Haha i think that is very true. I did pretty well for my O levels but i chose to go to an average JC, and take only 3 A level subjects even though i could have taken 4. Reason? I didnt wanna be around people who mug all they.No offence. Im not saying all people who take 4 A level subjects mug all day, but chances are im just likely to hang around people like that and i dont really want that.Originally posted by Skibi:One thing I notice... Those people who get good results from mugging usually are a very jealous and petty bunch. The truely brilliant ones that play most of the time but still top the class are more easy going.
The muggers usually stick together(stealing each others secrets and backstabbing each other) and hate anyone that gets good results without studying much.
what abt those who get lousy results frm mugging like me..Originally posted by Skibi:One thing I notice... Those people who get good results from mugging usually are a very jealous and petty bunch. The truely brilliant ones that play most of the time but still top the class are more easy going.
The muggers usually stick together(stealing each others secrets and backstabbing each other) and hate anyone that gets good results without studying much.
problem between keyboard n chairOriginally posted by cApitaland:what abt those who get lousy results frm mugging like me..![]()
My every cells in my body agree with you. It's like me.Originally posted by Ashearo:Yes results affect your status at school. I know because ive been experiencing this for a long time. I already finished my A levels and im serving in NS now. Im not boasting, but im just sharing my experience. When your results are good, teachers want achievements to be recognised. So very often, test and exam results will be put up on notice boards and the whole school can check their rankings. People who appear consistently at the top will automatically be 'famous'.
And when you are well known, its easier to make friends. You can just say hi to a friend's friend and the next moment you both are friends also. But many of these are prolly just shallow friends. I don have a bad personality and i have many many friends. Even close ones, i have quite a few. But the thing is not everyone in school will know who you really are. Often, a lot of people will dislike you even if you have a good personality, thats just because they do not know you enough and soemtimes they are envious of your good results. Sometimes they hear rumours that you are proud, arrogant and snobbish but you really arent and only your real friends will know. You will definitely get a lot of attention and there will be people gossiping bout every part of your life. Your looks, your studies, your girlfriend, courses you get into in uni and etc. Whatever 'news' about you, spreads like wildfire. Even the bad ones. I have helped people with their studies when they need help, yet at times other people have said im arrogant. I have heard so many comments about me, that now when my friends tell me they hear some rumours bout me, i really don give a damn anymore. Makes life easier lol.
Teachers of course pay a lot of attention to you. You are already doing well so they put a lot of hope on you to be a model so that others can look up to you, and aim to achieve just like you. Its just a normal that mentors tend to like mentees that are better. Just like how a boss will like a good employee better.
Of course there are also people who do not do well yet they get a lot of attention in school as well for their community spirit, leadership, cca achievements and etc.
I think you should not bother so much about attention. If you want that then just join Singapore Idol. Whats more important is that you make true friends and get yourself an education . You wanna do well in your studies for yourself, not for anyone else.
I don't think so for the highlighted part.Originally posted by FireIce:depends on the person mah
if good results and always damn dao or yayapapaya of cos no frens lah
if good results but always helpful and frenly to ppl, of cos got many frens loh
True. like me.Originally posted by OasisBlue:yea true... but sometimes even if you are smart but geeky... you tend to have lesser friends![]()
I guess there are two type. One is mugger group, another one is loner. I guess I am the loner.Originally posted by Skibi:One thing I notice... Those people who get good results from mugging usually are a very jealous and petty bunch. The truely brilliant ones that play most of the time but still top the class are more easy going.
No. Not all student are kiasu.Originally posted by nubcake:it depends on what schoool you are from, and what kind of friends or teachers you can make.
anyway, sometimes its true that students with better results know more teachers..
cos they more kiasu find tchers abt their studies everyday![]()
I guess you studied the wrong way, or didn't use the right method that suits your learning.Originally posted by cApitaland:what abt those who get lousy results frm mugging like me..![]()
hmm what's K, V and AOriginally posted by Darkness_hacker99:I guess you studied the wrong way, or didn't use the right method that suits your learning.
You'd better find out what type of learners are you. K,V or A.
http://www.trentu.ca/academic/geography/swurtele/slr/learningstyles.htmlOriginally posted by OasisBlue:hmm what's K, V and A![]()
jin gao kay(gd fake) lor..Originally posted by motoway:Not true. I'm not tryna boast or wad but my grades reali suc i.e bottom 5th or somewhere there..
I think one of the problems is that you remain too quiet sometimes. And sometimes people won't really bother people are really quiet and perceive them as boring or unsocialable but that's just shallow thinking but sadly many people do that.Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:I don't think so for the highlighted part.
I personally don't have much friends. My social circle is only around the fews classes in sch nia.
yarrOriginally posted by Eternal-fire:I think one of the problems is that you remain too quiet sometimes. And sometimes people won't really bother people are really quiet and perceive them as boring or unsocialable but that's just shallow thinking but sadly many people do that.
Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:I guess there are two type. One is mugger group, another one is loner. I guess I am the loner.
Usually me and the mugger group will stare at each other when we passed by each others.
phew, luckily I am in a different class with the mugger group.
And yes, I really hate people who have good results without studying much.
Me: Eh you study for the test liao mah?
X: No lah. I never study de... i swear.
When result come back ar, it shows a different thing.
It's a lot. Not some!Originally posted by soulwinner:Not really...
Sometime politics are involved...