I know the second S'pore Idol is Hady... The second Project Superstar, I remember his face but not his name.Originally posted by Frogleg888:We know Chen wei lian is first Project Superstar,then do u know who is the Second one?We know Taufik is First Singapore Idol,then do u know the second Singapore Idol?Does Media corp telecast Champion league Q-final live whereas 3 Malaysia stations have it?If Singapore is going to open up TV industry,Media corp liao liao.Too bad they are own by Tamasik,thus they survive.![]()
Originally posted by Frogleg888:There is a second one?
We know Chen wei lian is first Project Superstar,then [b]do u know who is the Second one?We know Taufik is First Singapore Idol,then do u know the second Singapore Idol?Does Media corp telecast Champion league Q-final live whereas 3 Malaysia stations have it?If Singapore is going to open up TV industry,Media corp liao liao.Too bad they are own by Tamasik,thus they survive.
Actually, no offense, but I really hope people like you are the minority here. Its becoz of people like you, who are easily satisfied and learn to live without ever complaining, that the "companies" become so strong and dare to price us outrageously. U mentioned that there are poor people who can't afford cable tv. Did you know that there are poorer people in India who CAN and do afford cable tv including premium channels like Star Movies, HBO, Cinemax etc?? Yes all legally.Originally posted by january:as usual, you internet people just like to complain in the internet with preconceived ideas......
stop complaining and start changing your perceptions.
as long as your expectations are not too high and you are appreciative, many things are watchable and fine really..
so just wake up your idea.... it is not as if you pay alot of money to mediacorp and they have to produce lots of tv.
channel U is importing quite many foreign programmes already.....
i am saying all these even though i watch mainly SCV channels..
so really guys wake up your attitude....
if you all allow you brain to have preconviced ideas, opinions and behavior, then it will affect other areas of your life as well. in psychology, what you all are behaving attributing the blame to mediacorp... have you all thought of the possibility is that you are the blame and that you are not appreciative at all.
have you all also considered that that are poor people in singapore who has no money buy cable.
do you think we can really afford competition and will it not really have bad effect for singapore. perhaps its better to have on mediacorp and do importing from taiwan and other countries programme....
i really hope that complainers in the forum are minority of people who have these kind of attitudes.
then either youOriginally posted by 798:in singapore we pay SCV to watch soccer?!? whereas in developing country like vietnam, they watch soccer live for FREE?!? what give?
if you think monopoly is unhealthy for customer in starhub.. then dun buy starhub services and do other things.....Originally posted by coolgeek84:And Starhub has ingeniously made us pay for the world cup. Both for soccer and cricket. Did you know how much we paid for "Pay per view" Cricket World Cup? Almost $110! How much profit do u think Starhub made with Soccer World Cup? I don't know too, but I can asure you that it is in millions.
All thanks to their monopoly over the cable tv market. Just let it become more competitive and you will see prices halved in no time at all.
Still expect us not to complain?![]()
I like healthy arguements =)Originally posted by january:if you think monopoly is unhealthy for customer in starhub.. then dun buy starhub services and do other things.....
complaining is not going to make another company compete with starhub....
other companies will come and compete with starhub if they think its a viable market and if they think its is profitable enuff...
until then, complaining is not very useful....
appreciating mediacorp less quality show is better..
i think customers is getting more picky and less aprreciative of things. no wonder you people can say life is stressful or boring....
singapore provides free library borrowing for its people... i dun think vietnam library system is as good as singapore.....
Yo - -- they wanna earn more $$$$! Good revenue from phone voting. Besides what you said - they keep showing the same old movie 4, 5 or 6 times. Earn so much $$$$ but can't be bothered to improve on the quality. Moreover, nowadays they don't show good and nice programs on public holidays anymore and on public holidays they have in fact cut down the number of programmes. Lousy - that's y I prefer to watch cable.Originally posted by GoOdOnE:what the hell is wrong with our local television network ar? why they keep showing those singapore idol, project superstar kind of show? it almost like they got nothing better to put up on TV so might as will do a part II to any one of those idol search show.
America started the American Idol
Singapore go start Singapore Idol (channel 5), Project Superstar den the Campus version follow by the Band version (channel u), another similar show on Suria also dunnoe what's the name of the show, channel 8 tt time the idol search show
America started So You Think You Can Dance
Singapore go start The Dance Floor
its like what the hell, every now and then one of these competition thing pop up on tv. do it once ok twice nvm BUT they keep showing these type of competition thing. they rename the show and create other version of it. it's like copying the whole damn show and change abit here and there. i seriously think that mediacorp should come up with sumthing more original just like the time when they came up with the liang po po n PCK
Well as to that, I think you need to take in consideration the population of the particular country. India for example, has a huge population that is many the times of Singapore. I am not sure how the cost of leasing those cable station works but for example. If India cable provide lease a particular chan for say $50k and it has 1 million subscriber. And likewise, SCV has to pay $50k for the chan and it only has 100 000 subscribers. So of course the Indica cable provider can afford to charge their subscribers cheaper.Originally posted by coolgeek84:Actually, no offense, but I really hope people like you are the minority here. Its becoz of people like you, who are easily satisfied and learn to live without ever complaining, that the "companies" become so strong and dare to price us outrageously. U mentioned that there are poor people who can't afford cable tv. Did you know that there are poorer people in India who CAN and do afford cable tv including premium channels like Star Movies, HBO, Cinemax etc?? Yes all legally.
What we pay for tv here is ridiculous. On top of that we never get a "live" feed exactly. There is always a 2 to 4 second delay between the actual live feed other countries receive and what we receive in Singapore.
And Starhub has ingeniously made us pay for the world cup. Both for soccer and cricket. Did you know how much we paid for "Pay per view" Cricket World Cup? Almost $110! How much profit do u think Starhub made with Soccer World Cup? I don't know too, but I can asure you that it is in millions.
All thanks to their monopoly over the cable tv market. Just let it become more competitive and you will see prices halved in no time at all.
Still expect us not to complain?![]()
i am not complaining or saying mediacorp sux or anything it's just that i personnalli feel that they should come up with TV programs that more original more local rather then keep showing a 'Singapore' version of a TV program based on those shown in other countries.Originally posted by january:as usual, you internet people just like to complain in the internet with preconceived ideas......
stop complaining and start changing your perceptions.
as long as your expectations are not too high and you are appreciative, many things are watchable and fine really..
so just wake up your idea.... it is not as if you pay alot of money to mediacorp and they have to produce lots of tv.
channel U is importing quite many foreign programmes already.....
i am saying all these even though i watch mainly SCV channels..
so really guys wake up your attitude....
if you all allow you brain to have preconviced ideas, opinions and behavior, then it will affect other areas of your life as well. in psychology, what you all are behaving attributing the blame to mediacorp... have you all thought of the possibility is that you are the blame and that you are not appreciative at all.
have you all also considered that that are poor people in singapore who has no money buy cable.
do you think we can really afford competition and will it not really have bad effect for singapore. perhaps its better to have on mediacorp and do importing from taiwan and other countries programme....
i really hope that complainers in the forum are minority of people who have these kind of attitudes.