still "nothing" compared with the Prime Minister's husband's, Temasek's, "brilliant" investment in this bank...Originally posted by noahnoah:What a down flow chart sia![]()

ST Indexoh oh!
3,501.63 -98.04
* Last Updated : Monday, November 12, 2007 10:56:55 AM
ST IndexHit the Century mark...
3,499.40 -100.27
* Last Updated : Monday, November 12, 2007 11:14:56 AM
HANG SENG MAINLAND 25 IX 9,983.55 -542.00 -5.15% 22:07
HS MAINLAND FREEFLOAT IX 9,009.70 -499.50 -5.25% 22:07
HANG SENG CHINA AFF.CRP 5,824.09 -329.22 -5.35% 22:07
HANG SENG CHINA ENT INDX 16,736.67 -967.41 -5.46% 22:06MAINLAND Indices... down 5%
NIKKEI 225 14,998.51 -584.91 -3.75% 11:47(Singapore Time
ST Index
3,489.55 -110.12
* Last Updated : Monday, November 12, 2007 12:17:55 PM
hi sunnyOriginally posted by sunny3510:me oso done tat b4. U wan big gain surely got big risk. 1 thing for sure. More risk if u short than long. Me luv volatile market.![]()
Happy belated birthday!Originally posted by noahnoah:hi sunny
Shorting is akin to putting yourself in a hole and digging your way outOriginally posted by deathbait:ok seriously
i'm getting sick of this
let's get some definations straight
risk is not just a word. It describes something that can be calculated mathematically.
risk is the ratio of expected losses against expected gains. Shorting is not always riskier than having long positions. The singapore stock market unfortunately has this insane rule against shorting that increases the risk dramatically. But it is still not always the case.
leveraging does not directly affect risk. It affects risk of ruin, which is dictated by the increased volatility of the leverage.
as for andrew's dire warnings of all this "not about the market anymore, sigh" crap, i have news for you. It's always about the markets.
Markets have been around since there has been trade. You want to talk about a major depression, it's still about the market. Urging ppl not to enter in long positions at low prices because you sense a depression is ridiculous. It's borderline unethical, because you're sprouting nonsense.
Low points in the economy(depressions) are the best times to enter in long positions. WTF are you talking about.
You're against shorting, you're against long. I guess you hold cash under your pillow.
alamak... there is a difference between risk and stupidity, in case you don't know...Originally posted by sunny3510:me oso done tat b4. U wan big gain surely got big risk. 1 thing for sure. More risk if u short than long. Me luv volatile market.![]()
hehehe... you should read from page one if you want to comment... otherwise you are just shooting into thin air...Originally posted by deathbait:ok seriously
i'm getting sick of this
let's get some definations straight
risk is not just a word. It describes something that can be calculated mathematically.
risk is the ratio of expected losses against expected gains. Shorting is not always riskier than having long positions. The singapore stock market unfortunately has this insane rule against shorting that increases the risk dramatically. But it is still not always the case.
leveraging does not directly affect risk. It affects risk of ruin, which is dictated by the increased volatility of the leverage.
as for andrew's dire warnings of all this "not about the market anymore, sigh" crap, i have news for you. It's always about the markets.
Markets have been around since there has been trade. You want to talk about a major depression, it's still about the market. Urging ppl not to enter in long positions at low prices because you sense a depression is ridiculous. It's borderline unethical, because you're sprouting nonsense.
Low points in the economy(depressions) are the best times to enter in long positions. WTF are you talking about.
You're against shorting, you're against long. I guess you hold cash under your pillow.
I'm too young to b as conservative as u.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:alamak... there is a difference between risk and stupidity, in case you don't know...![]()
What if "becoz... I'm young" is a very stupid reason and instead making you money, destroy your life? Think about that. That is just the beginning, the start of what you must consider.... that is just one of the thousand things that you must consider in order to be successful.Originally posted by sunny3510:I'm too young to b as conservative as u.
there are money out there tat pple can earn and u cant. since u r not vested, u cant lose either. u lose wat u cant earn which i cant afford too...
becoz... I'm young![]()
Singapore[/quote]
INDEX VALUE CHANGE %CHANGE TIME STRAITS TIMES INDEX 3,454.98 -56.14 -1.60% 22:53
SINGAPORE ALL INDEX 967.07 -12.01 -1.23% 22:51
ST Index
3,428.26 -49.33
Volume
437.6 M
Gainers/Losers
100 / 435
SGX
13.200 -0.400
Gold Spot Price*
* Last Updated : Friday, November 16, 2007 10:11:56 AM
Like for example, Singapore's Temasek's investment in Thailand's Shin Corp, Singaporeans hard earned money, our GST, ERP, HDB, those money, for example was spent to allow Thaksin to buy Manchester City football club.Originally posted by TS Kan:Some ?s for AndrewPKYap:
1. How u see market until end of '07.
2. This sub-prime nonsense .... when will they stop talking about this.
3. The whole world seems to be okay except US ..... but why is the rest of world affected by US self-created problems.
4. Do u think the global stock markets are manipulated by a group of very powerful people from the West and Asians & others are just 'dancing' to the West's tunes. If so they are making a lot of money at our expense.
VERY, VERY, VERY INTERESTING & TRUE!Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:so we have... the biggest con job in history... and through the use of Structured investment vehicle (SIV); the banks were scammed as well...
when banks get scammed, what happens?
Banks have less money to lend!
Banks stocks plunge in value!
.... and Singaporeans' money that they pay for exorbitant HDB flats, ERP, COE and so on, through the cronyism that is Temasek Holdings get channeled to foreigners...
to be continued...