Yes. Uniform Groups are there for a reason and definitely not what u've said.Originally posted by skyfoo:look, ug are there for a reason. join ncc to get the feel of army. want to learn specialise in first aid? join red cross and st john. want fun, go scouts and guides. feel holy? join bb/gb. and npcc leh? wear police uni and nv do police stuffs.
so tell me, what police stuffs have u learned in npcc? catch thieves? solve crimes? go patrol in the neighbourhood? no? and den why are u wearing the police uniform? and police learn campcraft for what? police need to camp ar? if u're talking about setting up the 4-man tent for the dead often seen in the tv, can understand la. but do police really need pioneering?
npcc has ah bengs = facts, not stereotyping. unless u dared to tell me npcc no ah bengs. so what other ug have gangsters, it doesnt matter. but npcc? the ug supposingly a police youth group. and gangsters in npcc, is it right? think yourself.
Haha! Yes i am.Originally posted by skyfoo:it doesnt matter to me. guys, he's directing to me.
Originally posted by GHoST_18:![]()
wah i see a potential AWOLEE here.Originally posted by dinky1409:I was in NCC Land.. They anyhow throw me inside and I can't quit.. Sucks.. Hate it.. Play truant lor..
Currently, which secondary level are u in now? It may be possible for u to quit in lower sec. U haven't given the reasons for ur dislike, perhaps, it may be easier for us to help if u gave us ur reasons.Originally posted by field:im in NPCC and i hate it -_-
Perhaps, someone has such a sentiment like you. The NPCC HQ and Council have worked on some issues already. The NPCC Service Day was lauched several years ago. The aim, was to spread Crime Prevention messages to residents living near any NPCC Unit. Cadets play a important role in the Service Day, as they are the very ones who spread the information to the residents. With the integration of NCDCC and NPCC into HTCC, NPCC Service Day 2006 saw cadets from NPCC and NCDCC to spread Crime prevention and fire safety to residents.Originally posted by skyfoo:anw, of all the ug, npcc is the most unmeaningful one.
while npcc is wearing police uniform, it's not doing police stuffs. sana? crime-prevention? scouts/guides also have. den come do campcraft which i dun think police need that skills. the main duty of police is to maintain law and order. npcc leh? still got ah bengs inside. wtf la. the closest police stuffs they do is perhaps gg lectures and learn theories? lidat may as well scrap npcc.
narrow-minded.Originally posted by skyfoo:anw, of all the ug, npcc is the most unmeaningful one.
ncc - army
scout/guides - all-round
bb/gb - christianity
red cross/st john - first aid
while npcc is wearing police uniform, it's not doing police stuffs. sana? crime-prevention? scouts/guides also have. den come do campcraft which i dun think police need that skills. the main duty of police is to maintain law and order. npcc leh? still got ah bengs inside. wtf la. the closest police stuffs they do is perhaps gg lectures and learn theories? lidat may as well scrap npcc.
look, ug are there for a reason. join ncc to get the feel of army. want to learn specialise in first aid? join red cross and st john. want fun, go scouts and guides. feel holy? join bb/gb. and npcc leh? wear police uni and nv do police stuffs.join NCC to get a feel of the army?
so tell me, what police stuffs have u learned in npcc? catch thieves? solve crimes? go patrol in the neighbourhood? no? and den why are u wearing the police uniform? and police learn campcraft for what? police need to camp ar? if u're talking about setting up the 4-man tent for the dead often seen in the tv, can understand la. but do police really need pioneering?
npcc has ah bengs = facts, not stereotyping. unless u dared to tell me npcc no ah bengs. so what other ug have gangsters, it doesnt matter. but npcc? the ug supposingly a police youth group. and gangsters in npcc, is it right? think yourself.
if u read clearly, my idea of scraping NPCC is that the police stuffs they did is so minimal. and so what's the point of wearing police uniform and do non-police stuffs. that's my point. clearly u're trying to make me a anti-npcc so as to make me the bad guy. that's too obvious. i'm stating my point of view, without the flaming part. please stop trying to act being the good guy, it makes me sickOriginally posted by Deunamist:scout. no wonder you said scouts and guides are all rounders. bleh. so now you are pointing out ah bengs in NPCC. well let me tell you something. for the record, everyone who comes into NPCC is almost nearly a "blur-Sec-1-who-doesn't-know-anything". NPCC trainings only occur once or twice a week, and during the other five or six days a week, what the cadets want to do outside, we also cannot control right? our training programme is only there to educate, in the hopes that they would follow what we have taught. but if they do not wish to do so, we also cannot force it upon them.
also, by saying what you said, it is okay to have ah bengs in NCC, Scouts, BB? it is okay to have ah lians in Guides, GB, Red cross? why single out NPCC? so what if we are a Police CCA? Ultimately it is only a CCA. ANYONE CAN JOIN A CCA. The values a CCA teaches, ultimately it is up to the individual to follow.
I can also tell you for a fact there are ah bengs who are serving as Police NSFs..so what are you going to do about that? Scrap PNS?
Since you're not happy about this, stop being a spoilt brat trying to flame NPCC by hiding behind that computer screen of yours, why not be a man and write in to the Govt, MOE, NPCC HQ, SPF Manpower dept, CMPB, Straits Times, say there are tons of ah bengs in PNS and NPCC, go and scrap PNS and NPCC.
Originally posted by Deunamist:fine. i can say nth. u win ok?
how do you know that the police stuff is so minimal when [b]YOU ARE AN OUTSIDER. PERIOD.[/b]
haiz... small kid.Originally posted by Deunamist:join NCC to learn about army, maybe. to get a feel of the army?![]()
my word shldnt be read literally.Originally posted by Deunamist:how old do you think you are, Mr. Scout?![]()
Originally posted by skyfoo:whoa, all shooting me. good. I'm a scout btw.
Firstly, i'll like to clarify for the uniform groups and "what they do". I'm taking the view of a sec 1 kid pondering at the different uniform groups (UGs). And so you tell me, if you're now a sec 1 kid, isn't UGs are like UFOs to you, provided you're not in one during primary school. Ask anyone sec 1 kids who do not have prior knowledge of the different UGs, ask them what they think the different UGs will give them, chances are they will give the same replies as me. Do you all not agree?
I do not agree with what u said. Althought the fact that some CCAs are not available in Primary School, majority of the CCAs offered in Secondary School are readily available in Primary School level. Even Uniform Group as well. Scouts and Brownies? Aren't they available in primary school?
From the observations of my secondary school, the recruitment of students into UGs is mainly by the uniform. A mini survey done by me conclude many sec 1 kids are appealed to the various UGs' uniforms. Asking a group of boys, who picked NPCC as 1st choice, why the choice made, all answered they want to wear the 'police' uniform. And I ask my own scouts why they join scouts in the first place, again, the uniform. So judging from all these, can't you realise that those new recruits are joining UGs influenced by the 'untrue nature' of the various UGs? Someone did mentioned that NPCC =/ Police, but does the
Ok. Can i ask u question? U claimed that Secondary 1 students chose to join the various Uniform Goups according to the appeal of their Uniforms or the activities conducted? Cos the conclusion of ur survey is rather ridiculous and only proves the attractiveness and appeals of various Uniform and NOT the activities conducted. So what does that got to do with joining of CCAs and doing the activities the various Uniform Groups are "ought" to carry out?
It's really ur own assumptions. Let me give u an anology. If ur school's soccer team's jersey looks similar to football giants like Barcelona, Manchester United or Liverpool, does it mean that by joining the school soccer team, you would be able to play in the respective stadiums and train with the respective football stars?
The reason why they chose to join the respective Uniform Group is because they find their Uniform much more appealing and attractive. I dare to say that Red Cross and Saint John don't as much members as the other Uniform Group because their Uniform looks awkward, especilly for the males. So does it mean that no one wants to learn about First Aid?
ENLIGHTEN us on the role of the Singapore Police Force, help to build a stronger bond of friendship with them, and so lead to a safer place for all in the country.
This is one of the vision of NPCC. Judging from the police image in NPCC, you tell me, isn't it ironic that gangsters are wearing the uniform, which supposed to maintain law and order? They themselves are breaking laws and still expected to "lead to a safer place for all in the country." And obviously this does not apply to other CCAs or army, so why bother to argue about that? Ah bengs still can go to war right? ~~~
Eh. I think u misunderstood the meaning of this sentence. It basically means that by joining NPCC, u'll learn about the value and role of Singapore Police Force and build a frenship WITH the Police Force and WITH that, we can have a much safer place in Singapore. Brush up ur English.
LOL! Like i've said. Understand the statement first before u comment. NPCC cadets are NOT suppose to maintain law and order but HELP in maintaining by not committing crimes. Have u seen those in NPCC breaking the law before? Stop making baseless remarks. Wa~ Den when the war comes we all die cos u said that Army do not help in making Singapore a safer place.
And to CK, from dictionary.com (a reliable source for meanings of words), fact = Something demonstrated to exist or known to have existed. Stereotype = A conventional, formulaic, and oversimplified conception, opinion, or image. I made a statement the "NPCC has ah bengs." You yourself agree that it's true. So that make it a fact. If I say "NPCC is full of ah bengs because I saw some NPCC cadets displayed actions of gangsterism manner yesterday", this is stereotyping. You get it now?
Ah.. But u forgot to mention that fact is also the truth. I said that u're stereotyping becos u're making a theory of ur own and wants everyone to believe that wad u're saying is true.
Get it?
Read my above post, the HQ is working more initatives to increase 'police related stuff'. Note that maintaining law and order is the SPF mission. WHile the NPCC MISSION is to develop its cadets into caring and responsible citizens.Originally posted by skyfoo:if u read clearly, my idea of scraping NPCC is that the police stuffs they did is so minimal. and so what's the point of wearing police uniform and do non-police stuffs. that's my point.
Yes, i have somewhat agree. i also carried out a mini survey too. The first 3 reasons (in no order) are, (1) Uniform is nice, (2) Older Silbing/cousins in NPCC, (3) Childhood dream wana jioin SPF.Originally posted by skyfoo:Firstly, i'll like to clarify for the uniform groups and "what they do". I'm taking the view of a sec 1 kid pondering at the different uniform groups (UGs). And so you tell me, if you're now a sec 1 kid, isn't UGs are like UFOs to you, provided you're not in one during primary school. Ask anyone sec 1 kids who do not have prior knowledge of the different UGs, ask them what they think the different UGs will give them, chances are they will give the same replies as me. Do you all not agree?
From the observations of my secondary school, the recruitment of students into UGs is mainly by the uniform. A mini survey done by me conclude many sec 1 kids are appealed to the various UGs' uniforms. Asking a group of boys, who picked NPCC as 1st choice, why the choice made, all answered they want to wear the 'police' uniform. And I ask my own scouts why they join scouts in the first place, again, the uniform. So judging from all these, can't you realise that those new recruits are joining UGs influenced by the 'untrue nature' of the various UGs? Someone did mentioned that NPCC =/ Police, but does the
ENLIGHTEN us on the role of the Singapore Police Force, help to build a stronger bond of friendship with them, and so lead to a safer place for all in the country.[/i]
This is one of the vision of NPCC. Judging from the police image in NPCC, you tell me, isn't it ironic that gangsters are wearing the uniform, which supposed to maintain law and order? They themselves are breaking laws and still expected to "lead to a safer place for all in the country."
firstly, let me share with u guys an incident last year. i was at a fast-food restaurant last year when a fight broke out. it's was between a guy in 40s and a supposingly gang leader. when the fight took place, there was this bunch of NPCC NCOs, NCOs, not cadets, besides my table. throughout the fight, they were just watching the 'show', doing nth. though i dun expected them to stop the fight or what, the least they can do is call the police or the security guards? no they didnt, they just watch show. so, after the incident, it led me to wonder what's the use of the NPCC if their members cant even respond to a fight in public.Originally posted by gd4u:Yes, i have somewhat agree. i also carried out a mini survey too. The first 3 reasons (in no order) are, (1) Uniform is nice, (2) Older Silbing/cousins in NPCC, (3) Childhood dream wana jioin SPF.
The 1st reason, Uniform is nice, is certainly because the SPF has done a very good job in projecting in image. Many of the CIs also set a high standard in Uniform etiquette. NPCC certainly helps for the next 2 reasons, certainly. I dun think I need to reason out here.
How in Ah bengs break the law? Shoplifting, murder, rioting? If u are talking about school rules, that sounds absurb. Do you know that u are breaking the sch rules when u are late for sch ? Even prefects break the rules themselves.
I think we have said enough, while some of us here got abit far, we all mean the same thing. NPCC does not deserved to be scrapped ...