If your son like that my nephew how?Originally posted by Chin Eng:Today newspaper forum
My son, a top student, returned home shattered after difficult PSLE maths paper
Letter from GUO WEIFU
THIS yearÂ’s PSLE mathematics paper has caused many students undeserved anguish. Their reactions, including that of the good and gifted ones, were one of despair and discouragement upon encountering problem sums that were set beyond their capabilities. Some even broke down right after the examination.
My son is in a top class. Mentally strong and confident in mathematics, he returned shattered boy after the exam.
I immediately checked with friends and teachers from other classes and schools, and the same story was heard.
Although schools have been equipping pupils with the skills of applying mathematical concepts, many could not complete half or more of the problem sums.
Is there a huge gap between expectations and ability? In the mind of a child, he has either failed or done badly. With his confidence ripped by the mathematics paper, how can a child recover in less than 24 hours to face the next paper?
Tearing children apart mentally at a developmental stage snuffs out the joy of
learning. The Singapore Examinations and Assessment Board (SEAB) had previously said “the exams were a means to differentiate students of diverse abilities by setting questions of varying difficulty levels”.
It stated that an examination paper should be comparable in difficulty from one year to the next and “teachers know how to prepare their students for the examinations”.
SEAB also stated that different teams of experienced setters, moderators and examiners conduct several rounds of checking of each question and for the paper as a whole.
The fact different teams are involved is no consolation as it may be a systemic failure from pegging the paper at too high a standard.
For some parents and students, education is seen as a source of mental torture. All I ask is this: Please give the children of Singapore the confidence to face their future with a lionÂ’s heart.
Whaddaya think???
your gf just 12 ah.....Originally posted by jeremy89632:ai ya.. now the parents very..
My gf scored 245+ for PSLE.. It is already considered very good already. Then,her father wasnt quite happy.. Said that all must score A*. because 2 subjects A* and 2 subject A.. <- Think so..
Her parents want her to go into very very very good school.. I think it is crazy one lor.
Moral:Parents!! Dont pressure your kids!!
Originally posted by a_splash:your gf just 12 ah.....
He said scored mah..Originally posted by a_splash:your gf just 12 ah.....
i hope that is 6 years agoOriginally posted by jeremy89632:ai ya.. now the parents very..
My gf scored 245+ for PSLE.. It is already considered very good already. Then,her father wasnt quite happy.. Said that all must score A*. because 2 subjects A* and 2 subject A.. <- Think so..
Her parents want her to go into very very very good school.. I think it is crazy one lor.
Moral:Parents!! Dont pressure your kids!!
i agreed very much on this. text book no teach = dun know how to do. remind me of 1 of my friend when we are in australia exercise wallaby. he see all of us chewing bubble gum and blowing bubble. then come and ask us how do we do that. so 1 of us reply. you know why you dun know? cos the text book never write, teacher in school never teach therefore you don know. and he is in one of those top jc ppl.Originally posted by FireIce:comparing syllabus, u find that nowadays, it's easier and easier...
i dunno wat ppl are complaining about
and if there is something not in the textbook, ppl complain it's not taught......it's not tt it's not taught blatantly, but testing on ur analytical and problem-solving skills (soft skills), which is unfortunately lacking in most of our ppl due to the assembly-line education system.... something off the norm and all gets farked......oni the true brainers stand out.......
You meant which year's PSLE sci paper? 2004 one? It was damn easy larhhs. I even scored A lorhhs, somemore anyhow do one. xDOriginally posted by kenn3th:i from monkey year de
killer sci paper![]()
but why ah
I rmb-ed 2003 science paper was the worst sci paper i ever didOriginally posted by BaoBei92:You meant which year's PSLE sci paper? 2004 one? It was damn easy larhhs. I even scored A lorhhs, somemore anyhow do one. xD
also never A*...still dare say dam easyOriginally posted by BaoBei92:You meant which year's PSLE sci paper? 2004 one? It was damn easy larhhs. I even scored A lorhhs, somemore anyhow do one. xD
Anyhow anyhow also get A, power lah you.Originally posted by BaoBei92:You meant which year's PSLE sci paper? 2004 one? It was damn easy larhhs. I even scored A lorhhs, somemore anyhow do one. xD
u say easy u get A. he say difficult he get A*Originally posted by BaoBei92:You meant which year's PSLE sci paper? 2004 one? It was damn easy larhhs. I even scored A lorhhs, somemore anyhow do one. xD
I wrote to The Singapore Examinations and Assessment Board (SEAB) a long time ago about the unfairness of "moderating" PSLE scores using the bell curve. They said that they do not do it. I pointed out to them that in one of the school's websites, the school published the methodology and mentioned that they use standard deviation techniques.Originally posted by unclebutcher:people are stupid. even if paper is difficult, they will still moderate. same for o levels. knn shattered simi lan jiao. last time i 2002 also come out A*. knn. hate this kind of over protective ignorant parents
2002 the math paper was damned easy la...=/Originally posted by unclebutcher:people are stupid. even if paper is difficult, they will still moderate. same for o levels. knn shattered simi lan jiao. last time i 2002 also come out A*. knn. hate this kind of over protective ignorant parents
Originally posted by Chin Eng:Today newspaper forum
My son, a top student, returned home shattered after difficult PSLE maths paper
Letter from GUO WEIFU
THIS yearÂ’s PSLE mathematics paper has caused many students undeserved anguish. Their reactions, including that of the good and gifted ones, were one of despair and discouragement upon encountering problem sums that were set beyond their capabilities. Some even broke down right after the examination.
My son is in a top class. Mentally strong and confident in mathematics, he returned shattered boy after the exam.I immediately checked with friends and teachers from other classes and schools, and the same story was heard.
Although schools have been equipping pupils with the skills of applying mathematical concepts, many could not complete half or more of the problem sums.
Is there a huge gap between expectations and ability? In the mind of a child, he has either failed or done badly. With his confidence ripped by the mathematics paper, how can a child recover in less than 24 hours to face the next paper?
Tearing children apart mentally at a developmental stage snuffs out the joy of
learning. The Singapore Examinations and Assessment Board (SEAB) had previously said “the exams were a means to differentiate students of diverse abilities by setting questions of varying difficulty levels”.
It stated that an examination paper should be comparable in difficulty from one year to the next and “teachers know how to prepare their students for the examinations”.
SEAB also stated that different teams of experienced setters, moderators and examiners conduct several rounds of checking of each question and for the paper as a whole.
The fact different teams are involved is no consolation as it may be a systemic failure from pegging the paper at too high a standard.
For some parents and students, education is seen as a source of mental torture. All I ask is this: Please give the children of Singapore the confidence to face their future with a lionÂ’s heart.
Whaddaya think???
This is definitely a looonngg thread..Originally posted by Lorry`:![]()
shattered <-----
next time go work kena scolded by boss then how?
this parent also laughable (the last sentence in red)![]()