Same here. Everytime I go up taxi and I speak proper Chinese, taxi driver will ask me, "Are you from China?".Originally posted by banzie:I speak very good pronouced Chinese one lor... and very good english... very good with my talking and language...
Especially knows how to use some of the slang that you hear only spoken by Taiwanese or PRC... Coz I often interact with Chinese and PRC.
But hor I met a couple of times.. when I speak... the guy abit shocked... tot I am a PRC... what the hack!? I tot Speaking in Chinese Campagin encourage everyone to speak Chinese? I one time go Malaysia buy dvd leh... the guy thinks I'm from China go malaysia and work one... Basket...
Anyone met this problem when speaking good Chinese?
Originally posted by banzie:I speak very good pronouced Chinese one lor... and very good english... very good with my talking and language...
Especially knows how to use some of the slang that you hear only spoken by Taiwanese or PRC... Coz I often interact with Chinese and PRC.
But hor I met a couple of times.. when I speak... the guy abit shocked... tot I am a PRC... what the hack!? I tot Speaking in Chinese Campagin encourage everyone to speak Chinese? I one time go Malaysia buy dvd leh... the guy thinks I'm from China go malaysia and work one... Basket...
picking on his english huhOriginally posted by de_middle:![]()
how to speak chinese in the 1st place
i can speak a little mandarin though![]()
ya, imagine you are 100% born in singapore singaporean, never go overseas for studies, and then you speak some super perfect english to your colleagues, they will think that you "act" angmo. Speaking Singlish makes you easier to "click" with them.Originally posted by Slipshade:There is the self-lowering standard problem in Singapore. That good Mandarin = PRC/Taiwanese mindset is the result of the SLS.
SLS comes when you get odd looks and teasings from Singaporeans, and has a possibility of getting ostracised and the 'crime' you committed is that you speak good Mandarin and English! Few people wants that happening to them especially the kids, so they simply conform to peer pressure and start speaking Singlish or subpar Mandarin and English.
Over time, I do not think that speaking good Mandarin and English will feel right to them anymore, because they have grown accustomed to speaking badly. And does anyone correct them? Nobody does, I suppose.
Sad, isn't it?![]()
is that a good thing or a bad thing?Originally posted by FireIce:i got mistaken for china girl or taiwan girl many times oredi......
next time ask him if he is from england.Originally posted by wisefool83:Same here. Everytime I go up taxi and I speak proper Chinese, taxi driver will ask me, "Are you from China?".
Originally posted by rathcycle:picking on his english huh![]()
chinese is a race,
mandarin is a language.![]()
Ts goes to Geylang/Joo Chiat very often har.....?Originally posted by banzie:I speak very good pronouced Chinese one lor... and very good english... very good with my talking and language...
Where exactly is that??? Chinatown, Geylang or nowadays the heartland..?Originally posted by FireIce:i got mistaken for china girl or taiwan girl many times oredi......
lol i dont think so, cos if he does go GL often, it would be more action, less talking.Originally posted by :Ts goes to Geylang/Joo Chiat very often har.....?![]()
this is good english?Originally posted by banzie:I speak very good pronouced Chinese one lor... and very good english... very good with my talking and language...
He said 'speak', not 'write' so I suppose it's excusable.Originally posted by kopiosatu:this is good english?![]()