Epilesy is commonly known as fits.Originally posted by browniebaobao:Is epilesy = fits?
i suffered fits before when i was a kid.. i remember i always woke up in the middle of the night and found myself lying on a hospital bed.
but now im ok liao leh..
juz that since young, my parents always remind me not to take those rides at Sentosa or Fun Fair.
actually my family kept it from me until i reached 21 yrs old..Originally posted by Honeybunz:Epilesy is commonly known as fits.
I guess yours is very much under control liao. It's not a sickness and not dangerous. But you have to take very good care of yourself, ya?
For point 3 - actually if they are biting their tongue ....I use a towel and stuff it in as though gagging the fella and turn them to the side when they are done fitting.Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:hmm what to do if someone has fits:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Epilepsy#Responding_to_a_seizure
In short:
1. Move him/her away from sharp objects or move objects away from person
2. Cushion fall is possible
3. NEVER place anything in the person's mouth
4. If the fits comes in waves, lasts longer than 5 minutes continuously call the ambulance.
5. Take note actions of patient during fits, how long fits last to inform to medic.
ouch, dragg did ya call the ambulance?Originally posted by fymk:For point 3 - actually if they are biting their tongue ....I use a towel and stuff it in as though gagging the fella and turn them to the side when they are done fitting.
Never put ur finger insider their mouth - they WILL BITE it off.
As long as you take necessary precaution, you will be fine.Originally posted by browniebaobao:actually my family kept it from me until i reached 21 yrs old..
One very late night my sis and mum rushed me down to SGH A&E, and sis told doc abt my history coz the doc asked.. until then then i confirmed my suspicion that i had fits.
but then.. maybe now i know why i can't really take shocks.. find it v hard to calm down if im shocked.
Maybe you have an anxiety problem. I've been getting that recently but it's going away so I'm all good.Originally posted by browniebaobao:actually my family kept it from me until i reached 21 yrs old..
One very late night my sis and mum rushed me down to SGH A&E, and sis told doc abt my history coz the doc asked.. until then then i confirmed my suspicion that i had fits.
but then.. maybe now i know why i can't really take shocks.. find it v hard to calm down if im shocked.
ya.. as far as i know..my parents took me on a ride when i was a child.. and i got a terrible shock.. lost a lot of weight since then.. then for many yrs, i tend to lose consciousness everytime i take a nap after food.. and was forbidded to eat certain food, or do certain sports.Originally posted by Honeybunz:As long as you take necessary precaution, you will be fine.
I have heard of cases whereby ppl were born normal, until they suffered from brain injury or high fever.
I guess our brain is just too complex. That's why after so many thousand years, the best neurologists or scientist still can't really finger out how to cure this (ya... Epilesy was discovered as far as ancient Egyptian times).
anxiety problem? dun think it's that serious lah.Originally posted by jondizzle foshizzle:Maybe you have an anxiety problem. I've been getting that recently but it's going away so I'm all good.
i dunno, anxiety attack can be pretty serious. you feel like ure getting a really painful heart attack and feelings of extreme terror and paranoia overwhelm u and u think ure gonna die. does that sound like wat uve got?Originally posted by browniebaobao:anxiety problem? dun think it's that serious lah.
someone did, but she recovered before help arrived.Originally posted by sand king:ouch, dragg did ya call the ambulance?
Err.. in what circumstances have you used a towel to do this?Originally posted by fymk:For point 3 - actually if they are biting their tongue ....I use a towel and stuff it in as though gagging the fella and turn them to the side when they are done fitting.
Never put ur finger insider their mouth - they WILL BITE it off.
U might find difficulty to retain them in that position. And should not 'fight' with patient to force them into it either.Originally posted by M551Sheridian:put them in recovery position? hehe
no..Originally posted by jondizzle foshizzle:i dunno, anxiety attack can be pretty serious. you feel like ure getting a really painful heart attack and feelings of extreme terror and paranoia overwhelm u and u think ure gonna die. does that sound like wat uve got?