HE said he was just minding his own business waiting for a taxi by the road when he was attacked.
![]() |
A gang of about 20 youths wielding knives and sticks slashed and hit him ruthlessly.
Mr Terence Tan ended up with more than 20 slashes on his head, arms and back.
The worst part is, up to this day, the 26-year-old former logistics assistant doesn't know who his assailants are and why they attacked him.
A case of mistaken identity? No one knows. What lingers on are the physical and emotional scars.
Now, Mr Tan is afraid to go home - a three-room flat at Bedok Reservoir that he shares with his mother, 50, and his sister, 20, an undergraduate at Nanyang Technological University.
His father died four years ago.
Most of the time, Mr Tan is at his aunty's place in Siglap.
When he goes out, he makes sure someone goes along with him.
![]() |
'I get scared when I see crowds. It just reminds me of the attack,' Mr Tan said in Mandarin.
The incident occurred on 12 Jan. Mr Tan was waiting to get a taxi to go to Bugis Junction, when he saw groups of young people walking around the estate.
Mr Tan said: 'There were four or five groups, and they looked like they were searching for someone. Some were armed with knives, others had poles and umbrellas.
'One of them walked towards me with a knife, and I panicked. As I turned, I saw him jump at me. He then started to slash at my head.'
His attacker was soon joined by his friends, who started hitting and slashing at Mr Tan too. He fell to the ground and used his left arm to fend off the attack.
The brutal assault lasted five minutes before the youths ran off.
Mr Tan staggered off to look for help, blood streaming from his head. A passer-by helped him to call for an ambulance, and he was sent to Changi General Hospital.
'My mother saw me all bloodied and almost fainted. I also thought I would die because I was in so much pain,' he said.
He spent one week in hospital with two days in the intensive care unit. He had two cuts on his head, six on his arms, and numerous slashes on his back.
'I can't move two of my fingers. The doctor said that one of the nerves has been almost severed,' he added.
Mr Tan said he is not involved in gang-related activities and has not offended anyone lately.
The police said that no one has been arrested yet in connection with this case and they are still investigating.
Hope those 20 youths die horribly.
read this yesterday.........bloody hell....i think if i'm superman or something.....i'd break every one of their bones untill they cannot walk......that should show them how cruel the world could be when they do cruel deeds to the world.......darn....
why always a case of mistaken identity????
next time go out must wear a mask liao..
this one i dun think its a case of mistaken identity......
these youths are just doing this for the fun of it......
the police have been investigating these kinds of cases and i can tell you they won't get to catch the culprits even if they had a next life............
i click, but no image. issit a FF problem?
anyway.. i was watching this show called gangland, a documentary about usa gangs. u know the Bloods, one of their initiation rites is to go to train station, then slash someone's face one time.
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:i click, but no image. issit a FF problem?
anyway.. i was watching this show called gangland, a documentary about usa gangs. u know the Bloods, one of their initiation rites is to go to train station, then slash someone's face one time.
yeah...the usa is so full of it......
I have my doubt on this guy, 20 persons (even youth) can identify the wrong person???. I dun think so.
I think he must have really offended others seriously and badly. And since police are involved as hospital must had informed the police, he has to protect himself by claiming that he is innocent.
Originally posted by angel7030:I have my doubt on this guy, 20 persons (even youth) can identify the wrong person???. I dun think so.
I think he must have really offended others seriously and badly. And since police are involved as hospital must had informed the police, he has to protect himself by claiming that he is innocent.
well cases of mistaken identity happen a lot.
if its a case of mistaken identity, it would be highly disturbing.....
but if its a case of a gang rites thing, it would be even more highly disturbing......
and they say singapore is a disneyland with the death penalty.....
i dun find this place a disneyland at all......
Originally posted by Deino:if its a case of mistaken identity, it would be highly disturbing.....
but if its a case of a gang rites thing, it would be even more highly disturbing......
the death penalty is only used for cases of murder and drug trafficking mah.
gangsters need to be rehabitilated. some youths are ignorant.. that's why they joined. they don't have any friends apart from the gang.. these can be saved.
there are those also who chose this lifestyle knowing it would destroy them. these are idiots who cannot be saved.
Originally posted by aiglosicicle:well cases of mistaken identity happen a lot.
Well case of evading the police also alot ok. 20 youths with good eyesight can mistaken??
I think he can fool the police, but not me.
He knew the gang is after him when he did bad to them, he even evaded his own home to live in his aunt house.
Be smart abit ya.
Angel
Detective
CSI Singapore
Originally posted by Deino:if its a case of mistaken identity, it would be highly disturbing.....
you should never be a farmer...
because you should never cut down a whole tree because of 1 rotten fruit
A gang related incident,surely you dont expect the victim to talk about it?
Did it occur in the night or in the daytime?
Huh! disneyland??? WTH u toking?? mickey.
U are living in Capitaland ya.
Originally posted by angel7030:I have my doubt on this guy, 20 persons (even youth) can identify the wrong person???. I dun think so.
when one of them starts slashing away at someone, the rest will blindly start to slash at the person.
monkey see monkey do.
I can't see pic ![]()
somehow, lets not all jump to a conclusion, it could really be a case of a mistaken identity or a case of being in a wrong place at a wrong time...
maybe the gang was involved in a scuffle with another gang and were out for revenge but could not find them in vain and unfortunately took it upon the the dude..
But then again, if an ang moh or a tourists was attacked... i'm sure the police would have some results by now.. xD
Originally posted by digicharat:when one of them starts slashing away at someone, the rest will blindly start to slash at the person.
monkey see monkey do.
monkey also hold meeting before attacking another monkey. Do u think the 20 youth monkeys have no bigger monkeys to support and give order to them??
Originally posted by 4getmenot:somehow, lets not all jump to a conclusion, it could really be a case of a mistaken identity or a case of being in a wrong place at a wrong time...
maybe the gang was involved in a scuffle with another gang and were out for revenge but could not find them in vain and unfortunately took it upon the the dude..
But then again, if an ang moh or a tourists was attacked... i'm sure the police would have some results by now.. xD
Can u please press enter for your extra long sentences. Thank you
not my fault...the board shud have a word wrap function... maybe jason's working on it as we speak.. xD

poor guy.
stupid youths! they will get what they deserve!
& the police? what are they doing?
i think this puzzle me. 20 ppl with weapons just for one guy? doesnt really make sense. unless u knew ur victim is well protected or always in a group.
plus the report is not detail enough to suggest any conclusion.