Fa = force exerted from side of pendulum
Fb = tension in string
G = gravitational force
@ = angle between vertical datum and string
Fb cos @ = G
Fb sin @ = Fa
Fa = G sin @ / cos @ = G tan @
Plot Fa = G tan @ for @ = 0° to 90°
2nd one thanks for the effort in drawing....Originally posted by blahshit:like that?
or
if it's the 1st 1, i think i have given u the answer.. but if 2nd 1, i not very sure.. think 2nd 1 need to jus potential and kinectic energy thingy...![]()
u r welcome.. pai seh and sorry hor.. cannot help u out after so long.. haha..Originally posted by banzie:2nd one thanks for the effort in drawing....
Thanks for all the standard 10 year series a level answers but anything for a simple guy like me?
when u pull from side, the string will pull on the weight cuz the string cant extend. u calculate the force on the string by using trigonometryOriginally posted by banzie:Let say a weight is 1000kg Then it is hang by a string what is the force required to pull the weight from a pendulum
Basically means it is tied to a string how much force you need to pull it from the side. I know to pull it up is 1000kg by what about 90 degree to the side leh?
Issit 500kg? or what?
Wat talking u???Do u mean the string is attached to the 1000kg mass??Originally posted by banzie:Let say a weight is 1000kg Then it is hang by a string what is the force required to pull the weight from a pendulum
Basically means it is tied to a string how much force you need to pull it from the side. I know to pull it up is 1000kg by what about 90 degree to the side leh?
Issit 500kg? or what?
Correct( if u refer Fa as horizontal component of string).....notice as @=90 degrees.....Fa(which is =Fbsin@) tends to infinity and Fbcos@=0Originally posted by le cruz:If
Fb = tension in string
G = gravitational force
Fb cos @ = G
Fb sin @ = Fa
??? From other sources of force possible....Originally posted by hisoka:depends on how you do it lor. technically if you keep applying liek 1 nN force at the right time, you can get the pendulum up to 90 degrees
x2Originally posted by jay_rocks:TS, ur qn like not full leh.
Cruz got the right idea, you must seperate the vectors of forces present in experiment.Originally posted by le cruz:If
Fb = tension in string
G = gravitational force
Fb cos @ = G
Fb sin @ = Fa
Yes i remember this question in my A level exam. Year 2001?Originally posted by eagle:Excellent answer. This is the correct answer.
This question is a standard and simple question from A levels, making use of the knowledge of trigo and resolution of horizontal and vertical forces.
pendulum. the idea is to get the weight to the 90 degrees lvl but no requirement to keep it there.Originally posted by Hamiltonian1125:??? From other sources of force possible....
From the string is not possible unless U have magic power...![]()
I get u...u mean to get it just to 90 deg motion by external force...i.e to flip the pendulum with correct force so that it momentarily reached 90 deg?? Yesh that is possible.....Originally posted by hisoka:pendulum. the idea is to get the weight to the 90 degrees lvl but no requirement to keep it there.
so you could jsut apply a huge force and get it up to that level or you could push abit and push abit more every time the pendulum comes to rest in the right direction
Originally posted by :Physics arh? Go ask the resident SgF Physics consultants in Papercut & Fudgester lor...... Theu super steady wan ok?![]()
If u mean the horizontal force to pull the person and stay in eqm ,then the ans is F=-Tsin@, where F is the ext force acting opposite to that of tension(T) horizontal component and @ is the angle made to the vertical.Originally posted by banzie:Thanks for so much arguement and etc etc...
I still don't get it.....
I just want to know how much force need to pull the person to the side of the swing only!?... also so hard...![]()