stick to basketball lah.. trust mi !!!!Originally posted by Allen.Iverson:can any1 recommend a good place to go to learn guitar???
dont tell me yamaha pls!!
hey same here.Originally posted by Allen.Iverson:alot of ppl i know did....and they say its crap. cos yamaha teachers waste alot of time...they cant teach well...stuff like that...
yeah so i dont think i wanna try yamaha
Steve Vai is 90% self taught.Originally posted by hatemeifuwantto:quite true..but then if u are aiming to play like steve vai that kind of thing..it would be better to take lesson..cause its quite hard to learn that kind of stuff by self taught..
Originally posted by butterNsugar:but alot of guitar forums say otherwise leh...they say that best go find a teacher....i duno man...me and my friends wanna go learn together...ive done everything u said above but just cant seem to do it....
Dun ever learn from any music schools in Singapore no matter what, trust me, they suck and u end up spending a LOT of money over the years. Most music schools like to teach very little at a time so that they can eventually conduct more lessons which translates to u paying more over the years.
Self thaught is the best......
Let me teach u how:
Step 1 : Buy a Guitar.
No need so expensive ones. A $45 acoustic guitar will do. Learn how to fix your own guitar strings by taking out the strings on your guitar and changing into new ones. Its more or less the same as taking out your graphic card in you computer and fixing a new one, its easy. For electric guitar, dismantle your whole guitar so that you know the parts well. Learn how to tune your guitar. I tune my guitar with my Recorder, the one i use during primary school music lessons. Some books will also teach u how to tune your guitar. But if all else fails, buy an electronic guitar tuner.
Step 2 : Go for Books.
Guitar books are available anywhere in any good music stores. Try getting begginners's books and books that offers important stuff such as [b]Chord Charts and the various right hand methods such as plucking, strumming, picking etc. No need to learn every single thing in the book. As long as u know some basic chords and is comfortable wif changing from 1 chord to another, and know the right hand methods u can start telling everybody u are a guitarist. U should be able to play simple songs now.
Step 3 : Learn how to read tablature. (optional)
Tabs are very easy to read. It is also a MUST if u are planning to play Metal songs or Rock songs. Figure it out yourself after u completed step 2. U need to learn how to read tabs in order to proceed to step 4.
Step 4 : Guitar online lessons. (optional)
Go to Google to search for whatever u are looking for. It can be a pain to find the right lesson but its worth the effort. However most online lessons are not newbie friendly and consists of very advanced techneques requiring u to understand tabs so make sure u complete step 2 and 3. A good website would be www.ultimate-guitar.com.
Most important: Practice everyday.
Hope u find this useful.
wa seh i didnt know that...anyway he talented de mahOriginally posted by butterNsugar:Steve Vai is 90% self taught.
It is also important to hang out people who play guitar, such as joining your school's "live audio" or some "guitar club". Visiting Guitar forums helps too.