Polytechnics anchor of tertiary education, says PM Lee
By Imelda Saad, Correspondent
SINGAPORE'S Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong gave a positive report card of the country's polytechnics on Tuesday as he officially opened the fifth and newest institution - Republic Polytechnic (RP).
Noting that 40 per cent of students here take the poly route, Mr Lee said polytechnics are close to the industry and respond to changing needs to 'solve real world problems'.
Recognising the role polytechnics can play in supporting the industry, Mr Lee noted how SPRING Singapore has partnered polys to set up Centres of Innovation (COIs).
These COIs form the backbone of reasearch and innovation efforts.
Progress has also been made in attempts to link up with foreign instituitions to enable polys to offer specialised degree programmes to its students.
Giving an update on the latest effort, Mr Lee revealed Ngee Ann Polytechnic's tie-up with Wheelock College in the US and RTRC Asia, the training arm of NTUC Childcare Group.
The programme, which offers a degree in early Childhood Education admitted its first batch of 61 students in June.
Mr Lee said, 'More tie-ups are being explored in specific applied disciplines. For example food technology, culinary arts, optometry, naval architecture and resort management. These will provide alternative degree upgrading opportunities for our polytechnic graduates.'
He added polytechnics are also giving students more international exposure and opportunities to go on overseas trips.
'Next year, at least 30 per cent of our polytechnics students can look forward to participating in an overseas programme,' he said.
Republic Polytechnic arts and cultural hub
As the newest polytechnic, Mr Lee said RP has continued the tradition of applied learning and innovation.
He noted how RP, located in Woodlands, is aiming to be the arts and cultural hub of the Northern region.
'The Republic Polytechnic Cultural centre will liven up the arts and culture scene and be a focal point for such activities,' he said.
The centre is focused on Ethnic Arts and aims to bring the arts into the heartlands.
Physically, the new campus was also designed to integrate as much as the community as possible.
Instead of gates and fences, the open layout of the campus invites the Woodlands community onto its grounds with facilities like the 'campus in a park' open for public use.
ya la.Originally posted by SpecOps87:He should also comment how many percent of those who choose poly route end up having to go overseas for Uni cuz local Uni dun accept them.Must also state action plan to improve the situation in 3yrs time. haha
Mr Lee said polytechnics are close to the industry and respond to changing needs to 'solve real world problems'.No one will hire you to do research unless you are a PhD.
Recognising the role polytechnics can play in supporting the industry, Mr Lee noted how SPRING Singapore has partnered polys to set up Centres of Innovation (COIs).
These COIs form the backbone of reasearch and innovation efforts.
a NUS professor told me i have my fair share of education and i should give the place to an A level student...Originally posted by selfobliged:Ai ya...what to do...If Poly people dominate the local Uni, the JC grads will have no future. It's a fact rite? A level students can't go anywhere unless they get into Uni. But still...no matter how hard we debate, nothing will be done.
I have a friend with GPA 3.5, and he still can't get in local Uni. I'm losing faith in them. That's why I intend to take overseas Uni part-time, while working full time. I guess it will be a win-win situation as I'll earn my degree, and 4 years of relevant working experience. What's the use of having a cert with ZILT working experience?Originally posted by SpecOps87:IMHO...its bull to say tt u only accept Poly students if their results are 3.0 and up. How many percent of those in the workforce are poly grads? who understand the complexity and are able to deal with problems more practically in the real world? Also, what about the foreign nationals who come here to study on scholarships, get free PR, Citizen status etc.? You tell me NUS, NTU, SMU got no space for our locals? Balls to u!
i thought u want to go np/sp?Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:I might change to MDIS course next year liao.![]()
I dun tink the poly pple are dominating local unis at all...Originally posted by selfobliged:Ai ya...what to do...If Poly people dominate the local Uni, the JC grads will have no future. It's a fact rite? A level students can't go anywhere unless they get into Uni. But still...no matter how hard we debate, nothing will be done.
cos PM Lee is also a JC kiaOriginally posted by stellazio:yeah for the hot courses, its still like only 10% intake given to poly students and spread among the 5 local polys.
sadly, he's just sprouting rubbish.
Yar. But I calulated using my complex formula the probability of getting into NP/SP. It's low but not zero.Originally posted by TYING:i thought u want to go np/sp?
Nobody asks you go school... I pon yesterday.Originally posted by caleb_chiang:... damn the event... make me park my transport so far that day...![]()
It's a fact. It's a reality. It makes me want to take the word "meritocracy" out of our pledge.Originally posted by selfobliged:Ai ya...what to do...If Poly people dominate the local Uni, the JC grads will have no future. It's a fact rite? A level students can't go anywhere unless they get into Uni. But still...no matter how hard we debate, nothing will be done.
Haha...please lah...its still meritocracy. Just that you or rather WE never do well enough. Unlike those foreign talent. Hmmm...come to think of it, since SG ain't making enough kids, should import foreign talent, for us to mate with, then aft kid delivered, send them back lor. So simpleOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:It's a fact. It's a reality. It makes me want to take the word "meritocracy" out of our pledge.