Barriers as in those underground stations? The current MRT station makes such an idea unfeasible, and furthermore barriers can only prevent accidents from happening, whereas the example you gave was not an accident. I believe if someone wants to kill himself, he'll find a way regardless.Originally posted by bcjxbcjx69:i think that the SMRT should start making barriers that will only open when the train stops. this is to prevent people from doing the same thing just to gain public attention. i agree that the family is indeed very poor thing but this is not the way to do things and government should start to educate the public that this is not the only way out. we should let the people know that this is not the way to make ur family lives better.what u guys think >?![]()
train doors dun solve suicide problems cos they might jz hit the road when they cant do it in mrt... they should instead start making people's loves better instead of their own...Originally posted by bcjxbcjx69:i think that the SMRT should start making barriers that will only open when the train stops. this is to prevent people from doing the same thing just to gain public attention. i agree that the family is indeed very poor thing but this is not the way to do things and government should start to educate the public that this is not the only way out. we should let the people know that this is not the way to make ur family lives better.what u guys think >?![]()
need to pay fare to get in the gate to committ sucideOriginally posted by Pitot:Yes, fares increase liao. Pls do something to address the problem.![]()
So... if one suicider decides to dash across a busy road, gets hit and gets run over and over and over again cos like you said, the road does not close? No delay at all?Originally posted by Pitot:Some dont get the point.
As a transport operator, It is SMRT's responsibility to make sure their trains travel on time. If installing barriers can reduce the chance of any delays. I say Jolly well install it.
Afterall, raise all the fares for wad? to make sure they have enough to pay for their fines?
when one jumps into the track, the track is closed therefore resulting in a delay.
when one dashes across the road, the road does not close.
No it dosent.Originally posted by tomsss:So... if one suicider decides to dash across a busy road, gets hit and gets run over and over and over again cos like you said, the road does not close? No delay at all?![]()
Ok loh, if that's what you think. Makes me wonder where the traffic jams here on our roads come from....Originally posted by Pitot:No it dosent.
And unlike MRT tracks, there are alternative roads to choose from.
If the same thing happens on the track, its a ripple effect.
the SOS hotline fake one ah? If SMRT needs one, then HDB also will need one, LTA also, NEA also....Originally posted by baby_tiger:Actually I think it's more important to help those ppl who are suicidal than to put barriers... Put barriers only will solve the problem of delay in MRT, but if ppl really wanna suicide, they can do it anywhere... So many tall buildings in sg... So maybe SMRT set up some kind of helpline with their extra profit is better..?
Haha... True also... But then they make so much money, might as well try to help ppl... Somemore jumping in front of MRT like getting more common...Originally posted by tomsss:the SOS hotline fake one ah? If SMRT needs one, then HDB also will need one, LTA also, NEA also....![]()
The GOvt got to do something about it..Originally posted by baby_tiger:Haha... True also... But then they make so much money, might as well try to help ppl... Somemore jumping in front of MRT like getting more common...