it's been around for quite some time already. it's just a reinforced room, made more structurally stronger so as to withstand sharpnel. and it certainly will not stand if the block falls.Originally posted by 4getmenot:bomb shelter in the air? now this is something new..lol
but seriously, if they were to wage war with sg, why would they care about the geneva convention anyway?Originally posted by wonderamazement:I doubt those structures would withstand a direct hit from a shell or a bunker buster... Why the hell would the enemy bomb civvie targets anyway? Wouldn't it be a violation of the geneva convention?
x2..Originally posted by DrTech:It's designed to not let you die from a direct bomb hit... but rather suffer the pains of debris crushing on you for hours while you dehydrate and slowly wither off through hunger and thirst.
...Rather suffer or not suffer?Originally posted by DrTech:It's designed to not let you die from a direct bomb hit... but rather suffer the pains of debris crushing on you for hours while you dehydrate and slowly wither off through hunger and thirst.
If implosion leh? Direct hit from above with a bunker buster...Originally posted by fatslob:They are not supposed to be hit directly... go take a look at the location of the shelter, they are all at least 2+ meters away from any external wall.
then die lorOriginally posted by wonderamazement:If implosion leh? Direct hit from above with a bunker buster...
so even if the building middle got hole oso can remain standing???COOLOriginally posted by Vigelic:Subject: HDB BOMB SHELTERS?
HOUSING & DEVELOPMENT BOARD
Your Ref :
Our Ref :
Date : 28 Mar 2007
TEL : 64903200
FAX : 64903208
EMAIL : [email protected]
Singapore
Dear ,
HDB BOMB SHELTERS?
We refer to your query on HDB bomb shelter on 26 Mar 07.
2. For all the ongoing new HDB projects,each dwelling unit is designed with a Household Shelter to provide protection to residents in time of emergency.
3. As regard to your other queries,we wish to highlight that the protection provided by household shelter comes from a combination of the strengthened walls, ceilings and floors, the setback distances of the shelter from the building's exterior, and the firm foundation to provide added stability and resilience against collapse. Singapore's apartment blocks are robust structures that will not easily collapse even after being hit by a bomb although localised damage to the block may be expected. While certain areas of the building may be perforated, the building as a whole will remain standing.
4. Hope we have addressed your concerns.Regards.
Yours sincerely,
(Signed using Lotus Notes)
TAN HONG TUAN
PRINCIPAL ENGINEER
BUILDING QUALITY DEPARTMENT
By the time they collect pistols, most would have died anyway.Originally posted by TXian:Heard from my cousie today:
new HDBs now got a small hole/ window at the kitchen. And men of every household would have learnt to use guns in NS. So when S'pore is under attack, they can collect pistols from the gahmen and shoot at enemies from there...
true or not...
after weird bomb shelters in one straight row, now this????
So is sg preparing for war? Might as well as them to build all the HDB building underground. Like this more safer isn't it?Originally posted by TXian:Heard from my cousie today:
new HDBs now got a small hole/ window at the kitchen. And men of every household would have learnt to use guns in NS. So when S'pore is under attack, they can collect pistols from the gahmen and shoot at enemies from there...
true or not...
after weird bomb shelters in one straight row, now this????