Originally posted by rlsh07:
i do not think the standard of english is low though. i mean this is a forum where everyone come in to chill. so there is nothing wrong in typing wrong words or even having short form. this is not writing compo or anything. actually most singaporeans can write and speak proper english. i just want to ask though. are you a singaporean urself then?
U 100% corright!![]()
Originally posted by Lorry`:where do i watch the entire episode?
like what is the title or something?
Here you go, fellow singaporeans http://youtube.com/comment_servlet?all_comments&v=eYuIg7Tnc7g&fromurl=/watch?v%3DeYuIg7Tnc7g
These third grade celebrities who can't speak a proper sentence of English fluently are atrocious!
Originally posted by Rock^Star:Even if it weren't an ang mo criticising our English, it does take one sh.ithead to recognise another sh.ithead.
Our Singlish is perfect but mastery of English is found wanting.
Sadly and reluctantly, I agree with the Taiwanese.
Really? you agree with them? Do you pronounce 'thanks' as 'dance' then?
I'm sure i do not.
Originally posted by 798:i think at time we also guilty of making fun of PRC's mandarin slang.
frankly speaking it is due to culture diff which all of us must learn to accept.
But we do not do it on national tv. If you do, be prepared for a public outrage like this.
Originally posted by Short Ninja:They are trying to speak only American English,the last time I checked.....they were still trying.
Yes, they still are (confirmed that during my business trip there just a month ago).
Originally posted by blu_sky:But we do not do it on national tv. If you do, be prepared for a public outrage like this.
You'll be surprised. 'Maggi & Me' and 'My Sassy Neighbour' have had some very cliched and corny caricatures of cultures here and abroad. So where's the "public outrage"? I don't like those programmes but TVMobile makes them difficult to avoid.
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:You'll be surprised. 'Maggi & Me' and 'My Sassy Neighbour' have had some very cliched and corny caricatures of cultures here and abroad. So where's the "public outrage"? I don't like those programmes but TVMobile makes them difficult to avoid.
What 'Maggi & Me' and 'My Sassy Neighbour' ? what are those?
Even a local like myself have never watched or heard about them, you expect foreigners to be well-versed in those shows and hence be unhappy about them?
LOL!
Originally posted by blu_sky:What 'Maggi & Me' and 'My Sassy Neighbour' ? what are those?
Even a local like myself have never watched or heard about them, you expect foreigners to be well-versed in those shows and hence be unhappy about them?
LOL!
I don't watch Taiwanese variety shows either. ![]()
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:I don't watch Taiwanese variety shows either.
Ya, neither do i. But I've heard of that show "kang xi lai le" despite i have never watched a single episode. I heard it is widely screened in Asia, and quite popular in Singapore.
I heard from my friends that the episode was published in The New Paper, thats how i got wind of this incident. Strong protest has been going on in You-tube and affected celebrities' blogs now.
I still think Educated Singaporeans speak and write better English than the rest of Asia.Sometimes I see the Engrand in SGForum I oso scared![]()
I'm watching a taiwanese variety show on channel 8 now and there's this section called 瞎拼 ABC whereby someone is suppose to explain the chinese words in English and another person will guess.
Honestly, from this show, i don't think Taiwanese is any better in English. They spelled "gather" as "gether"
However, i do believe that there's still room for improvements for Singaporeans.
The Kang Xi is Coming is actually a interesting show.
The taiwanese entertainment scene is used to make fun of each other and their politicians.
I guess they are not aware that the show are being tuned in by sinkie that subscribed to starhub.
So, I believe they did not expect such a huge response from the sinkie netizens.
But, considering that most of they dun even know english, they are really not in a position to laugh at us.
Only thing they can ridicule us is that young singapore chineses are clueless as to the use of mandarin.
Originally posted by rlsh07:
i do not think the standard of english is low though. i mean this is a forum where everyone come in to chill. so there is nothing wrong in typing wrong words or even having short form. this is not writing compo or anything. actually most singaporeans can write and speak proper english. i just want to ask though. are you a singaporean urself then?
完全赞�
! ![]()
just now i watch the taiwan cny special programme on channel 8 their english is worse than singaporeans lor....
Originally posted by Mengna Lisa:just now i watch the taiwan cny special programme on channel 8 their english is worse than singaporeans lor....
that is true for most of them because even the exams they took in school is in chinese though.
Originally posted by OasisBlue:I'm watching a taiwanese variety show on channel 8 now and there's this section called 瞎拼 ABC whereby someone is suppose to explain the chinese words in English and another person will guess.
Honestly, from this show, i don't think Taiwanese is any better in English. They spelled "gather" as "gether"
However, i do believe that there's still room for improvements for Singaporeans.
there is always room of improvement for everyone though
they got the cheek to laugh at our English ... you guy should have heard them first ... I worked for a Taiwanese company before, these are some of their prononciation :
Eric = "Eric-ka"
Orange = " orange-g "
buffet = "butt fay "
These are some of them, I was laughing my sock off each I time I spoke to them ..
i read tat guy's blog n i feel tat if he sincerely feel tat if he's sincere in his apology .. he shld make a video n post it on youtube apologizing to all sg citizens ... (best is include those who were in the "kang xi lai le " show tat day) ....
i read in newspaper also.
for those who been to tw, im sure those taiwanese will tell u 'tw is better than sg in many ways except that singaporeans have a better passport and know how to speak english.'
it's v funny.. they can't even speak english well, yet they criticize us.
and they duno our culture and country well enough to make such comments.
Originally posted by OasisBlue:I'm watching a taiwanese variety show on channel 8 now and there's this section called 瞎拼 ABC whereby someone is suppose to explain the chinese words in English and another person will guess.
i saw it too..
i thought Zhu Xiao Tian would speak better english as he studied in Singapore before.. but he proved me wrong. Nai ge's part was v funny.
Originally posted by hao_hao:i read tat guy's blog n i feel tat if he sincerely feel tat if he's sincere in his apology .. he shld make a video n post it on youtube apologizing to all sg citizens ... (best is include those who were in the "kang xi lai le " show tat day) ....
I feel the apology should be on "Kang xi lai le" show itself. The show had already been aired and an impression had already been made to the taiwan general population. They should apologise there and made known to the taiwanese public of their misdoing.
lets just say that i've forgotten the number of times i've seen A-P-P-E-L on taiwanese variety shows.. not to mention the non-existence of english newspaper there..
the whole thing on that show was about ACCENT
Anyone watched corner with love? nice TW drama :D