Originally posted by honeymouse:
How bad is your acne? How old are you? It could be just a phase (hormonal change) that you are going through and would get better after you reach certain age.
I personally don't find the acne cream helps. The cream is usually very strong and tend to burn your skin.
If it really bothers you, perhaps it's worth going back to see your dermatologist (skin specialist) to ask for something else.
I mentioned in one of my earlier post that I used to have acne problems too and had tried trying cream and antibiotics but didn't work. So I went to see the skin specialist and was put on Roaccutane for 6 months and it has been good since.
Roaccutane is very effective in terms of acne problems but can be expensive and it has some bad side effects such as depression, affecting your liver function causing cholesterol fluctuation, dry skin/lips/nose bleed, get sunburnt easily (advisable not to expose yourself to the sun while taking the medication), cause damage to fetus (therefore if you are a female you have to make sure you are not pregnant and not going to fall pregnant). Even after you completed the course, you need to wait at least 6 months or so before you consider to start a family.
If you do decide to go on Roaccutane, make sure you do a liver function test (just a blood test) before starting taking it and every 6-8 weeks after started taking it. The specialist in Singapore may not get you to do it but make sure you insist on it as it is a very strong medication and can affect your liver.
Good luck!
i am on oratane which is a cheaper cousin of roaccutane
i tink 1 box is ard 256. Depending on ur weight and height will result in the qty u must consume
I need 6 boxes
and it has been 2 yrs le i only into my 4th box
haha coz 1st is the financial issue, super ex lor, by rite 1 box is one mth, meaning 2 pills of 20Mg, i take like half a yr
2nd is the super duper cracking of lips... cannot tahan, even if put lipbalm, ur lips also beri pain, and its hard to eat anithing w/o food bits appearing on ur lips
den u also get a lot of broken skin on ur lips
if u wish to take either roacctuane or oratane, prepare like 1k 1st ba
+ liver test is nt cheap, abt 70 dollars each time, u need another 3 times
Last time i went to a renowed skin specialist, one box of roaccutane = 180, somemore 1 box oni 30 capsules, mine oratane one box is 60 capsules, both are 20mg
aniway den doc say
Doc: pierre^^, u noe u take an unusual long time to finish this medicine
pierre^^: Bo bian lei doc, no income, poor student
Doc: i tink after this 4th box, u better stop ba coz i see no pt for u to finish 6 box as the chances are reoccuring is high
pierre^^: really ar, den what to do?
Doc: Why dun u save up and come for laser instead, less side effect, one time is 350, once in 3 mth
pierre^^: hmmmmm, ok lor