don't you just love the internet ....Originally posted by turbo_drift:So bo liao until u can find this wan.. SARLUTE YOU AR FATUM..
Originally posted by Fatum:don't you just love the internet ....
Okay ... I lied ... I knew about that when I was doing a paper on English in Singapore some time back .... just thought to dig it out cos of that speaking English thread ...
Wait wait wait....Originally posted by MyPillowTalks:i wan the coxford singlish dictionary!!!!!!!!!
and singlish oso got nouns one....![]()
COXfordOriginally posted by turbo_drift:Wait wait wait....
Oxford got Singlish book wan meh??![]()
coooooooollOriginally posted by Fatum:Okay, I know I've mentioned before that Wiki is not a reliable source of information, but I think we can let it slide in this case ....
look at what I found on wiki ...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Singlish
So .... Singlish is officially another language ! ...
this is the most ridiculous thing, since when did singlish accept as a languageOriginally posted by popikachu:my friend got singlish dictionary...
i still remember i turn to the page for "b"
there write bui tahan... still got explaination de wor!
"bui tahan mean cannot endure anymore"
"bui tahan is from a mixture of malay and (forget liao)..."
very funny the book...
FFS, ITS DIALECTOriginally posted by hellomotosxq:wow . if like that , china will have 10000 languages![]()
I am not sure about this but could it be possible that Singlish could have started earlier than we thought and took shape before/ after the second World War.Also I dont hear alot of Tamil words anymore but more chinese and some malays words that were pronounce differently.For example we used to say sial but younger people would say sia? I dont know ...you tell me.Originally posted by Fatum:Okay, I know I've mentioned before that Wiki is not a reliable source of information, but I think we can let it slide in this case ....
like that oso canOriginally posted by Fatum:Okay, I know I've mentioned before that Wiki is not a reliable source of information, but I think we can let it slide in this case ....