not really same lahOriginally posted by Fog:hokkien in s'pore seems almost identical to tai yu in taiwan, so wheres the diff![]()
Not very the same.Originally posted by Fog:hokkien in s'pore seems almost identical to tai yu in taiwan, so wheres the diff![]()
fang su is the proper term.Originally posted by Phoebie:not really same lah
some chinese terms also differ
like sweet potato, here locally term as fang su?
there term as di gua?
Look .. we are all the descendants of the Yellow Emperor and Yan-di.Originally posted by pinkish purple papayas:Hokkien songs and hokkien drama FTW...lol... to hell with mandarin, its not even our "mother-tongue" in the 1st place... mandarin is just some dialect that was spoken up north in beijing, and we singaporeans being so pro-china have to follow them..
Ask you a question .. if your dad is hokkien and mum is cantonese .. what is your mother tongue?Originally posted by pinkish purple papayas:Hokkien songs and hokkien drama FTW...lol... to hell with mandarin, its not even our "mother-tongue" in the 1st place... mandarin is just some dialect that was spoken up north in beijing, and we singaporeans being so pro-china have to follow them..
hokkien, traditionally we stick to the father side.Originally posted by Icemoon:Ask you a question .. if your dad is hokkien and mum is cantonese .. what is your mother tongue?
so if your mother don't know hokkien well, how she teach you leh?Originally posted by dragg:hokkien, traditionally we stick to the father side.
singapore cang long wo hu ya . how do u know ? surprise . . it is a real thing which happened when republic of china founded in 1912 . anyway . i think choose mandarin as official language is right . bcos 80% ppl in china speak mandarin or the similar language . canontese ?? just 2 provinces speak it . very few ppl .Originally posted by o-lua:an additional note.
actually while voting for the official language of China.
there were two major contestant, Mandrain and Cantonese.
cantonese for it's literature-like vocabulary.
in the end, the ppl out north chosed mandrain. and cantonese lose out by TWO votes. imagine everyone speaking cantonese now. hhaa.
not cantonese , it is min nan yu . hokkien .Originally posted by Icemoon:Cantonese is closely related to the tongue in the Tang Dynasty, the golden age of China. Which is why Li Bai's poems sound good when recited in Cantonese.
No problem with choosing cantonese as the putonghua.
not sure about that. Have you read any research that said so?Originally posted by hellomotosxq:not cantonese , it is min nan yu . hokkien .
Originally posted by Icemoon:fang su is the proper term.
You read Lao Fuzi? Inside the character called dai fang su (in cantonese), the comic came from HK.
Even HK uses fang su.![]()
goon = everybody but not including the listenersOriginally posted by bo liao:Not very the same.
if we hokkien agree on something> we say "en" or "hah-nor"
taiwan ppl say>"hay-ya"