You broke the golden rule leh.Originally posted by bonkysleuth:Hi everyone.
So I got back my Physics test results yesterday and procured a B4. My worst showing ever. In previous tests and examinations, I'd usually fare better, with my grade between A1 and A2. In fact, I've only got an A2 for once. I've always believed that no matter how good you are in studies, results are only a by-product of learning. And that considering that efforts I have put in, at times, I do deserve that good payoff. And as per normal, for this particular test, I prepared for it one week before the test date. Practised and tried to understand certain happenings that Physics required us to know about.
Then when the results were released yesterday, I was all flabbergasted. Of course there was this kind of how-unlucky-I'm- feeling. My friends who used to perform less better surpass me, obtained A1s. I tried my hardest to fend off this feeling of 'inferiority'. Not that I feel like a jack-ass now, it's all because of the critics. Some friends, who did not even study for the test but scored better, came right up to me and ask,"Why did you under-perform this time round?" That, of course, I could offer no reason. It's definitely not because I didn't revise my work or whatsoever but simply because it might be due to my poor understanding or maybe a more obtuse thinking would be a streak of "bad luck" for this term. I mean, before the test started, I was the one who go around teaching them all the stuff they do not understand and can't even revise my own work properly. Not that i push the blame over to them because i can gain knowledge by teaching others.
But i really expect them to be more tactful in their remarks. so my whole day was glum and i feel so fucked up. my friends all gave me the "you-poor-thing look when i told them my grade after they inquired about it. One friend even came right up to say "i feel so sorry for you". You know what, these upset me even more because it makes me sound like some stupid fool. and another friend says, "for your standards, this kind of result is kinda lousy".... I feel all so demoralized afterwards. How can you not when people whom you have made sacrifices for simply tell you all this gibberish and nonsensical stuff after they have got a good performances?
Yea, this society requires us to perform better and better every time. cant we even be given a chance to make a comeback? I think academic results is on top of everyone's mind in this society.
What to do?? You're asking me??!Originally posted by bonkysleuth:Yea. I asked them to scram off from my seat after the crowd around me started to grow bigger. So I shifted to a quiet corner and revise my own work. but within some minutes, my friends were congregating around my space again. Tsk. what to do?
hi.. there are worst things out there then getting a b4..Originally posted by bonkysleuth:Hi everyone.
So I got back my Physics test results yesterday and procured a B4. My worst showing ever. In previous tests and examinations, I'd usually fare better, with my grade between A1 and A2. In fact, I've only got an A2 for once. I've always believed that no matter how good you are in studies, results are only a by-product of learning. And that considering that efforts I have put in, at times, I do deserve that good payoff. And as per normal, for this particular test, I prepared for it one week before the test date. Practised and tried to understand certain happenings that Physics required us to know about.
Then when the results were released yesterday, I was all flabbergasted. Of course there was this kind of how-unlucky-I'm- feeling. My friends who used to perform less better surpass me, obtained A1s. I tried my hardest to fend off this feeling of 'inferiority'. Not that I feel like a jack-ass now, it's all because of the critics. Some friends, who did not even study for the test but scored better, came right up to me and ask,"Why did you under-perform this time round?" That, of course, I could offer no reason. It's definitely not because I didn't revise my work or whatsoever but simply because it might be due to my poor understanding or maybe a more obtuse thinking would be a streak of "bad luck" for this term. I mean, before the test started, I was the one who go around teaching them all the stuff they do not understand and can't even revise my own work properly. Not that i push the blame over to them because i can gain knowledge by teaching others.
But i really expect them to be more tactful in their remarks. so my whole day was glum and i feel so fucked up. my friends all gave me the "you-poor-thing look when i told them my grade after they inquired about it. One friend even came right up to say "i feel so sorry for you". You know what, these upset me even more because it makes me sound like some stupid fool. and another friend says, "for your standards, this kind of result is kinda lousy".... I feel all so demoralized afterwards. How can you not when people whom you have made sacrifices for simply tell you all this gibberish and nonsensical stuff after they have got a good performances?
Yea, this society requires us to perform better and better every time. cant we even be given a chance to make a comeback? I think academic results is on top of everyone's mind in this society.
This is one rule that ought to be broken. Helping them solve the problems forces you to go further in depth to understand the problems. Sometimes they are able to raise out points that you have missed. Also it is a test to see if you really know how to solve the problem poised by your friends.Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:You broke the golden rule leh.
Rule: Before any tests/exams, try not to be near your friends or teach them. It will affect your overall performance and your champion mindset. Your mind should be sober and not fill with others' problem.
Yea, I also need a chance to make a comeback.Guess you're not the only one here.
Academic results has nothing to do with Singapore. Infact, academic competition happens everywhere. It's a matter of how hard u work to have a better future. I failed 4 out of 7 subjects during my sec4 mid year exam. But I managed to pace myself and earn 14 points for L1r5 for my Os. So everyone will at least experience failure once, and I'm sure it will motivate you to work even harder.Originally posted by sEphIrOth:welcome to singapore!
ahha....htey are trying to get u to teach them ya physics expertise while rendering you no time to study and then with less revision hence u get B4, what a devious scheme they used....killing one bird with two stones...Originally posted by bonkysleuth:Yea. I asked them to scram off from my seat after the crowd around me started to grow bigger. So I shifted to a quiet corner and revise my own work. but within some minutes, my friends were congregating around my space again. Tsk. what to do?
become a Quitter.....Originally posted by Meilin86:Welcome to Singapore again.....
We are always competitive where academic aspect is always focus by Kaisu parents. Getting good school by doing volunteer work. Get good grade. Parents cry like baby if their child can't get to a good school.
What to do?? I can't think of a solution. Disappointment......![]()
like having to worry for $$$/expenses driving lesson fees this and that....so TS dun complain liao...now u only focus on study only...me now worry about many things....so few yrs later see u on the 'outside world'....Originally posted by dinky1409:hi.. there are worst things out there then getting a b4..
seh! that sounds sooooo love hina... a keitaro reincarnation..Originally posted by Othello_Red:I flunked my sec3 exams pretty well. As in, I got distinctions, just from the wrong end. I fell one level or whatever you call it, from Express to NA. The thing is I never stopped believing in myself. I worked hard and never stopped chasing my dream, even when others felt it wasn't possible.
Now, I'm in uni reading law. If you asked me then if I could see myself being where I am now, I doubt I'd say yes. I'd wish, and I'd pray, but nothing more than that.
I'm not the only one who flunked once, and during a semi-crucial time, and came back from it. Plenty of others have, and you don't have to worry. As long as you're willing to work hard, you'll get there.