It was a sturdy table.Originally posted by toyota-corolla:Walao eh, if sway, all watches drop on the floor, the watches value drop likesiao.
From $165k to $16.50![]()
No offence har, but $165k whopping huge amount lea.![]()
how much tat cost? i love the designOriginally posted by DrAlienology:this one look pretty classy.. but i can't afford it![]()
christmas is a season of giving leh.. anyone? i have been a good boy this year..![]()

Very beautiful, I like.Originally posted by GenX:
Nice?
not bad. but again, no money.Originally posted by GenX:
Nice?
Of cos niceOriginally posted by GenX:
Nice?
Hello Ged ! Nong Time No See Aye ! Hopes everything doing well back in down under !Originally posted by Gedanken:Fair comment, all of it. Quartz watches are certainly more accurate than mechanical watches; chronometer standards for automatic movements are -4 to +6 seconds every 24 hours, and cheap quartz watches can easily exceed those standards. However, as you've noted, automatic watches do have their allure, and high-end watch collectors tend to go for those on account of the higher manufacturing standards required.
As for the alignment issue, it's a matter of manufacturing quality, and TAG, unfortunately, is not known for that. I'm not too impressed with their servicing standards either. One of my fellow watch collectors took a chanceon a TAG, and when he sent it for service, they poliched the case till it was completely out of shape - he raised the roof and they finally changed the case on the watch two months later.
That's one of the key areas in which you'll find a difference between lightweights like TAG and serious players like Rolex. When I send my Rolexes in for service, what I get back is a virtually brand-new watch with a one-year warranty.
Anyway, I've noted that snobbish started the thread with the issue about matching the watch with the outfit. I think my watches do a more than adequate job in this respect:
It's not just suits that they go well with, either:
Originally posted by Gedanken:Nice to hear that you mentioned the Sinn 156 =) *thumbs Up*
Ah, the Ingeneuir - that's a very respectable bit of engineering. Be advised, though, that it's a very chunky watch, so if you're not into oversized watches it won't be your thing. Within IWC's price bracket (and they're nowhere near Patek), have a look at Zenith for good value as well.
Now, I don't know about dream watches - the best definition is the next one I'm going to get. With the US dollar so weak against the Australian dollar, my next one ought to be the Rolex 116710 within the next few months:
I'd love to get my hands on one of these Comex Subs, but seeing as how there are only 120 of them worldwide, they come at a premium - my mate paid $55,000 for this one:
In the meantime, though, my humble collection stands at:
As for TAG-Heuer, they're a complete waste of money. Pathetically poor rework on run-of-the-mill ETA movements, and their service is even worse - to anybody who knows the first thing about watches, TAG says you care more about the badge than the watch. I wouldn't touch them with a barge pole. If you're in that price bracket, look at Oris instead - they make much better watches for a slightly lower price than TAG.
As for Franck Muller, my God, what a waste of time - pun intended. Crazy Hours is completely useless - if you wanted complications, look at Patek Philippe, JLC or even the good old Sinn 156.
Just a tip - if you give half a damn, forget quartz.
Nice set up of watches ... Was this in Melbourne ?Originally posted by Gedanken:I guess you wouldn't want to see $165,000 worth of watches on one table then.
Hey, day, date, chrono with three counters plus a GMT hand, how could I not mention it?Originally posted by one-niner:Nice to hear that you mentioned the Sinn 156 =) *thumbs Up*
Yup, we got some of the guys together when one collector from Adelaide popped over the the Melbourne Rolex Service Centre to get his Comex Sub certified by them - it's in the top right-hand corner next to the Milgauss.Originally posted by one-niner:Nice set up of watches ... Was this in Melbourne ?
Nice Sinn 156 ... Great to see that people are sinning after the old lemania movements !!
Hmm, tough one - I'm not too familiar with watchmakers in SG. Maybe pop over to Monster Time or Passions, have a chat with them and see who they recommend.Originally posted by one-niner:She has another Zenith which she sworn that she will not bring in for servicing there..Any 3rd party to recommend ?