Hey, are you talking about ankle socks or socks that go below the ankle? There's a difference, you know.
My school didn't allow the latter, but they allowed ankle socks and didn't give a damn if you wore them in rainbow colors. I don't think ankle socks look weird - it's just a matter of getting used to. Besides, it's cooler to wear ankle socks in our warm climate.
What's the purpose of wearing socks? Cover half of your calf or keep your feet comfortable from excessive friction with the shoe, as well as prevent eeky things from growing in your shoe? Duh.
I've got no idea what defines ankle socks for some people. Some wear their ankle socks real low, below their ankles. Some wear it just like what's it's for - around ankle area.
Feeling that it looks odd is just me.
tats wat youngsters like to do mah..u tell them tuck in they tuck out..u ask them tuck out they tuck in.
same logic..they jus wan things to be done oppositely mah..
plus singapore so hot.wear ankle socks feel nicer lor
i think everyone should have the freedom to do whatever they want.......
cant do in singapore..
will never happen
How does wearin ankle socks freakin reflect 'bad image' on the school and oneself??????
How? Tell me
And i wonder if people (teacher or whatever.... morons that is) judge a person (student) based on the length of his/her socks:
Normal socks........ hmmmmm good student.
Ankle socks................. HMMMMMMMMM this kid must be rebellious.
i had a few pairs of socks where the elastic had pretty much died. so no matter what, half the time, it would look as though i wasnt wearing socks. heehee =p
i dont think the teachers really cared. unless it's the really anal ones. or during spot checks. they usually just tell me to pull it up.
Originally posted by Ed11790:i think everyone should have the freedom to do whatever they want.......
limited freedom is the price we have to pay for peace.......
americans have loads of freedom........too much freedom is no good.......
singaporeans have to defend our own country.......wot some may learn from this is to appreciate the peace given......
americans bloody hell get freedom, go shoot people around.......living in that kind of society actually gives you less freedom......
becoz people have freedom, your freedom is limited to wot they could do to you and vice versa......hmmm.....wtf am i saying.........
i used to laugh inside when i see the saf posters but then i realise that unlike most societies in the world, we are the frontlines if anything were to happen.......unlike in other countries where people are being governed like dog to master.......if something were to happen, they could only react according to their master's call.......i oso dunno wth i'm talking about.....i feel so sleepy.....
To Mooku, good point. I forgot to mention that. My school does not allow ankle socks or socks that go below the ankle. And ankle socks are socks that just cover the ball of your ankle. They feel that ankle socks are unsightly. Are there any teachers here reading this??? Can you post your comments?
Wearing ankle socks is okay what. I don't really know why teachers are kicking a big fuss out of it.
I go against the flow and pull my socks up up.
but some the elastic die liao den drop den look like ankle sock :(
Then don't wear socks lor...
Public opinion does not matter truly!
What matters is the school's opinion! If you are in that particular school which says, "No ankle socks is allowed," then dont wear them loh. As the chinese saying goes what," every family has its own rules,every country has its own regulations" (pls translate it yourself) Too bad you are in the school that does not allow ankle socks even if you want to - you have to stick to the school's rules. If you want to wear ankle socks that badly, after school, go home, change out of your school uniform and wear the ankle socks until they stink also never mind.
When i first heard of the rule that schools banned students from wearing ankle socks, i'm actually kinda surprise. I'm like 'HUH why?!?' :/
Its just a pair of socks. Plain, white ankle socks. I have no idea why some schools want to make the extra effort to set a rule on it.
I even remember teachers asking guys to pull up their long pants to do spot check on their socks. I mean, is that necessary? :/ If they already covered the socks with their long pants, why bother? I don't think students who wears ankle sock is trying to do anything rebellious, or making them look bad.
This is one of the un-necessary rules in school imo.
Well, I think ankle socks are a silly fashion fad which has nothing to do with functionality, health or comfort. I will never wear ankle socks myself.
On the other hand, I don't see any reason for banning ankle socks. Although I don't like them, I do not feel that they are unsightly or reflect anything bad about the students who wear them or their school. As long as the students are wearing socks it is ok to me.
Last time my sec sch discipline mistress spot checks those students with socks shorter than 10 cm. And I'm one of them, so I kept pulling them high up and she went to measure my socks with a ruler. -.-
Some school rules are just simply useless. Duh.
anyway the current type of sch sock with words or logos or XXSS on it are those above the ankles, where the words and so can be seen, thats only for short pants and girls. those are the "highest" kind of to be worn these days, excluding soccer types. the lowest will be no socks.
unless u are working most guys will have their socks pulled to the max, but not for me they will "mess" my leg hair
To spike_jose, I dont think so. I dont think school mind the logos. What matters most to them is about how high the socks go. And to Daisuke-kun, agreed. My socks also slips down often :X
Sometimes it makes the back of your ankle black black de
ankle socks ok wad... feels cooler.
my sec sch has a "in between" solution..
now everyone muz wear school socks with school initials on it but the length of the socks is onli abt a few cm above the ankle.. so students happy, school happy sorta.
Originally posted by Vigelic:my sec sch has a "in between" solution..
now everyone muz wear school socks with school initials on it but the length of the socks is onli abt a few cm above the ankle.. so students happy, school happy sorta.
i tot most secondary schools have those socks.......
ya.. but then all the pple above talking abt all those wad 10cm socks.. so ugly can..
i dun think it would've mattered for higher secondary level guys co they use long pants wat......unless they wanna look like michael jackson ofcourse.....
The issue nowadays is why wearing ankle socks is unsightly. I think what is unsightly to these people are the revealing of their ankles. What do you guys think?