ya i always believed so.. i making a online form.. den i decided to read up on its meaning in dictionary. den machiam nowhere it described mr. ms. etc but Dear Mr. Dear Ms.. these kinda words.Originally posted by VagueHart:
yes.Originally posted by Ito_^:so yes hor? confirm hor?
Originally posted by saline:http://www.peb.gov.sg/peb/html/about.html<---- examples
u forgot about Er. XXX
Er. is Engineer. only certified professional engineers can have that title.![]()
true....hardly see it too.Originally posted by Ito_^:sounds funny leh.
ppl is Mr. Chan.
this is Er. Chan.
errr.. chan!
i noe la.. pronounced engineer. bt ppl really, dunnoe, will recite err one.
aiya! i not asking how many types.. i asking wus the term to describe these words.Originally posted by MrDeeJay:wad about "ps" ?![]()
I believe they are called "titles". From my Collins Cobuild Advanced Learner's English Dictionary: a person's title is "a word such as 'Mr', 'Mrs', or 'Doctor', that is used before their own name in order to show their status or profession."Originally posted by Ito_^:what do you call these kinda words har?
saluations is it?
can someone enlighten me?
gum sia.![]()
peeee saiiiiiiiOriginally posted by MrDeeJay:wad about "ps" ?![]()
aiya! i also not listing them down one by one.Originally posted by Ito_^:aiya! i not asking how many types.. i asking wus the term to describe these words.dun need to list em one by one..
i think ill take ur word and use titles.Originally posted by dakkon_blackblade:I believe they are called "titles". From my Collins Cobuild Advanced Learner's English Dictionary: a person's title is "a word such as 'Mr', 'Mrs', or 'Doctor', that is used before their own name in order to show their status or profession."
Pang Sai-er. a certifed pang sai professional.Originally posted by MrDeeJay:aiya! i also not listing them down one by one.
i asking wus the term to describe "ps"![]()
right.Originally posted by Ito_^:Pang Sai-er. a certifed pang sai professional.
You're welcome.Originally posted by Ito_^:i think ill take ur word and use titles.thank you. shorter oso.
'Madam' sounds too aunty-ish?Originally posted by Honeybunz:I have a question...
Why these days, married women want to be called Ms. and not Madam??
I thought Madam is correct. But some actually request to be address Ms.
Example: Ms Ho Ching (Yes, liaised with her secretary before and was told to address her boss Ms Ho Ching and NOT Mdm Ho Ching and NOT Mrs Lee)
Ms Fanny Lai approx 50 years old, married, got 2 children but always put herself as Ms Fanny Lai, instead of Mdm Lai.
The title Madam seems to be obsolete liao, cuz every lady wants to be a Ms.
ya lor.. come to think of it, never heard of any Mdm title since i left secondary school.Originally posted by Honeybunz:I have a question...
Why these days, married women want to be called Ms. and not Madam??
I thought Madam is correct. But some actually request to be address Ms.
Example: Ms Ho Ching (Yes, liaised with her secretary before and was told to address her boss Ms Ho Ching and NOT Mdm Ho Ching and NOT Mrs Lee)
Ms Fanny Lai approx 50 years old, married, got 2 children but always put herself as Ms Fanny Lai, instead of Mdm Lai.
The title Madam seems to be obsolete liao, cuz every lady wants to be a Ms.
sigh... aunty is aunty. Use "Ms" also cannot make the face any younger what.Originally posted by dakkon_blackblade:'Madam' sounds too aunty-ish?