Long time ago i wanted to work for F&N after I ROD from the SAF with an impressive resume.Everything went ok in the selection process & the interview that followed except one person there didnt like my face and probably people with military background.She said that people with my background would find it hard to fit in taking orders from a civilian.She was irritating ,rude and testing me to the limit.At the end of that final interview I told her take the job and shove it....Well that is life for the interviewer and the interviewee>Knnccb I can take orders from any kind of human being/monsters as long as it is not an asshole and that was what I actually told herOriginally posted by FailureOfTheNation:I am about to graduate in few months' time so I started sending my resume out in hopes of securing a job before I graduate
So this major telecommunication company in Singapore gave me a call and asked me down for an interview the next day. I couldn't make it on the day they proposed so I tried to reschedule it with them at a later date.
But they insisted on the next day and said that the position was an urgent one. Urgent one? But I wasnt available immediately leh. I told them that. But they insisted its ok and asked me to come down the next day evening and I agreed.
The next day:
Feeling werid, I gave a call back and emphasized that I won't be available immediately, and she said its ok. Ok so I proceeded to prepare myself and put on my formal attire, and off I went.
Halfway there, they called me again and said that the interview has been cancelled!! Leaving me stranded all decked out in my formal wear!
Reason was I am not suitable. HUH?? Shortlist me liao then next day say I'm not suitable??
I know this company provides sucky broadband service which is always slow, but I never knew their HR and recruitment procedures are equally sucky as well!
Haiz!
i think you just proved her right.Originally posted by Short Ninja:Long time ago i wanted to work for F&N after I ROD from the SAF with an impressive resume.Everything went ok in the selection process & the interview that followed except one person there didnt like my face and probably people with military background.She said that people with my background would find it hard to fit in taking orders from a civilian.She was irritating ,rude and testing me to the limit.At the end of that final interview I told her take the job and shove it....Well that is life for the interviewer and the interviewee>Knnccb I can take orders from any kind of human being/monsters as long as it is not an asshole and that was what I actually told her![]()
ermm its not them.. think red bro.. think redOriginally posted by countdracula:you should write to the st forum....would be nice to see how starhub replies...
this was what they told me. they said that becoz its an urgent position so that the interviewer was willing to wait for me AFTER WORKING HOURS to conduct the interview..Originally posted by Fatum:which "Major telco" conducts interviews in the evening ? .....
I think you've been had bro ....
think she jealous u look better than her ba.. hahaOriginally posted by Cool-gal:mine was humiliation lor.
i went for the 2nd inter of a jewellery company, normally 2nd inter means higher chance.
upon seeing me, the fat HR ah soh, ask me to do a brief introduction of myself which i did, during the inter. she seems like picking on me, saying cant pay me the same salary like my old company blah blah, i mean WTH, i never ask for the same salary wad? wads her problem actually man.
the best is, she said i was too petite to wear their uniform thus bring out the professionalism of their company reputation.
i felt so humiliated but i just "REN!!!", cos i dun wan to be seen as a bad mannered person, so i politely say, "ok, understood", smile and leave.
she is so fat n old somemore want to say ple...![]()
x2, thy want to see how u settle down or cool down the situation.Originally posted by Nikar2:u all really fools.
at interviews, they will do their best to break your confidence.
just smile and reply calmly, why get so act up? they'll only see you're insecure?
the best jobs are always like that: tough to get (insane interviews etc.) but once you're in, imagine the salary and benefits etc.
they always like that, pour cold water, say salary will be very low, no benefits, say you'll get raped on the job, also say must work lots of OT with no pay....in the end, you realize it's all false.
lol. last part damn funny sia.Originally posted by noahnoah:I went to Sony interview before
Then this manager dressed so high class
started talking to me about japanese culture
If late one time give chance
if late two time give letter
if later four time please pack up and go
and when see jap customer if can please bow also
I mean nabei
I am coming for interview not to be a japanese
or to learnt their culture
I was almost going to ask the lady
Then do i have to learnt how to eat sushi too
singtel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Originally posted by FailureOfTheNation:ermm its not them.. think red bro.. think red![]()
Yes, and I am proud of it cuz it not about the job but about making a stand and having a backbone to say what you think is not right.Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:i think you just proved her right.
I agree that it is the norm in the selection process but when it becomes a personal attack I dont think I could ever work for that kind of people or atmosphere for long so might as well not waste my time and everyone else.Originally posted by LazerLordz:The interview is meant to be intentionally asinine and awful for certain positions.![]()