by ShutterBug:Nevermind that, they'll squeeze your price down till it hits bedrock!
They are SO EXACTING, and yet, when they obviously screw up, we supposed to recognize that it was an honest mistake!!
WTF!
should be IBM cos it's many years back in 2001Originally posted by ceecookie:IBM is now Lenovo..so CPF not taking action against the latter?