u need nutrition tipsOriginally posted by alexkusu:whoa...food science student![]()
i want my golden tap someday~Originally posted by Yunhaier:Wah so many kind souls.
Cheers
best 6 years in life then why switched line?Originally posted by Elephantpai:To be a social worker, you need at least a Degree in Social Work. You can try SSTI for more information. They do offer a Degree in Social Work.
www.ssti.org.sg
UNISim deg is different. That degree can only make you a counsellor. The role of counsellor and the role of a social worker is different.
But i got to warn you though. Being in this industry, they don't pay you well. One of the questions you have have to ask yourself is this.... Why do I choose this line? for passion or for wat?
So my advice to you is check your motive and are you willing to put up with the low pay and in years to come... you might see yourself earning quite a miserable pay and your peers earning big time.
If you are able to take all these, Welcome To the Social Work industry.
I had been in the industry for 6 years before i did a career switch. These 6 years was one of my best years in life though.![]()
Originally posted by Elephantpai:To be a social worker, you need at least a Degree in Social Work. You can try SSTI for more information. They do offer a Degree in Social Work.
www.ssti.org.sg
UNISim deg is different. That degree can only make you a counsellor. The role of counsellor and the role of a social worker is different.
But i got to warn you though. Being in this industry, they don't pay you well. One of the questions you have have to ask yourself is this.... Why do I choose this line? for passion or for wat?
So my advice to you is check your motive and are you willing to put up with the low pay and in years to come... you might see yourself earning quite a miserable pay and your peers earning big time.
If you are able to take all these, Welcome To the Social Work industry.
I had been in the industry for 6 years before i did a career switch. These 6 years was one of my best years in life though.![]()
Thanks a lot, i prefer to go down one day to get more information. I do agree with the fact that i may one day have to earn money for my family. But i am sure there do have a way to solve the problem between passion vs bread & butter. Sad that sg standard of living is getting high yet our salary isn't following upOriginally posted by Elephantpai:Well, reason why i switch industry is simple...
Bread and butter Vs Passion...
When i am single, I dun have to worry so much abt bread and butter, but now i am married, at the end of the day, I have to bring food home for my family. But I will go back to this industry after I earned enough for my family.
Social Work industry only recognise degree from NUS and SSTI. And they dun recognise degree from those Pte Sch. So don't waste money on those schools. To know when is their next intake call them at: Tel: 6210 6667/6668/6669/6660
Ah I see. Then how about those with diploma or lower and no prior experience in any social or volunteer work? Can still get in the profession of social work right? Not as social worker but lower, like social work assistant or smth liddat.Originally posted by Elephantpai:Well, reason why i switch industry is simple...
Bread and butter Vs Passion...
When i am single, I dun have to worry so much abt bread and butter, but now i am married, at the end of the day, I have to bring food home for my family. But I will go back to this industry after I earned enough for my family.
Social Work industry only recognise degree from NUS and SSTI. And they dun recognise degree from those Pte Sch. So don't waste money on those schools. To know when is their next intake call them at: Tel: 6210 6667/6668/6669/6660
Oh well, as i mentioned earlier, i find that oversea university is quite costly. I prefer studying the same discipline yet at a much affortable rate, saving lots of unnecessary costsOriginally posted by pwnz0r:I'm not sure about your ability to fund an overseas education, but I have a couple of friends with Social Work degrees from the University of Western Australia.
Helping people gives that great feeling lor.Originally posted by TehJarVu:best 6 years in life then why switched line?
Ah this one I consider liao. Volunteer work I definately will go. Thanks for your advice and words here.Originally posted by Elephantpai:Yep... you can start as a social work assistant if u have only a dip...
But my advice to those who wish to start a career in this industry... Start to volunteer first... from there you will find out whether if this industry is suitable for you or not...
Cheers...
Originally posted by Elephantpai:Yep... you can start as a social work assistant if u have only a dip...
But my advice to those who wish to start a career in this industry... Start to volunteer first... from there you will find out whether if this industry is suitable for you or not...
Cheers...