Ha! now they LL liao lor. they did this for the sake of appeasing the public, so that their sales will not drop! so fake!Originally posted by ^tamago^:latest update.
x2!Originally posted by TehJarVu:hypocrite
boycott them till they dao bi![]()
hhaa...tt sound more like annoucement than apology.Originally posted by kalangkabo:they've sent "apology" to forum page...
http://straitstimes.asiaone.com/portal/site/STI/menuitem.c2aef3d65baca16abb31f610a06310a0/?vgnextoid=7532758920e39010VgnVCM1000000a35010aRCRD&vgnextfmt=vgnartid:f82154c7f4ebe010VgnVCM100000430a0a0aRCRD
imo, sounds a bit high-handed. not very sincere...
but that's just my personal view...
u r abdul mohamed right?????Originally posted by Sugar Fix:I am not sure how many of you were there on the day of the incident but I was waiting outside the shop for my friends and I witnessed this incident.
The lady was screaming at the top of her voice and was making a scene outside the shop while the shop guy was trying to explain to her the reasons behind their sign.
I know it is always easy to sympathise and support the ones who claim to have been wronged. But she had definitely exaggerated in her complain letter to make CE look as bad as possible just because she was upset.
I was standing very closeby and saw and heard everything that was going on. It was impossible not to look as the lady was shouting so loudly. And there were NO vulgarities uttered by anyone at the scene and there were no rude gestures by the CE staff.
My mother is wheelchair bound and we just avoid taking her out to places where accessibility is poor. Mind you, in Singapore that includes, buses, HDB flats that do not have lifts serving every floor, cinemas, shops like 7/11 and many more.
In fact, on the same day while waiting, I saw a well dressed woman in a luxury car park at the handicap spot in the carpark outside CE at Vivo. Why didn't anyone complain about this? I am sure there are many others on this very forum who are guilty of parking at handicap spots as long as they are not caught on camera or by law enforcers.
For heavens sake, it is only a candy shop. Candies are not basic necessities that you cannot live without. If she really wanted candies, she could take her grandfather over to the hypermarket on the same floor to shop. That is the most appropriate response. Quietly, take her business elsewhere.
But she has let her emotions cloud her sense. By taking it to the newspaper she has generated free publicity for the shop. Negative or positive, publicity is publicity. That's all every business and media personality works for.
If the shop really wanted to discriminate against wheelchair bound people, it would have made the entrance very small with a long metal pole in between like those in some lifts of office buildings. It's their business to have whatever policy that suits them. I have been to many shops with wide entrances but still I cannot wheel my mother into them because their aisles are too small and crowded with people. The last thing I want for my poor mother is to accidently hit her face/head aginst the sharp shelf corners.
I saw public buses in LA 5 years ago providing ramps and seating areas for handicapped passengers. In Singapore, MPs and these wheelchair associations have been dragging their feet in fighting for their cause but they are quick to complain and create an uproar over a sign at a candy shop. Oh please!
Most cinemas do not cater for wheelchair people. Why isn't anyone protesting and writing to the forum? You mean wheelchair bound people can keep themselves entertained watching DVDs at home? What about wheelchair bound teenagers? Do they have DVD movie parties at home to laugh and enjoy with their friends?
As long as it is not life's essential items that you are being deprived of, think before you do or write anything. I have been offended and upset by many rogue merchants in Singapore. I may go to CASE but not to the papers. I will not do a huge favour to the people who have upset me by generating free publicity.
Think about it!
wah u go there no jioOriginally posted by hisoka:i went to the store b4 and theres seriosuly nothing interesting inside, no idea why so many pple wanna go there.....
No. A Singaporean who left Singapore because she couldn't tolerate hypocrisy.Originally posted by NT2:u r abdul mohamed right?????![]()
looks like it. to see the incident is one thing, to suddenly come up with so many reasonings.....Originally posted by NT2:u r abdul mohamed right?????![]()
Many moons ago, I had worked as a sales assistant during my school vacations in one of the department stores in Orchard Road. And I used to hate having to remove all the drink bottles, McDonald cups, half eaten potato chip packets, tissues and other stuff left among the shelves. I have even found and removed baby feeding bottles, pacifiers and dolls. I used to think what a waste of time and why can't people be more responsible shoppers and use the bins provided at the foot of the escalators.Originally posted by M©+square:What i've noticed in Singapore context.
There used to be 'no food and drinks' signage stickers pastes on the window display of boutique, especially those high class ones.
However it went off after a while.
Maybe it could be education. People automatically have this impression that all boutiques disallow drinks.
In my personal opinion. I feel the boutiques found those stickers 'offensive' hence turning potential buyers away.
These boutiques wants to be shopper friendly, the way to sales.
I always get chased out of a boutique by a friendly sales assistant reminding me that i should finish my drink first before entering the boutique.
I liked that! Because of the personal touch.
If i'm 'offended' by no food and drinks sign, i think i wouldn't anymore less affected if i see a no disabled policy.
It's not the consideration of the place, we all understand there could be some discomfort here and there. However it is how the store wish to approach this issue. They took the easy way out, which disgust shoppers of my kind. And now they pay for it.
Cheers
so u saying singapore should ban wheelchairs?Originally posted by Sugar Fix:It is a fantastic thing that Singapore has banned chewing gums.
Where I live right now, I have to check the seats in the trains and cinemas before sitting down as people stick their chewing gums everywhere. In some clothing shops, I have had to search for clean fitting rooms as people stick chewing gums around the mirrors, doors and near the pegs/hooks on the walls. This is in addition to the other rubbish like tissues, empty cups and bottles they leave behind in the rooms.
I cannot appreciate signs and posters more.
No! I mean if people want to be righteous, they should be righteous about everything. There should not be double standards. The whole society and environment must be wheelchair friendly and not just one candy shop.Originally posted by ^tamago^:so u saying singapore should ban wheelchairs?![]()
It has to start somewhere right?Originally posted by Sugar Fix:No! I mean if people want to be righteous, they should be righteous about everything. There should not be double standards. The whole society and environment must be wheelchair friendly and not just one candy shop.![]()
Ramps and lifts in a few places like new buildings and upgraded HDB flats is indeed a positive start. But there is a longer road ahead and crying foul over a sign is a waste of time and energy. Although, Vivo has made the building accessible to wheelchairs but inside the building not many of the shops are catered for wheelchair bound people including the Golden Village cinema and all the foodcourts. (Have you seen how cramped the food republic foodcourt is at the 3rd level? That's what is appalling! My friends and I were put off by it.)Originally posted by ^tamago^:It has to start somewhere right?
They build ramps and lifts for you to slide down is it?![]()
duh...but you came back in time to witness the incident at vivo..? wow..Originally posted by Sugar Fix:No. A Singaporean who left Singapore because she couldn't tolerate hypocrisy.
So you suppose they're out alone shopping without their families, and they have to do these themselves? So you suppose abled bodied sales staff should not be assisting them even a bit?Originally posted by Sugar Fix:Ramps and lifts in a few places like new buildings and upgraded HDB flats is indeed a positive start. But there is a longer road ahead and crying foul over a sign is a waste of time and energy. Although, Vivo has made the building accessible to wheelchairs but inside the building not many of the shops are catered for wheelchair bound people including the Golden Village cinema.
Even if there are no signs and even if the entrances are big, some of the shops' aisles are too narrow and many of the products are placed/hung on high shelves/hooks. They are difficult for an abled but short person like me to reach. How about wheelchair bound people? You don't need signs to discriminate. The unfriendly design and layout is enough.
Before encouraging people to use public transport and leave their cars at home, Singapore should make public buses wheelchair friendly first. Places like Bukit Timah does not have MRT.
You are absolutely right that it has to start somewhere. But the start has to be the right starting point so that the end is a successful finish.![]()