Originally posted by kawasaki2:So, after MRT suicides, we are seeing a new trend where people are getting charged for piggybacking on Wi-fi networks.
This country is so hip and happening.
The first case is just another showing of an idiot. Can't he just complain to his ISP to issue a warning letter? Need to go to an extent of suing this kid? And he's dumb enough not to secure it.Originally posted by Farmerseed:For the first case if the stolen bandwidth was causing lag my guess is most probably anyone will get mad at it.
As for the second case its clear that the offender has a certain degree of IT and networking intelligence. Its just that the Government and the Police have their finest people and hardware so unless you are working for the 'CIA' the chances of evading the consequences of a bomb hoax is less than 1 percent.
He may be intelligent but just do not have the common sense to assess a situation. People like him may be an amateur but given the guidance and opportunities he might be a professional working for the better Good instead of walking on the dark side.
Ignoring this free Wifi usage charge, he still has 51 other charges under him. All related to Computer Misuse. Plus, even if the Court decides not to add the 60 charges of Computer Misuse, he would still have to go to jail because of the bomb hoax.Originally posted by ShutterBug:I think it is rather harsh to implement a Jail Term for WiFi Theft.
How old is the guy? He is a young man right?
So, a jail term would give him a record to live with for his lifetime wouldn't it?
It is already tough enough to find a job without a Criminal Record. Jailing the young man will only seal his fate as a jobless man forever. Might as well have hung him.
Couldn't a few thousand dollars Fine suffice such a petty crime? But I see the implications over what he has done - "Bomb threat". It is stupid indeed, but afterall, isn't he a young boy?
The law covers just everything but not anything. Its written in the books but whether the person wants to pursue the matter at hand its really up to him. The fact is every little thing happening every day causing a person to be annoyed at another might be liable for a case if either party choose to send the other party to court. If the person has the money and time and wants to he can consult his lawyer and go about with the fliling. I mean yes you can complain but what if others steal the bandwidth again? About password securing i agree its the least thing you must do.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:The first case is just another showing of an idiot. Can't he just complain to his ISP to issue a warning letter? Need to go to an extent of suing this kid? And he's dumb enough not to secure it.
Second case, unsure. I doubt the offender has a certain degree of IT and networking knowledge. He tapped into unsecured networks and should be clever enough to cover his tracks, but he didn't.
You joined just to post this? Welcome to reality, zero-sum advocate.Originally posted by WilsonTang:All crime should be severely punished. Canning should have been implemented as part of the punishment as the fine and jail sentence alone would no scare most people today.![]()
Yes, the law has to change to impose more severe penalties...Perhaps Wi-Fi thieves should be suspended from internet subscriptions for 5 years. If they do not respect the laws governing IT, they should not have access to it.Originally posted by LazerLordz:The law has to change. The CMA was passed in an age where wireless internet was just a concept in the clouds.
Wow?? Arn't you the mod at some computer forum here? And here you are making such an uneducated and dumb statement. LOL.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Use 128-bit...
Otherwise, just provide a super duper long password...
Duh!Originally posted by Where Is God:Wow?? Arn't you the mod at some computer forum here? And here you are making such an uneducated and dumb statement. LOL.
Proves my point that most Singaporeans don't know shit about technology.
You see, even if you were to have the longest password in the world. it wouldn't make a difference because you password will still be hashed into a 104-bit key.
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Yes, the law has to change to impose more severe penalties...Perhaps Wi-Fi thieves should be suspended from internet subscriptions for 5 years. If they do not respect the laws governing IT, they should not have access to it.
The thing is he is not good enough.Originally posted by ShutterBug:It is already tough enough to find a job without a Criminal Record. Jailing the young man will only seal his fate as a jobless man forever. Might as well have hung him.
Wow, looks like you are too dumb to understand what i'm trying to teach you.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Duh!
There's 128-bit for WEP... though I'm pretty sure it doesn't exist for older routers.
You go and borrow some of the newer routers to try out...
I hacked down a 128-bit WEP encrypted connection before...
Some reading...
Any experience on Kismac?Originally posted by Where Is God:Wow, looks like you are too dumb to understand what i'm trying to teach you.
the thing is. you recommend him to get a very long password so as to get more protection.
This is wrong.
No matter how long your password is, your level of protection is the same. Why?
100 character password ===> 104-bit hash
8 character password ===> 104-bit hash
( in case you are even more dumb than i expected. the other 24-bit of the entire 128-bit key is not generated from the password)
There is no difference techincally.
As for you claiming to have hacked down a wep key. All i have to say is, that is pretty weak. Considering other script kiddies out there could do better. If i wanted, i could modprobe a kismet drone on my router and have it collect IVs 24/7 and then ssh the file to my computer for cracking.
That would probably give me my entire neighbours WEP in a day or two.
You're not impressing anyone.
eh i still dun understand leh..i using linksys router so is it wep or wad? oso the part they ask to choose the bit thingy is choose which one? den the passphrase can juz type anytink ar?paiseh ar alot of qnOriginally posted by Where Is God:Wow, looks like you are too dumb to understand what i'm trying to teach you.
the thing is. you recommend him to get a very long password so as to get more protection.
This is wrong.
( in case you are even more dumb than i expected. the other 24-bit of the entire 128-bit key is not generated from the password)
As for you claiming to have hacked down a wep key. All i have to say is, that is pretty weak. Considering other script kiddies out there could do better. If i wanted, i could modprobe a kismet drone on my router and have it collect IVs 24/7 and then ssh the file to my computer for cracking.
You are right about the protection level - it's the same no matter how long the password is. Technically, it's the same.Originally posted by Where Is God:Wow, looks like you are too dumb to understand what i'm trying to teach you.
This is wrong.
You don't have to understand the hacking stuffs here.Originally posted by lasboriquas:eh i still dun understand leh..i using linksys router so is it wep or wad? oso the part they ask to choose the bit thingy is choose which one? den the passphrase can juz type anytink ar?paiseh ar alot of qn![]()