Originally posted by trendz:
Why are you so defensive? What empathy? Nobody asked useless, incompetent, inconsiderate and selfish parents to have so many kids when they have no means at all and even supporting themselves would be a major problem.
And in the first place, I wasn't even condemning them. Obviously, you DO NOT know how to read. And why are you so sensitive?
The others replied with a neutral pov. But i guess it seems like it's true.
Labelling me shameless is pretty much uncalled for. Labelling an action which is unjustifiable and is simply too much IS shameless. Why?
Okay; let's not talk about the HDB cheapskate thing.
You see; imagine this scenario - Chinese A/ Indian A invited ONLY colleague Malay B to a posh restaurant located in a hotel. She brought along her family of 6; whacked the food and dropped only a $10 angpao. (In this case, the husband and kids are 'self-invites.')
Do you even think it's appropriate? Do you feel that it's too much? Doesn't she have any shame? Or... is it that 'value-for-money' mentality? As in.. I pay little; I want AND will get alot. Or.. 'aiya.. wedding only wat; we wedding @ hdb also give the same, aiya.. never mind lah.'![]()
true. but leaving money aside.Originally posted by udontknowme:seriously, you dont invite pple to wedding dinners for the cash.
not everyone can afford all that $$$$.
dont you invite pple for weddings cos you wanna share the joy and happiness and whatever??
honestly, the money isnt the MAIN issue...
why make such a big deal about this??
(unless the person is really damn rich an NOBODY gives $10 in ANY type of weddings)
Originally posted by Master -_-:it's obvious either you have problems reading and understanding cause your post is way off the mark. i didn't say about the 'money-face' reaction, genius. lol.
if u think only about the ang bao instead of marital bliss..then get married for fuck.. U invite people to share your joy of getting married...spread the love around... dun wan to splurge on money.. go ROM only la![]()
and fyi, when my dad got married recently, all "ang baos" are placed in the box and are donated to a charity of his choice. [b]Read: ALL Not all joy and happiness of weddings are derived from the pleasure on the faces when u open "ang baos" k?[/b]
i got say you?Originally posted by trendz:it's obvious either you have problems reading and understanding cause your post is way off the mark. i didn't say about the 'money-face' reaction, genius. lol.![]()
bar any spelling errors; i applaud you.Originally posted by Master -_-:i got say you?![]()
lets put it this way...Originally posted by trendz:Is it true that when Malay people attend people's weddings or birthdays; their angbao is always about a pathetic sum of $10. Yet they shamelessly bring their whole family of 4-6 to pig out on the available food?
If it's true; don't they know any shame? Don't they feel it's disgraceful? It's ridiculous and simply shows their lack of generosity, ethicity and principles somehow?
Whereas people of other races would give at least $100. And very 'paiseh' to eat the food.
Don't flame me yet; for I did not mention that it's true and justified.
ya lor.Originally posted by Xcert:lets put it this way...
if U want to throw a wedding dinner and need to use the angpow money to pay for it/recover losses....pls dont throw that dinner and save others and urself from trouble.
Originally posted by Ito_^:ya lor.
still got the face to demand as though its his right some more. sibei shameless.![]()
yea... i noe some malay families do that.. they wun give less than 20 bucks.. and they jolly well bring their whole family for a feast.. maybe that their culture. they tik that the more pple, the merrier..but for chinese, we are more concern bout face, so our hongbao will normally be "big"Originally posted by trendz:Is it true that when Malay people attend people's weddings or birthdays; their angbao is always about a pathetic sum of $10. Yet they shamelessly bring their whole family of 4-6 to pig out on the available food?
If it's true; don't they know any shame? Don't they feel it's disgraceful? It's ridiculous and simply shows their lack of generosity, ethicity and principles somehow?
Whereas people of other races would give at least $100. And very 'paiseh' to eat the food.
Don't flame me yet; for I did not mention that it's true and justified.
malay ppl get invited to weddings almost every week, their invitess r notj ust immediate family members..can be this so and so son, daughter who they never see b4...u think if u r invited to lots of wedding u can afford to give 80, 100 ah?Originally posted by crofty:That is a bit stingy$10?
I wonder if you even have the brains to understand what i'm trying to say. It's not a right or prerogative, not about demanding or expecting, and must i still need to define the meaning of ethicity and principles for you?Originally posted by Ito_^:ya lor.
still got the face to demand as though its his right some more. sibei shameless.![]()
make me, piss head.Originally posted by trendz:I wonder if you even have the brains the undertstand what i'm trying to say. It's not a right or prerogative, and do i still need to define the meaning of ethicity and principles for you?
do you know what's the meaning of rude? or being taken advantage of?
or cheapskates? or greedy and stingy? or ridiculous? or inappropriate? or lowdown? or disgraceful?
don't utter senseless replies; it's like i'm talking about A and you answered about B.![]()