Hmm,what i know is believe in yourself what you think you are right go ahead!You can plan 10years,20years,30years also. I believe gaming will go abit far how long don't know.Originally posted by lene321:Basically I do have an actual interest in Game Design and Development, and I'm not just there to slack. However, I'm really wondering what kind of future I'd have since there's only one gaming company in Singapore.
Furthermore, at the moment there is no option to further your studies in this in Singapore, and I'd have to go overseas in order to do so. The problem is that my parents arn't exacly rich, so I'm really wondering if it's feasible for me to take up this course. I'm really really interested in it.
Anyone can provide some insights?give me advice or provide some insights?
Does this mean that the Dynasty Warriors series will be published in a Singlish version?Originally posted by Deino:I heard that KOEI is gonna open a branch here
i seen those projects that IDA gave grants to, not very promising.Originally posted by marcolow:I believe that IDA actually seeks to position Singapore as a Digital Game Hub in Asia, even though this is definitely low on their list of priorities, for now.
When the Next Generation National Broadband Network is fully online in 2015, the gaming scene will undoubtedly receive a significant boost, so it definitely makes lots of sense to go into the field of game design
All the best!
maybe they will make KIASU Warriors or Dynasty Chee Ko Pek(Did i spell it right?)Originally posted by marcolow:Does this mean that the Dynasty Warriors series will be published in a Singlish version?![]()
The game GTA Singapore won't work because you carry the gun and walk on the streets like in GTA III, will already get you 5 stars. Further more what missions can they have selling illegal CDs and staring competitions?Originally posted by Deino:maybe they will make KIASU Warriors or Dynasty Chee Ko Pek(Did i spell it right?)
Or maybe they are gonna make a game based on our country......
Imagine the chaos if they rockstar made gta singapore
Make it fictional...the map is based on Singapore lah but.....it would be so cool.....imagine hijacking an mrt in the game or something....haha.....ofcourse whoever who try to do that in real life after playing the game wan to kena wanOriginally posted by Eternal-fire:The game GTA Singapore won't work because you carry the gun and walk on the streets like in GTA III, will already get you 5 stars. Further more what missions can they have selling illegal CDs and staring competitions?![]()
GTA Singapore....Originally posted by Deino:maybe they will make KIASU Warriors or Dynasty Chee Ko Pek(Did i spell it right?)
Or maybe they are gonna make a game based on our country......
Imagine the chaos if they rockstar made gta singapore
http://www.sp.edu.sg/SPweb/appmanager/home/default?_nfpb=true&linkNode=/BEA%20Repository/FutureStudent/Courses/Design/FullTime/DiplomaInGamesDesignDevelopment/YourFuture&T17004799711148618167876_actionOverride=/cmsTools/extension/content/main/link&_windowLabel=T17004799711148618167876&_pageLabel=SP_ABT_C_FTD_MICT_GDDOriginally posted by lene321:Basically I do have an actual interest in Game Design and Development, and I'm not just there to slack. However, I'm really wondering what kind of future I'd have since there's only one gaming company in Singapore.
Furthermore, at the moment there is no option to further your studies in this in Singapore, and I'd have to go overseas in order to do so. The problem is that my parents arn't exacly rich, so I'm really wondering if it's feasible for me to take up this course. I'm really really interested in it.
"The course, from the looks of it, has pretty shallow future. Because digital media is a wide variety of medium, it also serves as a weakness as students learn everything but at the end of the day they realise that they are not specialised in any. The course forces students to learn so many different modules that half will be discarded upon entering the second year. I honestly regretted joining this course upon realising the time IÂ’d be wasting studying the useless modules.
last time i was doing html then my maid ask me wad i doing, i say html then she replied wif a "learn 4 wad? can earn $$ meh?" i wasnt angry, mayb cuz i hear such things too much le until no big deal. realli the truth mah, DDM, or shld i say media, has NO FUTURE in spore or anywhr else. i seriouslly dun noe y SP takes in so many media students when there is no demand 4 it. maybe cuz e previous generation so stupid go take media den they're jobless so govt pity them n set up more media courses so they can b teachers.
gd thing is more courses = more students = more sch fees so media teachers oso get job n e economy will look better then. in the end they benefit, sch benefit, govt benefit, spore economy benefit but WE lose out.
so ddm learn le can do wad?
3D Animation nxt time can do wad? make "Zodiac: the race continues" or "Legend Of The Sea 2"ah?
Video Production leh? even lecturer herself say b4, wan to take video shld go NP. NP now has HD cameras while SP still using pathetic DV camcorders. oso evrytime got wad event on tv, NP name is always above SP de whether is sponsoring or partnering. so pathetic hor? worse is NP's film and media studies is supported by mediacorp.
HTML learn le nxt time can make websites, yay! but for who leh? nowadays who dunno how to create website? its more of a freelance job and have no stable income. which company redesigns their website everyday?
JAVA worse, learn le oso dunno can do wad nxt time. ya, lecturer say can be programmer, program my ass la
other than ddm, audio technology, which happens to b my 3rd choice, has even lesser future. whr to work aftertat? hype records? tats all. local singing market so small onli got joi chua, stefani sun, tanya chau etc, so dun need so much audio editors.
worse is games design course. spore can dream of making US hit games like maple leave or little fighter, at the most they'll work for Nestle to design pathetic children games distributed to kids for free wif evry purchase of Nestle.
although im interested in vid, interest and reality got difference. its cuz of interest that i joined this course n i was damm wrong. if onli i were more realistic and practical then cuz media in singapore is like so small and we have hundreds and hundreds of pple fighting for a spot in mediacorp.
forget the crap tat the govt pumping millions into media in the future la cuz wun happen de. its juz a pity tat i dint see this while picking sp courses. now regret oso no use le, too late le. its not i like to complain without trying hard or like to rundown media and im an ass for saying all these but its juz the sad truth unless u r extremely extremely extremely extremely super talented or rich.
eh tell u. games design dun need qualification. wad u need is a portfolio to land u a job.Originally posted by lene321:Basically I do have an actual interest in Game Design and Development, and I'm not just there to slack. However, I'm really wondering what kind of future I'd have since there's only one gaming company in Singapore.
btw ah duckie ah...still dunno whos ur lecturer lehOriginally posted by Darkness_hacker99:http://www.sp.edu.sg/SPweb/appmanager/home/default?_nfpb=true&linkNode=/BEA%20Repository/FutureStudent/Courses/Design/FullTime/DiplomaInGamesDesignDevelopment/YourFuture&T17004799711148618167876_actionOverride=/cmsTools/extension/content/main/link&_windowLabel=T17004799711148618167876&_pageLabel=SP_ABT_C_FTD_MICT_GDD
From SP website.
Last time my POA teacher is also study game designer de. If I am not wrong, she's lecturing this diploma, but not sure which module..
She went overseas and make games.. etc.
Heard from her.. it's really a good business.
Go ahead with your interest. If you feel you like this, then do this diploma. After graduation, go overseas and advance your studies.![]()
Can I ask...what kind of job would you be able to land in the future? How good would it be to sustain you for your whole life too?Originally posted by lageihsif:so bottomline is, if u think u can and is willing to work, then join this course.
and yes im from this course.