So it is Wharton School of that is good and not SMU really that good... if SMU started without Wharton...do you think she will be at where she is today?Originally posted by M©+square:Depends on how you see it?
Every year, many SMU studentgrads got into internship with Barclays, Goldman Sacs, Merrill Lynch and other companies of such calibre?
And of cos, SMU have the support of Wharton School of the University and they're lecturers are still in Touch with the corporate world.![]()
so what's ur point?Originally posted by Taiwanpolitics:my frenz trade gold earns abt 8 k a month but everyday must research like siao .
he was a night owl , at nite still infront of computer .
he morning sleep wait until new york market open then wake up .
wah kao !!!
he gt sleeping disorders seh !!!
that time the china stock market crash , ppl sell gold to lock their profit , gold drop a lot seh .
cos many traders invest in stocks related stuff and gold at the same time .
She will be what she is, but not today. It might take another decade if Wharton weren't involved.Originally posted by musicbox:So it is Wharton School of that is good and not SMU really that good... if SMU started without Wharton...do you think she will be at where she is today?![]()
You may have the ability to earn that sum of money. But will not have the life to spend it.Originally posted by ermintham:so what's ur point?
Originally posted by soulwinner:I ite grad already making a 5digit figure... I not trying to talk bad about uni grad.. It all about how far are you going to make your life more worth... i aslo know of NUs guy who make $1,800 per months... I felt that this garduate are just clear on what they want to do...![]()
Either you two are friends, or the same person.Originally posted by Rotary:i am an ITE student and now i am making 5 digit of money also,what`s the big deal studying so high and spend so much money and ur pay is same as my pay ? this means that not study high u will earn alot,its the brain u got and how u use it.
But then SMU is a business school. So the article is for boosting the image of their varsity mah.Originally posted by gerrykoh:Doesn't matter whether SMU or NUS or NTU lah!
Everyone knows that law, medicine, accountancy & finance pays well.
One of my friend has a son who is a oil trader. On his wedding day he has free flow of red wine & his wedding table is $1200 at Shangri-La.
They should also interview students studying lower rank courses like Social Sciences, Arts, Est. Mgt etc. then you get the true picture.
hmmm yea...makes senseOriginally posted by M©+square:You may have the ability to earn that sum of money. But will not have the life to spend it.
You Qian ye mei ming hua.![]()
Originally posted by M©+square:Either you two are friends, or the same person.![]()
Yeah! I totally agree with you! I think they never think what should be reported to a country. I think this news should be put under those BA QUA evening news paper..Originally posted by M©+square:But then SMU is a business school. So the article is for boosting the image of their varsity mah.
Actually i find the reporter bias.
All local reporters have the same habit.
TODAY newspaper is free leh. So cannot complain.Originally posted by musicbox:Yeah! I totally agree with you! I think they never think what should be reported to a country. I think this news should be put under those BA QUA evening news paper..![]()
Hello!Originally posted by Rotary:i am an ITE student and now i am making 5 digit of money also,what`s the big deal studying so high and spend so much money and ur pay is same as my pay ? this means that not study high u will earn alot,its the brain u got and how u use it.
he poly nia ....Originally posted by ermintham:so what's ur point?
smu has an admission rate of 12%Originally posted by gnoik:I doubt the survey. IF every1 get so high salary, spore students all chiong SMU lor...![]()
What kind of comparison is that?Originally posted by OO_OO_OO:smu has an admission rate of 12%
harvard has an admission rate of 11%
you do the math![]()
Interesting conclusion.Originally posted by jeremymjr:What kind of comparison is that?
Are you trying to say that it is so difficult to get into SMU and therefore the average student calibre is equals to that of Harvard?
Harvard is a research university; Yale is a research university. They have law schools, business schools, engineering schools, school of arts and sciences. They are complete, full universities. SMU is a specialised university. There is no comparison - quality wise or otherwise.Originally posted by M©+square:Interesting conclusion.I think SMU is trying to adopt the model of Harvard and the likes of Top Varsities?
Sounds like it...Originally posted by M©+square:Interesting conclusion.I think SMU is trying to adopt the model of Harvard and the likes of Top Varsities?
Hahahah. The moment I read this, I was wondering how much SMU paid her to write this article. LOLOriginally posted by M©+square:Arggghhhhh SMU grads!!!!
Starting salaries rise, with one graduate getting $12K
Gracia Chiang
[email protected]
YOU are fresh out of university, holding down your first job — and what does the figure on your pay-cheque say?
For one graduate from the Singapore Management University (SMU) last year, it said $12,000 a month.
This was revealed by the third Graduate Employment Survey conducted by SMU which found that the average gross monthly starting salary for SMU graduates in full-time permanent employment was 13 per cent higher than the previous year at $2,850, compared to $2,520.
The top 20 per cent wage earners took home an average of $4,630, a 21 per cent increase from $3,840 in 2005.
Of the 353 graduates who responded to the survey, the top earners were employed in investment banking. Eight found jobs that paid between $8,000 and $12,000 a month.
Last year's highest paid graduate is getting $12,000 a month, compared to his counterpart the previous year who started off with $10,000.
Apart from pocketing fatter salaries, SMU graduates also had few problems finding a job.
The survey showed that for the third year running, 100 per cent of its economically active graduates found jobs either before their graduation or within just six months of it.
Eighty per cent received job offers before they graduated or within the first month of graduation while 71 per cent received two to more than 10 job offers.
Ms Geraldine Wu, 24, and Mr Gerald Poh, 26, are two such graduates.
Ms Wu, a double degree holder in economics and business management, was offered an analyst position with global investment bank Lehman Brothers two months before graduation, while accountancy graduate Mr Poh had an oil trader job waiting for him at Barclays Capital — another foreign investment bank — four months before he graduated.
Both declined to reveal how much they are earning.
SMU president, Professor Howard Hunter, said: "We believe that SMU's approach of giving our students early exposure to the market … gives our graduates a head-start at the workplace."
He cited a combination of internships, research and consultancy projects for companies and a systematic career preparation programme by counsellors as key factors that helped SMU's students shine in the job market.
SMU's pioneer batches of economics and information system management graduates were also quite sought after, garnering an average starting pay of $3,130 and $2,980 respectively. Among local universities, SMU is the first to release employment figures for its 2006 graduates.
http://www.todayonline.com/articles/176928.asp