Originally posted by FireIce:
my dad working in CAAS (old generation)
in AES
his first job and he has gotten the long service award and he is going to retire soon
good pay, good benefits.....
seldom hear him complain about his job, except i do WITS for him and prepare his powerpoints (he has to give training to juniors now and then)
he is going to have a fat pension!!!
my best fren used to work in CAAS (new generation)
in air traffic control......the kind u observe the ground and air and tell planes to move left move right, fly or land now or later....
very competitive....
seems like now they prefer to tough-train the poly ppl than to take in degree-holders and assume they will perform up to standards.
good place to work if you can endure the constant trainings/tests and their strict elimination procedures...
cream of the corp survives well...
those who cmi but still wanna stay on the job oso surviving, somehow, but have to keep upgrading and going for trainings....
no pension scheme oredi, but u have a fat CPF lah
for the record, he left bcos he has to take over the father's business.
for both cases, u have to be able to tahan shift work.......
air traffic control shift more erratic....
i rber him working in the morning, then go home to sleep, then at nite work again..
but the off days are well-compensated... (which most of the time is spent sleeping)
i thot u said ur dad is a fireman