depends on which course you plan to enrol. Most of the courses in Poly need at least 5 subjects with credits (some even higher criteria) including English and MathsOriginally posted by iSpeak:Is it compulsory for a science subject to be taken into L1R4 for Poly admission?
Pure subjects or combined science.
Then why they so biased against my generation?Originally posted by iSpeak:Courses in either :
School of Business, NP
School of Film and Media Studies, NP
Called the Ngee Ann Poly hotline and they say it's affirmative that science is not to be taken into the L1R2B2 for these two schools. Courses in these two schools require a pass in English, Maths and a humanities subject, plus another two of your best.
But I'm not going to debunk ndmmxiaomayi's claim leh. Too paranoid do that.
against mine tooOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Then why they so biased against my generation?![]()
Ya lor...Originally posted by shinta:against mine too![]()
i got d7 but my l1 r4 was 22.. cannot get into any course
Is it?Originally posted by iSpeak:You know gahmen these days mah.
Heard what by 2007 no need o level to go poly.
Nabeh next time got PSLE direct entry into uni.
You what generation?
YOu asking stupid questions leh.Originally posted by iSpeak:Is it compulsory for a science subject to be taken into L1R4 for Poly admission?
Pure subjects or combined science.
Go their website and see their COP lor... will give a rough gauge of whether it's easy or not.Originally posted by Unidentified:New course hard to get in anot ?
what i mean is will the A1 student go for a new course or an existing course , coz if all the A1 go new course the 20 - 30 pts ppl no place to go lehOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Go their website and see their COP lor... will give a rough gauge of whether it's easy or not.
Going by the mentality of Singaporeans, I believe they would go for the new courses and the popular courses.Originally posted by Unidentified:what i mean is will the A1 student go for a new course or an existing course , coz if all the A1 go new course the 20 - 30 pts ppl no place to go leh
Was wondering if Culinary and catering management a popular courseOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Going by the mentality of Singaporeans, I believe they would go for the new courses and the popular courses.
Non-popular ones like IT, Engineering and Nursing will probably got to the 20++ and above people.
30 points, probably not even a place, because the max was 28.
That course is Nursing, offered by Ngee Ann.
Don't know. Maybe not. Maybe yes. Singaporeans love to eat!Originally posted by Unidentified:Was wondering if Culinary and catering management a popular course
I think it's management.Originally posted by Unidentified:erm i read up on the course and im still quite blur about something
http://www.tp.edu.sg/courses/pbcook.htm
so this course is do the management or the cooking ?
The course strongly focuses on giving you a thorough appreciation of ideas ranging from the management of the overall customer experience in resort restaurants by culinary and catering industries to the appreciation of the complex, integrated processes found in catering establishments. You will be given ample opportunities to allow your passion for the culinary arts to flourish, your creative voice to be heard and your commitment to providing great food and wine to be translated into operating and managing a restaurant.There's nothing about cooking...
The curriculum is designed to take you through critical ideas: food product knowledge, basic business skills and an understanding of the culinary and catering industries. It also covers more advanced areas of study such as revenue management and marketing for the restaurant and catering industries. Throughout the course, your culinary and service skills will be honed through hands-on practice and projects in the state-of-the-art kitchens and restaurants on the campus. In addition, you will undergo a 20-week internship in your senior year in a commercial environment.
The course stretches your creative and critical thinking skills in decision-making and problem-solving which are required in supervisory and executive or managerial positions. There are also opportunities for training in entrepreneurship and in running your very own restaurant.
no cooking course in poly ?Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:There's nothing about cooking...
The nearest I know is Consumer Science and Technology by TP.Originally posted by Unidentified:no cooking course in poly ?
From the look of the modules, Core Subjects look like some general knowledge modules.Originally posted by Unidentified:Pai seh , me really got low knowledge on poly stuff
what does it mean by Core Subjects
and the difference of TP Core Subjects and Diploma Core Subjects