if u really one the best tea and is confirmed ORIGINAL , forget about beijingOriginally posted by Xiaozzhen:I plan to get tea, for myself and as gifts for people back home.
Now I have to be wary of buying a different tea from the one I sample, getting less than what I am paying for, and now buying fake tea.
Where can I get someone reliable in a land so unfamiliar to me>
Oh Dear!!
Will I have that problem if I go to bigger shops, famous shops, shops listed in guides, or those in hotels? Thanks
Tie Guan Ying is one of my favorite teas. The tea drinking provinces are down south, in Fujian area. Northern china seldom drink tea, or should i say, less tea drinkers. Maybe they do, but not the Kung Fu tea, (Gong fu cha) like Tie Guan Ying.Originally posted by Unidentified:if u really one the best tea and is confirmed ORIGINAL , forget about beijing
see china which part where got tea plantation , go buy from there
1. cheap , coz not 2nd hand dealer
2. u can see urself , it REAL tea leaf
the tea leaf my family use are gift from Fujian , known as Tie Guan Ying
Heard that HeiLongJiang got good tea , dunno this source reliable anot
Yar. Discovery channel got say, if you want to drink tea right, better find a shi fu(Master) first.Originally posted by Unidentified:see la , make me oso wan to drink liao
u got knowledge on tea ? if not get someone reliable with tea knowledge
coz 90% of time, tea leaf are fake , or either it is just plain grass stir-fried
THANK YOU, THANK YOU!!!!Originally posted by Unidentified:if u really one the best tea and is confirmed ORIGINAL , forget about beijing
see china which part where got tea plantation , go buy from there
1. cheap , coz not 2nd hand dealer
2. u can see urself , it REAL tea leaf
the tea leaf my family use are gift from Fujian , known as Tie Guan Ying
Heard that HeiLongJiang got good tea , dunno this source reliable anot
Sounds Great. I know we will have a good time in Beijing.Originally posted by footprints:Tie Guan Ying is one of my favorite teas. The tea drinking provinces are down south, in Fujian area. Northern china seldom drink tea, or should i say, less tea drinkers. Maybe they do, but not the Kung Fu tea, (Gong fu cha) like Tie Guan Ying.
The best teas can cost quite a lot, the top range ones could be around 5000rmb for 1 jin. Thats 1k sing for around 500grams.
Beijing is a nice place to visit. I've been there twice and enjoyed it thoroughly.
Places of interest are the Forbidden city, great wall, and wang fu jing.
Food: You can't miss the famous Beijing duck. Gotta try it!
Always on the lookout when you're out touring around, you'll look like a tourist right away and the minute you speak, they will know you're from overseas. The tour guides and taxi drivers, they are all out to make quick money, so they may introduce you to different places etc and sometimes its just made up stories, so beware.
(Even chinese from other provinces also get cheated!l)
I recommend visiting their night clubs. Prepare to spend a minimum of 1500rmb. They all have minimum spending for the rooms.
The top KTVs in Beijing will put all singaporean KTVs to shame.
No need thx la , just buy me few packet of top quality tea can liaoOriginally posted by Xiaozzhen:THANK YOU, THANK YOU!!!!![]()
Printed picture got poison or not???!!!!Originally posted by Unidentified:There something a little worth buying , but u see where got sell cheap la
The cup got printed picture , i think usually is black
when pour hot water into the cup , it will cause the black picture to fade away to reveal a coloured picture , when the water cool , it start to turn black again
no la , it printed outside the cup , and u hold your hot drink inside the cupOriginally posted by Xiaozzhen:Printed picture got poison or not???!!!!
lol , dunno , walk past got see nia , nvr bother to look.Originally posted by Xiaozzhen:Printed picture got poison or not???!!!!
Hi there..Originally posted by Unidentified:TS , are you going there youself or with a tour
if with tour , do u mind listing out the schedule of ur trip ?
Don't b so "kan jiong". You have been to Beijing already!Originally posted by Unidentified:[quote]Originally posted by Unidentified:
[b]
oops , sorry double post
I was told :Originally posted by kenn3th:give u another hint. try to buy as many cds and vcds as u like, cause got some of them are new releases that are not even out in singapore stalls yet, and it's price is around $5 singapore dollars.
Surprisingly, there is no such thing as piracy there, and when i was in GuangZhuo Captial, the shopping centres there (approx the size of Taka) has shops "legally" selling VCDs and CDs, which look exactly the same as "ORIGINALS".
Oh yea, pls dont put these cds into your hand luggage, but it with ur clothes
Then washing won't help.Originally posted by Unidentified:Any fruit stall u see there buy le better WASH BEFORE EATING
They wont tell but i got to tell you that it SUPER DUPER UNHYGINIC
Especially when they are grown in village , those people no practice hygince wan , dun care drop on dirty water still can pick up sell , it not suprising that they dont wash hand after ''big business'' and continue to harvest fruit
Yes, I hear from many people that even money changers there will cheat, so better to bring more rmb than not.Originally posted by wizwizard:Try not to use the ATMs there. My friend recently tried to withdraw some cash from an ATM. The card came out. The reciept came out.
The money never come out.![]()
U know, there is a saying..Originally posted by Xiaozzhen:I wonder why China has gotten itself such a bad reputation?
Illegal stuff, Copyrights infringement, diseases, unhygenic food, substandard in production of food, equipment, etc, Cheating and Fleecing tourists.....![]()
But.... it is just not these forumners... we read stuff from The Straits Times too. I'll ignore, say.... The New York Times...Originally posted by pinkish purple papayas:People feel threatened, therefore would go around spreading the bad name of china..
personally i been to china before..one of the most beautiful places in the world i dare say.
but then again, most of these forumners cant even be streetwise enough to save their own ass.