i think this principal a bit too 'on' already.
but yes, a few years ago i did surf the muis website for fun and chanced upon this school. was shocked yet impressed that all 8 stalls in this school are halal. in my mind i was thinking, that's good. muslim students in that school can eat about anything and everything in that school. in my pri, sec schs and jc, muslims could only buy food from either one of the two muslim stalls.
on the other hand, saying that there shudnt be any non-halal food in the canteen is also too extreme. it's limiting what people can eat in a public place. for a kid to hide pork floss bun in the pocket is saddening. shows what students there do just so he wouldnt get caught. still, for pri sch kids who only spend abt 5-6hrs in sch minimum, does eating non-halal food give them an added energy burst or something?
trust me, any muslim would get offended if someone eats a nicely roasted pig on a table at banquet foodcourt anywhere.
so my point is,............
it's hard to achieve a balance in singapore where either group wants to "look superior".
Principal forgot to check with his boss whether his unilateral ruling would be allowed.
Teachers? They probably don't want to offend their boss (ie the Principal).
Islam is a religious ideology that is very intolerant of non-Muslims. Now we have a school pricicpal in a secular school who is imposing a form of shariah law.
Non-Muslims have to tell Muslims that they are not going to put up any more of the Muslim habits that is going to discriminate non-Muslims. If they want to be fussy about their food go to a madrassah school in Indonesia or Malaysia.
I think is becos of those elite and scholar that gov are installing which screw up our system more. Can't they used their brain more?
I think she is stupid enough to set up a halal zone in sg. Even dog can think better than her! Who appoint her? Stupid MOE. Our elite minster who draw million dollar salary.
think we should not over react , be thankful that the moslem here are malays not pakistanis that;s more radical
What this Principal did was wrong. MOE stepped in quite quickly to rectify the situation. The Principal already publicly apologised. Be more forgiving lah.
I have no respect for religion.
Originally posted by lageihsif:boon lay garden primary? that's my pri sch!
my one too leh... knn...the sch to fcuk up now ar??? .. hmmm.. but..... it was fcuk up when i was there too leh... wah.. good lah never improved...![]()
Originally posted by crosshairs:I have no respect for religion.
i have no respect for crosshairs, they're only useful for killing people
Originally posted by buffered:sorry catknight. chinese muslim here. along with 7 neighbours who are chinese muslims.
Islam is not a malay religion mind you. Its universal. U’re hearing this from ur fellow Chinese.
Singapore Kid u really a kid? dont spout nonsense please.If im very intolerant i would have alot of malay friends alrdy and ignored my fellow Chinese but currently im still mingling more with my race cause of our talk cock frequency.
thanks.
its not everyday i get to hear from a chinese muslim, only ate with a group once at the muslim converts place thingy near geylang during ramadhan......
Separation of church and state, that's the main crux of this century,,if the muslims can resolve this ..
Religion is what you make out of it but then again the theology and doctrine of the faith is important too...
Originally posted by Deino:i have no respect for crosshairs, they're only useful for killing people
Thank you. You have no idea what that means to me.
Originally posted by crosshairs:
Thank you. You have no idea what that means to me.
wakakakakaka.....![]()
you do know i meant it as a joke right?
Originally posted by Catknight:Today ST news talk about a Pri school Boon Lay having halal foodspace zone that no one able to bring non halal food into school canteen, but later overturn as a mistake…
The school has 20% moslems,while one has no problems having all the foodstalls being halal but not able to bring non halal food in seems weird and unsingaporean, wonder what you guys think of this??
Basically, i do not blame the principal nor the the assistant principal, who is also a muslim, the ideology and duty of a muslim is to spread the good religion as much as possible for the good and not for bad intention. His intention is deem good but not really appreciated nor tolerated by our multi cultural society.
If you will to look at other schs here, such as catholic high, saint this and that, aren't nuns, teachers and even priests preaching and selling souls on christianity in those schools and yet the public made no sound out of it.
So where do we stand.? I am not an advocate of any religion, but I have to respect all, and in respecting, i seek equality with all concern. The principal had apologised and reversed his decision, what about those schools preaching and even giving out religion books to student of buddhist or other religion parents, are they going to apologise???
Originally posted by angel7030:Basically, i do not blame the principal nor the the assistant principal, who is also a muslim, the ideology and duty of a muslim is to spread the good religion as much as possible for the good and not for bad intention. His intention is deem good but not really appreciated nor tolerated by our multi cultural society.
If you will to look at other schs here, such as catholic high, saint this and that, aren't nuns, teachers and even priests preaching and selling souls on christianity in those schools and yet the public made no sound out of it.
So where do we stand.? I am not an advocate of any religion, but I have to respect all, and in respecting, i seek equality with all concern. The principal had apologised and reversed his decision, what about those schools preaching and even giving out religion books to student of buddhist or other religion parents, are they going to apologise???
there's a difference between giving out religious books and enforcing a strict halal food policy. if you dun like, u can dun listen and throw the books away. But enforcing the halal food policy means there can't even bring their home-cooked lunchbox into school. u are forced to eat the food in the canteen, if not, then wait till you go home for lunch....
Originally posted by pigsticker:there's a difference between giving out religious books and enforcing a strict halal food policy. if you dun like, u can dun listen and throw the books away. But enforcing the halal food policy means there can't even bring their home-cooked lunchbox into school. u are forced to eat the food in the canteen, if not, then wait till you go home for lunch....
Ok fair enough, i accept your explanation, so, the principal of boon lay garden sch can now give out islam teaching books and preach in mass as he likes.
nice one ![]()
Originally posted by angel7030:If you will to look at other schs here, such as catholic high, saint this and that, aren't nuns, teachers and even priests preaching and selling souls on christianity in those schools and yet the public made no sound out of it.
Well, for such schools, be it Methodist, Catholic, Anglican, etc, MOE already given them the Green Light for religious classes and students who're not comfortable with it can opt out of these classes.
Thus it's unfair to lump the incident with the above mentioned without clearing the misunderstandings.
As for what TS has mentioned, the report was published in ST and hence it's not a "un-supported post".
Originally posted by photo_seeker:Well, for such schools, be it Methodist, Catholic, Anglican, etc, MOE already given them the Green Light for religious classes and students who're not comfortable with it can opt out of these classes.
Thus it's unfair to lump the incident with the above mentioned without clearing the misunderstandings.
As for what TS has mentioned, the report was published in ST and hence it's not a "un-supported post".
Oh! so nuns and priests can be teachers there too ya. As a neutral student with a young naive mind, sooner or later will be opted in. That's is the way to reach out.
Fair enough, in another words, the principal of BL garden pri school can now apply for permit to start religious classes and to get imans and islamic teachers in too. And the those chinese one can get taoists and monks to be their teachers too. Fair?
Publish in newspaper does not mean it is supported, and our newspapers here is a monopolised news with no competition within a monopolised editing, there are many peoples with different views and opinons to it, it just that some just dun wish to comment and talk about it.
In here, we have to justify the issue, yes, the principal should have consider all concern before executing his decision, or perhap separate between halal and non halal food section. On the other hands, given the green light for religion teaching in schools, he should have applied for the right to spread his intention rather than enforcing.