Frontpage news on ST today (9/2/08)
* As a tribute to her, the next orangutan to be born at the Singapore Zoo shall be named Ah Meng Junior
Originally posted by xunmeng:Frontpage news on ST today (9/2/08)
* As a tribute to her, the next orangutan to be born at the Singapore Zoo shall be named Ah Meng Junior
That's good news ![]()
Her name will remain in our hearts ![]()
Ah Meng! ![]()
We should organise outing go for her memorial service. ![]()
President Nathan refer to Ah Meng as a he...and his speech was broadcasted to the world.
wahlao.
paiseh seh.
why no orangutan name after SGF?
like maybe FireIce or Jason ![]()
i liked ah meng lots when i saw her when i was a kid.
so beautiful. R.I.P
RIP ah meng.
R.I.P. Ah Meng...state funeral for her I guess...wonder where will she be buried...zoo? She was so cute when I was a kid...
Originally posted by Exige60:R.I.P. Ah Meng...state funeral for her I guess...wonder where will she be buried...zoo? She was so cute when I was a kid...
maybe the zoo will make a status of ah meng & placed her permanently at the entrance to remember her ![]()
How silly can the sinkie be ?
There was a memorial service to con people to go to the zoo.
The amazing thing is that there are actually 4000 fools who went to attend and cry for a monkey.
Sinkie are really foolish and have really nothing to do on sunday.
CNA report that 4,000 ppl turn up at the zoo to pay last respect to Ah Meng ![]()
Wonder if her children & grandchildren attend her funeral ![]()
rip ![]()
Originally posted by Medicated Oil:The amazing thing is that there are actually 4000 fools who went to attend and cry for a monkey.
WHAT???!!! 4000 people attended???!!!...I read in 2day's Sunday Times that they were expecting 200 (only) to come...![]()
an orang utan die so much drama mama
I'm sorry ..... but ..... fark ! ... it's just a blardy monkey ! .... ![]()
so many ppl cried. i wonder why?? i thought the zookeeper who took care of ah meng shud be the only one crying?
Originally posted by jay_rocks:so many ppl cried. i wonder why?? i thought the zookeeper who took care of ah meng shud be the only one crying?
Oh no, I had breakfast with ah meng a few times liao. As a young girl, whenever relatives or friends from overseas visited my Dad, he would book a date to have a bf with Ah Meng, so that is why most of us cry.
It part and parcel of our human emotion, there is nothing wrong to shed a few tears for someone you like, afterall, it is not sad tears, but tears of missing her, tears of happiness and joy that she could reach such a age with a wonderful farewell. I guess no orang utan in this world has ever live a life like she does, yet her contribution to our mankind suggested that we and ape can live together and love each others if only the condition is right and most importantly, if only we are more open to them (animals) in our emotion.
Cry Over Me ~~
I'm gettin too busy nowdays to visit thr forum as frequently now ~~~ V
MY screen is blue !!!
Channel NewsAsia - Monday, February 11
SINGAPORE: About 4000 people showed up at the funeral of Ah Meng, the Sumatran orang utan of Singapore Zoo, on Sunday morning.
Ah Meng, who died of old age on Friday, was a Singapore tourism icon as well as the face of the zoo for many years. She was 48 years old.
For two hours starting 9am, people from all walks of life queued up to pay their final respects to Ah Meng. Many of them were visibly upset.
The atmosphere was sombre. Strangers were sharing with each other their encounters with Ah Meng.
"It’s very sad. Every time (on) my son’s birthday, I come over here," said a member of the public who attended the funeral.
"Many years ago when we were small girls, we used to come to the zoo and look at Ah Meng," said another.
Ah Meng is survived by four children and six grandchildren.
Alagappasamy Chellaiyah, Ah Meng’s minder for 36 years, said: "All the 25 orang utans knew that something had happened because she (Ah Meng) died in the facilities. They knew that Ah Meng (was) gone. They were very quiet. Even the free ranging orang utans, they came, they refused to take food."
Judging from the turnout at the funeral, it is clear that Ah Meng had touched the hearts of many.
In 1992, she became the first and only non—human recipient of the Special Tourism Ambassador award.
Zoo officials, who were visibly distraught by Ah Meng’s death, said they will continue their work with Sumatran orang utans, who are critically endangered with only about 7,500 left in the world. — CNA/ac
Hi,
Ah Meng represents the collective memory of my generation (those born in 70s).
When we were growing up, many of our families were not well to do; Singapore back then also lacked many places of interest, one of the all time favourites being the zoo. An trust me, going to the zoo was a big deal! And a trip to the zoo wouldn't be complete without catching a glimsp of Ah Meng, or whichever orang utan we believed to be her. Many of us also read about the adventures of Ah Meng in our primary school textbook. In short, Ah Meng left indelible impressions on our young minds.
Anyway, I was truly saddened by Ah Meng's departure. I was amongst the 4000 odd "fools" who attended her memorial service. Din regret being a fool for that day though...bye bye Ah Meng! We will miss u.
Some pictures of the event on my gf's blog.
http://myitchyfingers.wordpress.com/
so got curry chicken at the funeral?
Originally posted by digicharat:so got curry chicken at the funeral?
nabei! ![]()