Me and my good friend for 13 years is one good example...
No problem at all.
I'm english educated and hang out with chinese educated people.
They affectionately call me ang moh beng.
I call them my ah beng and ah lian friends.
They fall over laughing at my attempts to speak mandarin and argue endlessly over whether I pronounced a word right. (I feel I do pronounce chinese words without an accent, and they just assume that any chinese word that comes out of my mouth is not quite right).
I correct their often horribly mangled english.
I make fun of them for mixing green tea with their Martell. They make fun of me for not knowing the difference between chee kuey, kuey pie tie, and god knows what other kinds of kuey. (Okay now I know what is chee kuey and kuey pie tie).
No problem at all.
why not? ![]()
Originally posted by lifeissian:As per topic lo...
Can chinese educated people ( i.e people who converse in Chinese, study mostly cheena school) clique with English educated people? (speaks English at home, studies in english schs like SJI)
On the basis that they haf nice characters that is...
Is it possible? It sum how seems to me that their lifestyle vary too much to haf much to share with one another..
Wad do u think?
Originally posted by patgoh:Please stop using the word cheena.!!!!! UNDERSTAND ? You Malay or Indian ? Please mind your words. patgoh
wad's wrong? ![]()
It's not condesending wad.. Ok at least to me..
Originally posted by lifeissian:wad's wrong?
It's not condesending wad.. Ok at least to me..
Originally posted by patgoh:If you dont know the meaning, pls dont use it. U may kenna whack by some Chinese if you utter this word in front of them. patgoh
I tink it's u that is being too sensitive. I've used that word alot of times to my frens they also just laughed it off. ![]()
So wads the meaning care to enlighten me?
Originally posted by lifeissian:
I tink it's u that is being too sensitive. I've used that word alot of times to my frens they also just laughed it off.
So wads the meaning care to enlighten me?
Originally posted by patgoh:Go ask your parents.
i dun bother dem with stupid lil questions like this. I've used that word in front of dem before and they were perfectly fine with it. ![]()
i personally think that it's juz the difference in language that we use..so wad if ur eng is better or chinese is better?...i juz dun get why most english-speaking peeps look down on to those ppl who doesnt really speak eng de...cant stand it....i think chinese ed and eng ed can be good friends but wont be as gd as chinese ed and another chinese ed de bah..after all their interest may be different. ...
Cannot click meh ? When it comes to money n alchohol can one.. i know de. he he.. no problem. Confirm can clique. As long as got 1 guy that is very good in english and chinese. He can smooth it out even more. he he