You forget that if you put your money in good companies, they pay dividends (like fixed deposit). Before selling off one of the counters the last two weeks, that counter paid dividends AND bonus recently...Originally posted by DriftingGuy:Yea but if I have to wait 5 years for significant increase I am better off putting the money in savings deposit. So I am using 2 years as a guideline..
Anyway I hope the market dips further. Better still crash till its flooded in blood, then its time for shopping spree
I wish I can know for sure & I'll be a millionaire - I am not a pundit like some claim they are but using some common sense u will know that the stocks have reach rock bottom when their prices have dropped by quite big margins & usually they are across the board & stay low for a while before moving again.Originally posted by maurizio13:Where is the rock bottom?
Maybe you can tell us when it hits.
Hehehe.........
Dude, the selloff in equities market is old news liao....expect more selling to come on this Monday.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:need lots of patience... wait until down down down until nobody interested then buy and wait for years and years...
work, save up and use some of your savings to buy....
but nobody listens to old uncle one lah... everyone wants to make quick bucks and lose their pants as a result...
Is there any website which I can go and view for reference or newspapers perhaps?Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:Asian markets decline after Dow plunges By MARI YAMAGUCHI, Associated Press Writer
51 minutes ago
Asian markets tumbled Friday in the wake of one of Wall Street's biggest losses of the year, with Japanese stocks also taking a hit on the yen's recent strength and uncertainty about weekend elections.
Markets in Hong Kong, Australia, Taiwan, Singapore, Malaysia and the Philippines also fell sharply as international investors pulled out of riskier assets, including Asian emerging markets.
Investors were rattled after U.S. markets plunged Thursday amid worries over the U.S mortgage and corporate lending markets. But analysts said the sell-offs had more to do with a sudden change in sentiment than any direct link between Asian markets and U.S. subprime mortgage woes.
"If big foreign funds have selling orders, they tend to go by region. If they sell Asia funds, they do it to reevaluate portfolios or cover losses in the U.S.," said Rommel Macapagal, chairman of Westlink Global Equities
"But for local investors, it's a sentiment. When big drops occur, they tend to get jittery because of expectation of foreign funds selling. They tend to get out," he said.
In Tokyo, the Nikkei 225 index sank 418.28 points, or 2.36 percent, to close at 17,283.81. At one point, the index fell nearly 3 percent before recouping some losses. Losers included Honda Motor Co., Toshiba Corp. and Nikon Corp.
Philippine stocks suffered their biggest percentage drop in 10 years Friday, sinking 3.9 percent. Taiwan's benchmark index fell even more, dropping 4.2 percent. In afternoon trading, Hong Kong's Hang Seng index was down 1.9 percent, while Singapore's Straits Times index slid 3.2 percent.
In New York Thursday, the Dow Jones industrial average plunged 311.50 points or 2.26 percent, to 13,473.57, its biggest point drop since Feb. 27, when a fall in the Shanghai stock market unnerved world exchanges.
In Tokyo, Japan's Chief Cabinet Secretary Yasuhisa Shiozaki, brushed off concerns about the influence by the U.S. stock declines on the economy in the region.
"The Japanese economy is expanding stably and I have not heard that there have been any major fluctuations in other key countries," Shiozaki said.
Investors in Japan were also unnerved by the yen's recent appreciation against the dollar, which erodes overseas income at the country's key exporters. The dollar fell to 118.70 yen in afternoon trading in Tokyo, down from 119.46 yen late Thursday in New York.
"A stronger Japanese yen has a greater impact on today's Nikkei than overnight losses on U.S. stocks," said Hiroyuki Fukunaga, chief strategist at Rakuten Securities.
There was also anxiety in Japan about Sunday's upper house elections. Recent newspaper polls have predicted that the long ruling Liberal Democratic Party could win fewer than a third of the seats contested in Sunday's upper house elections.
A defeat would not immediately threaten its hold on power, but Prime Minister Shinzo Abe could face pressure to resign from other leaders within his party and from the public.
___
Associated Press Writer Hrvoje Hrjanski in Manila contributed to this report.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:ST Index
3,467.55 -112.18
Volume
3,389.9 M
Gainers/Losers
105 / 968
* Last Updated : Friday, July 27, 2007 3:59:56 PM www.sgx.com
hahaha I told my wife to sell and she sold last couple of weeks (after holding for years and patiently waiting for the market to go up)... *feeling smug*
commiserations to those that bought on credit (borrow money to buy)... hopefully you have not wipe out all your money (the value now less the amount you borrowed = zero; all the money you put in wiped out)
Never borrow money for gambling and never use money you need for gambling... listen to this old uncle for once!
Exactly....that's when I come in and take over Maurizio's propertyOriginally posted by AndrewPKYap:gone...
but if you are deep in debt, you cannot afford to wait... the banks and the brokers will come after you... and force you to sell.... at the bottom....
Famous last words? Whether or not it is the top is not important. The important thing is not to burn yourself so badly you cannot take it in case it is the top....Originally posted by sunny6110:me certain not market top yet
If it is for general knowledge, that is good, if you think that reading and knowing more can help you make money, that is harmful... yes harmful!Originally posted by the_fallen:Is there any website which I can go and view for reference or newspapers perhaps?
Well for the last 6 months, the market went up quite a bit also ! The drop is not even back to the level then ..........Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Have been waiting for the market to crash for 6 months already Hope it really crashes to the ground and hope interest rates rise as they do in the UK (5.75%). When people cannot afford to pay off their housing loans and default, there will be mortgagee sales to pick up..
There is no such thing as selling too early. As long as you made a profit from the stock you sold, it is a good deal.Originally posted by greyskymorning:my pick Keppel Corp....but regret sell too early b4 it hit $20++ and stk spilt
miss some gd picks due to some ill advices fm frenz, colleaguez, forgot to buy & some other commitments
what goes up mus cum down
my theory: paper loss is stil a loss, paper gain is not a gain. set a limit for a % u willing to loss...there is something called "opportunity cost"
Stocks rise and fall base on the potential money it could made in future years. Some of them are already at the level which might took them 16 yrs to reach in real time.Originally posted by maurizio13:Now?
Don't think so.
Think the bubble will burst soon, within 1-2 years the SGX index has doubled.
Don't know of any existing business that can double it's capital in 2 years.
500% profitOriginally posted by newcomer:that's y i ask how many percent mah, not the amount. say leh, how many percent?
There is a book on "SHARES INVESTMENT" which you can buy to read up on the companies which you have intention to buy.Originally posted by the_fallen:Is there any website which I can go and view for reference or newspapers perhaps?
Things change all the time and so "All these info are " not that important, important yes, but not "very important".Originally posted by Dino888:There is a book on "SHARES INVESTMENT" which you can buy to read up on the companies which you have intention to buy.
Buying shares are not like buying vegetables, you see nice, you buy. You need to know at least something about the company, it's past profit, dividends if any, any new orders, the line which it is in whether is it becoming obsolete etc, its net tangibile asset etc.
You can know at what rate the stock is trading at it's current value etc.
For example.
Stock A NTA is $0.50
It is now trading at $2.00
Every year it is earning $0.10
It's return 15X it's NTA. Meaning to say the share NTA will eventually reach $2 in 15 yrs time etc.
1 year $0.10
15 years $1.50
$1.50 + NTA of $0.50 - $2.00
All these info are very important when you are trading shares as you will not want to buy into a compay where the returns are 100 years later (What we call bubble company )
Good luck !
Most of the companies are trading at 18X, 20X of their profit return to NTA , some even 96X.Originally posted by sunny6110:me certain not market top yet
Author and publisher of the book?Originally posted by Dino888:There is a book on "SHARES INVESTMENT" which you can buy to read up on the companies which you have intention to buy.
Buying shares are not like buying vegetables, you see nice, you buy. You need to know at least something about the company, it's past profit, dividends if any, any new orders, the line which it is in whether is it becoming obsolete etc, its net tangibile asset etc.
For example.
Stock A NTA is $0.50
It's return 15X it's NTA. Meaning to say the share NTA will eventually reach $2 in 15 yrs time etc.
1 year $0.10
15 years $1.50
All these info are very important when you are trading shares as you will not want to buy into a compay where the returns are 100 years later (What we call bubble company )
Good luck !
me agree tat the stock market and the property market is little bit hot now... but not up till the level tat need to adjust downwards greatly like the 911 incident period and the SARS period.... just some corrections for pple to take profit... those who borrowed $$ to play too bad loOriginally posted by Dino888:Most of the companies are trading at 18X, 20X of their profit return to NTA , some even 96X.
Buy into the market if you are the long time investor (Meaning you don't mind waiting 10 yrs to 15 yrs for your return ). But before that, check the return on the company
Finally something useful...not the rubbish andrew yap is sprouting.Originally posted by Dino888:There is a book on "SHARES INVESTMENT" which you can buy to read up on the companies which you have intention to buy.
For example.
Stock A NTA is $0.50
1 year $0.10
15 years $1.50
Good luck !
you make this thread to hao lian only issit? how about saying something useful for once?Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:u noe also useless, not like we going to share with you
well isn't it better?Originally posted by BadzMaro:Sometimes knowing too much gives u more fears.
Its like Mining...
Telling people not to buy stocks on credit is the most useful thing I can say in a nutshell. Up to you whether you want to learn things the hard way and suffer the consequences or listen to an old uncle is up to you... but I know some people never listens...Originally posted by Stoat:you make this thread to hao lian only issit? how about saying something useful for once?