the common misconception about evolution is that it is so unlikely to be able to form such complex structure. This is a very common argument that manages to trick or mislead people to believe that evolution is impossibleOriginally posted by slowmover:some scientist on the view that life is formed by chance
W. H. Thorpe, an evolutionist scientist, acknowledges that "The most elementary type of cell constitutes a 'mechanism' unimaginably more complex than any machine yet thought up, let alone constructed, by man.
(W. R. Bird, The Origin of Species Revisited)
The English mathematician and astronomer Sir Fred Hoyle made a similar comparison in an interview published in Nature magazine on November 12, 1981. Although an evolutionist himself, Hoyle stated that the chance that higher life forms might have emerged in this way is comparable to the chance that a tornado sweeping through a junk-yard might assemble a Boeing 747 from the materials therein.
("Hoyle on Evolution," Nature magazine)
does a tornado or a any type of disaster decorate a town and make it more nicer even if it happens 10 by the power of 50(mathematic impossible to mathematician)times even make sense to you?
do note that evolution is solely base on CHANCE on the gene having a beneficial mutation before natural selection steps in.
The concept of nothing and something is for laymen terms.Originally posted by Guilmon1987:First there was nothing. Nothing felt very sian, coz there was nothing, and nothing itself didn't exist because, well there was nothing.
So feeling sian that nothing was nothing and there is nothing, nothing started to feel frustrated, and thus feelings were borned. Nothing den gained intelligence and created something. Something den slowly evovle to what we have now.
Originally posted by kivine:Yes correct but unfortunately even the other methods can't confirm accuracy at that timeline. Even if not the content to be evaluated compared to carbon could pose some difficulty. Some of these radioactive material are not readily available unlike carbon. But even carbon's availability deferrs from time to time. Ok so for this part of dating artifacts are considered flawed as you had acknowledge and had mentioned.
banzie, I'm not sure what point are you trying to make.I'm feeling quite disappointed in several ways, I've reply to your comments point by point since page 3+. I've admitted to some of the flaws in all the stuff brought forward, yet you have chose to think that I'm not; saying what nobel. Why are you so eager in bringing out the flaws, I've stated in my post earlier that I have accepted the tree-ring calibration is flawed and on-going.I'm not even suggesting even the first place, the other dating methods are out there as you state.
And those comments I quote can be find in the wikipedia, an open-encyclopedia with reference attached.granted wikipedia is a public encylopedia, it is better than the so [b]called archeology site you claimed to be standing on an equal footing.
Atheist and evolutionist have a hard time because they are guilty(wrong) until proved innocent(right) in a way, while religious have the morale high ground, that is they are innocent(right) until proven guilty(wrong).
And also note that the yahoo-site you provide too stated that other dating methods can be use in conjunction with carbon dating, such as Stratigraphic dating.
I should have listened to fatslob in the first place.I gonna quit this topic. I surrender.
Originally posted by january:trick or mislead?like this one?
[b]the common misconception about evolution is that it is so unlikely to be able to form such complex structure. This is a very common argument that manages to trick or mislead people to believe that evolution is impossible
First, it is simple structure, then as it evolve, it becomes a little more complex. Over time, i become more and more complex.
there is nothing amazing about complex structure. It is a cause and effect thingy. Causality is a fundamental process of universe.
2 becomes 4. 4 becomes 8. 8 becomes 16. Soon a large number will be form by permutation or the effect of power.[/b]
Proving is not really applicable in reality.Originally posted by banzie:Yes correct but unfortunately even the other methods can't confirm accuracy at that timeline. Even if not the content to be evaluated compared to carbon could pose some difficulty. Some of these radioactive material are not readily available unlike carbon. But even carbon's availability deferrs from time to time. Ok so for this part of dating artifacts are considered flawed as you had acknowledge and had mentioned.
There is not right and wrong at this point I guess... its just a different perception till proven. So finally I can say this for the LAST time... Everyone please do keep an open mind to evolution or what ever theories. Recognising the theory thoroughly and its weakness is good. Textbook are not neccessary complete and even planets status are changed too what else cannot? One thing for sure even if newton's law is improved, apple still fall down from the tree.
simple cell or virus does not mean that it is easy for human to replicate.Originally posted by slowmover:people keep on saying that from simple slowly to complex but how simple is simple.Can u please tell me one i just need one example where we can see human generate a most simple and not complex living bacteria
that is why many materialist scientist will continue to pursue on the direction of evolution even when there is unbridgeable gap as they can't accept a higher being which is why it is and still is a consistent theoryOriginally posted by january:simple cell or virus does not mean that it is easy for human to replicate.
i say again, evolution theory is the most consistent direction so far.
keeping an open mind but do you have other possible theories that is different direction than evolution.
until you have, there is no way but just to continue the evolution line of research.
u tell me. god created the first life and so and so on. then in this line, just accept the story and no need to do research liao issit. so conveninet??
Then what's the point of science? You are not making sense... We do we used to derive knowledge from?Originally posted by january:Proving is not really applicable in reality.
In reality, we use probability model and confidence level. We just accept that superman don't in life based on the fact that we do not see him before.
However, we cannot prove that superman don't exist. I talking about the detailed meanings of things which most people dun really like to hear.
science allows us to have application and walah. our modern civilisation has alot to do with science, engineering and art.Originally posted by banzie:Then what's the point of science? You are not making sense... We do we used to derive knowledge from?
You are not explaining your previous post.Originally posted by january:science allows us to have application and walah. our modern civilisation has alot to do with science, engineering and art.
religion is also part of modern civilisation. in fact, it is becoming a commerical product liao. It sure has a lot of branding going on.
from what i can see, religion is still getting many supportings and there are more and more religion and different kind of idol figure worship.
Seriously, they do not help much.. all these worshipping and stuff. I am going to race ahead if u all want to use this lazy method of hoping for peace.
real peace is to acknowledge reality and knowing that i can die at any moment because reality has no safety for individual. If the conditions are right, i will die now.
happiness is not praying for safety but living life fully and knowing that my life can end now or tonight. It is really just doing what u can in terms of working hard and brushing up own knowledge.
No one is debating the about religion vs evolution here... but the reliability of evolution. Flawless yes, consistent Not neccessary. I could rather use the word convincing than consistent. Like what we had alredy goes through so many times. there shows some inconsistency of the theory some evidence in the world.Originally posted by Hamiltonian1125:Theory of evolution is not flawless, but it is the most consistent theory so far and the best accepted present explanation by not just atheist but also scientists as well.
Religions are all about faith. It is pretty absurd for a zealot in his/her religion to convince anyone of a scientific mind that everything is due to God and we shall left all the thinking to be done by HIM and VICE VERSA. So it is pointless to argue wif ppl whose mind is already so deeply embedded into what he already believe as "ultimate truth"
Originally posted by banzie:wooo cool it...did I say theory of evolution is flawless??? No I dont...All I said was it is the best solution so far...Ad hoc yes....but it is no doubt the most acceptable theory in present context.
No one is debating the about religion vs evolution here... but the reliability of evolution. Flawless yes, consistent Not neccessary. I could rather use the word convincing than consistent. Like what we had alredy goes through so many times. there shows some inconsistency of the theory some evidence in the world.
Although many inconsistency were explained by adding more theory into the orginial theory by darwin. Still there remains some missing links and questionable evidence.
Sure you can believe in evolution no problem just like anyone could believe in aliens creating human. I think IMO it is the greatest lie to tell everyone evolution in the whole without informing them the weakness overr the correct way of looking at this theory. It is a theory that is well explained as compared to others if we don't talk about religion but in the scientific community rather than what was protrayed by the educational and evolution organisation as the ultimate truth hidding the flaws.
If you ask most people in the world, lack of knowledge they would think the theory has no flaws and expected it the way as the evolutionist would have wanted them to believe. But it is only those who study deep into the subject that understand the theory is still flawed.
In Conclusion as to all have agreed, Evolution may be the most convincing theory but it is not flawless and hence have alot of questions to be dealt with. Many holds different view, but to me IN MY OWN OPINION. The theory barely makes up 50% to be believable probably due to the inaccuracy of the the evidence and the many still questionable evidence that prove other wise.
on the contrary, i like science, progress, and the like.. i watch discovery channel too..Originally posted by january:i have seen the discovery channels on human evolution.
the straight line evolution of chimpanzee to human is wrong liao.
there are different species of bipedal apes which live together and sometimes fight.
homo sapien is the one that survive among the different species. got one bloody big volcano reduces human species to few thousands to near extinction. Then after surviving, they start reproducing to today time loh.....
Anyway, i feel u sound too nihilist. like it does not matter and it not important to progress science like that.
huh? i tot the their story is that God created the world in 7 days with sunday as a rest day that thing..Originally posted by yellowtofuwarrior:I suppose you can believe the moronic Christian theory of how life started...An ageing shaman nods his head and poof! the universe appears.