No. Im saying there are people like that. And lots of them.Originally posted by sggirl07:Yes i do see these people. i grew up with them. they are the lower income group. i do not pretend i do not see their existence. They are there. i have seen one family drawing only $800 and the wife refused to work and they are going to have th 3rd child too. And i had a neighbour who is in his 70s, his only nephew whom he took care of just got married and refused to stay with him, and he has to work as kopitiam asst, earning a meagre few hundreds a month, still have to pay rent.
But the majority of the people are not so poor. Or are you saying majority of the families belong to your said categories?
What i am saying is, in singapore, if you are willing to study/work hard, you wont live in poverty. Yes, life is getting harder. Higher and higher cost of living, GST increase, dunno wat kind of budget coming up, but, lower end of a few thousand dollars a month is not impossible for the vast majority of singaporean in due time.Originally posted by mhcampboy:You do realise you are only speaking for yourself in general.
Have you really seen families earning 800 per month before? Have you seen families with 2 old folks and 2 kids without any education trying very best to get a decent job...?
I have... and getting 2.5 k is definitely hard for them.....
How many families in singapore can afford to have a sole breadwinner? I look around my office. or my previous companies. so many working wives and mothers. if one day i got married, i would think i might have to work too. if i dun want to work, then i cant complain that my household income is slashed by half. Because that will be my choice.Originally posted by mhcampboy:No. Im saying there are people like that. And lots of them.
You said, earning 6k is easy. Just takes about 2.5k for each family member. What if there is only one breadwinner? The husband has to work. The wife have to stay home and take care of maybe few kids and an old folk for example...
2.5 k is definitely easy for a grad. But not all are grads. Some poly dip grads are even paid lower than 2k.
And example, if 2 children, each earning 2.5k decided to get married and move out, the household would be left only with their own salaries.
I just wonder how they actually did the survey.
Maybe. Like u said.. the future generations would change all that...Originally posted by sggirl07:How many families in singapore can afford to have a sole breadwinner? I look around my office. or my previous companies. so many working wives and mothers. if one day i got married, i would think i might have to work too. if i dun want to work, then i cant complain that my household income is slashed by half. Because that will be my choice.
Garment keep increasing the cost of living, that is the way for survial. People have less kids. Honestly, i will be worried if i want to have kids. It is already so tough now, i cant imagine the future for my kids (if i were to have them one day), how pressurizing it might be.Originally posted by mhcampboy:Maybe. Like u said.. the future generations would change all that...
but be prepared to face the consequences.. most career wives do not want to have any kids... or so from wad i see myself...
so.. all this will affect the government in the future..
Good for you. But what happens when all get married and have kids?Originally posted by maxlee:4 engineers in my house. All mid 20's with average more than 3k per person. Thus household income 12k.
Then if each of them marries another engineer who earns $3k too, the total household income will be $6k eachOriginally posted by bigmouthjoe:Good for you. But what happens when all get married and have kids?
The household income becomes 3k?
Welcome to Singapore! Even old nannies and old papas are encouraged to work, not to mention your young wife.Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:Isn't it sad that you need everyone to work to achieve the so-called average household income?
Does that mean that my wife would need to continue working and not have kids?
Does that mean that we shouldn't get married and stay together with our parents forever, and our parents should continue working?
What kind of BS picture the government is trying to show?
Should include CPF. bonus i am not so sure.Originally posted by apples:The figure is very vague leh. Does it include bonus and does it include CPF? I think these 2 can make quite a big difference.
lol. but no matter what, my family is still counted as a family in singapore right? doesnt mean just because me and my sis studying, so we are excluded from the above study results right?Originally posted by sggirl07:That is because she is the sole breadwinner. wait till you all start working, things will be better.
When i was young, that happens to me. now that i grow up, my siblings grow up, financially it is so much better now.
You don't get the picture do you?Originally posted by sggirl07:Welcome to Singapore! Even old nannies and old papas are encouraged to work, not to mention your young wife.
that gal is very stupid one..ask her to talk to ur hand..see when she fell sick next time, whether she can still work or not....Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:You don't get the picture do you?
What happens if my young wife has kids? What happens if we heed the government's call to reproduce unlike some young couples now who just marry and probably get divorced the following year...
So are you telling me that this is the perfect system? That everyone even old nannies and old papas are encouraged to work, doesn't this tell you that something is seriously wrong with the entire system? Do you actually encourage such systems?
Has Singapore, a first world country degenerated to such a situation whereby it's citizens are encouraged to work to survive in their golden years?
you dun read the sarcasm in my post?Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:You don't get the picture do you?
What happens if my young wife has kids? What happens if we heed the government's call to reproduce unlike some young couples now who just marry and probably get divorced the following year...
So are you telling me that this is the perfect system? That everyone even old nannies and old papas are encouraged to work, doesn't this tell you that something is seriously wrong with the entire system? Do you actually encourage such systems?
Has Singapore, a first world country degenerated to such a situation whereby it's citizens are encouraged to work to survive in their golden years?
Of course i do not expect an idiot to sense sarcasmOriginally posted by valentinoo:that gal is very stupid one..ask her to talk to ur hand..see when she fell sick next time, whether she can still work or not....
i still feel its the best if a mum can stay at home to look after kids when they growing up..but in spore im sure its hard for family to do that anymore!