That's the way the earth and anything else on it works.Originally posted by FireIce:nature's check on human population
humans bully earth
earth taking revenge
No need, lah!Originally posted by maurizio13:Suggest TS save the trouble of constructing an ark and move to Tibet.![]()
It's hard to predict nature, like weather. Scientist can estimate 30cm to 1m, but if it's more than TS has to swim to Tibet liao.Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:No need, lah!
The article you quoted mentioned a rise in sea level of only 1 to 3 feet, right? Just have everyone living in high rises (HDB flats, condos, etc.) move up one floor. Problem solved.
Even if that happens, you can be sure the government will still find a way to erect ERP gantries to collect money from private gondolas.Originally posted by maurizio13:Also how are we going to travel to work? Maybe we will end up like Venice, have those gondoliers ferry us to work. Kewl.............
Hehehe
Hahaha....Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Even if that happens, you can be sure the government will still find a way to erect ERP gantries to collect money from private gondolas.
I thot it is about natural disasters, how can it be human's fault???Originally posted by Hello Kitty:all humans' fault.
Some scientists are sourcing for Methane Hydrates Motherhole. If it's really there, it might solve the fossil fuel shortage crisis temporarily.Originally posted by maurizio13:Abstract from Natural Disasters - Patrick L. Abbott
......What global changes are likely in the twenty-first century? Significant melting of: 1) mountain glaciers, 2) the edges of Greenland ice sheet, and 3) the West Antartic ice sheet. In the Artic, significant melting of sea ice and permafrost will occur and forests will advance north inside the Arctic Circle. As ice melts and seawater warms and expands, global sea level will rise from 1 to 3 feet (30cm to 1m). Some regions on Earth will become hotter and drier, others will become cooler and wetter. Agricultural productivity will increase in some areas and decrease in others. For example, recurrent, severe summer droughts are expected in the grain-growing middle of the United States.
A major climatic shift will occur if the present deep ocean circulation system is altered (Figure 9.3). At present, the circulation involves sinking of salty water in the North Atlantic Ocean, but this could stop due to inflow of fresh water from melting glaciers...........
http://www.enviroliteracy.org/article.php/545.html
You better pray that the methane hydrates at the bottom of the ocean doesn't get release into the atmosphere. Methane hydrates are 21 times stronger than carbon dioxide in trapping heat, afew degrees above normal and the methane hydrates could melt. There are 15 trillion tons of methane hydrates on the sea floor today, if it melts global temperature will increase dramatically.
http://www.realclimate.org/index.php?p=227
global warmin has resulted in more natural disasters.Originally posted by angel7030:I thot it is about natural disasters, how can it be human's fault???