Im shocked at the insane prices those shops quote for their products, especially shops located at the first and second floor area. Im amazed at how they are able to quote prices 300-500% above what other shops sell without batting an eyelid. Also, when you ask for original products, they show you a compatible version and claim that its original....especially a certain store located at the entrance of the building.
I just went there to buy a charger for my NDS lite, most of the shops there had the cheek to quote me $25 for a compatible version and $40 for an original version. In the end I settled for $8 upstairs.
Do not go SLS to buy electronics or acessories, its a place for them to eat the foreigners. If you want better deals, you are much better off visiting Funan or IT Shows. And Funan certainly has a better reputation than SLS when it comes to customer service.
You're not a local, are you?
muz bargain mah
can check out prices first lo then go lo, then bargain lo
Yeah.. I agree SLS quoted way too overprice.. Some experience to share; I went to SLS during CNY and wanted to buy a mp3 player for my gf. I went to the first floor and ask the shop if they had any recommandation for mp3 player. Then, a uncle who was talking to his friend halfway told me they didnt sell mp3 player and went back to his conversation. Actually there were some mp3 player placed inside the glass container. I was like wtf man.. even it's not your shop, you dont want to do business? and they were very enthu when serving caucasian. What an attitude man...
That time was in a rush so I have no time to go Funan, I brought Zen stone at upper floor in SLS and it cost $116 which i think it's overpriced.. But I brought it anyway..
next time start with an ang moh acccent.. Then when they pay you attention immediately switch back to bargaining mode
they know local if chop carrot liao sure kbkb ma...
SLS was never a good place to buy eletronics...UNLESS you did your homework. SLS is only a good place to buy hardware stuff.
Someone posted he bought a PS3 for $930 plus other craps.
everyone know one mah
oni the IT stuff cheap...
the rest dun bother....
but the basement the fc food not bad.
he nvr did his homework before buying
"The six-storey complex is equally partitioned for different lines of products. Stores on the first storey are commonly called the “Tourist Trap” by locals in the Tekka district, due to their preference for tourists, who are argued to have no specific knowledge in the local currency, and thus willing to pay more; the first storey collates the consumer electronics stores, such as DV camcorders, mobile phones, compact digital cameras."
"Most IT-related products providers or dealers are found on the third to fifth storeys; most of the stores offer reasonably-priced IT-hardware. The top few storeys are also a haven for competitively priced consumer and high-end laptop and tablet PCs. Throughout the years, SLS has garnered reputation for offering competitive prices despite its cluttered and seemingly disorganized layout. Sim Lim Square is often the venue of choice for locals, and establishes its position via word-of-mouth."
Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sim_Lim_Square
ya i'm going to burn some of the shops liao
Blacklisted shops include Song Brothers,Alan Photo,Fuwell and Videopro.
These shops confirm + chop cheat money from people.Let this spread to tourists to shun the cheats from ever earning any money.
Frankly, I find the shopkeepers at Funan to be more trustworthy.
Just gotta keep looking around la...
Some of the trustworthy shops are like Best Bargain right at the top of SLS.Prices are the lowest there.
Originally posted by fudgester:Frankly, I find the shopkeepers at Funan to be more trustworthy.
hahahahahaha
u relli think so?
Stores bring the price up, so they let the customers cut cut cut, even when cut $60, they sell u, they still earn mah
i buy things mostly will take those flyers......go the stores and ask for the cheapest, then take the cheapest, go to the other stores, ask if they can go lower......
Originally posted by ceecookie:Some of the trustworthy shops are like Best Bargain right at the top of SLS.Prices are the lowest there.
Seems like the level of trustworthiness increases with the vertical distance of the store from the ground.
But anyway, I find Video Pro quite ok. Made a few purchases with them as well.
Originally posted by LatecomerX:Seems like the level of trustworthiness increases with the vertical distance of the store from the ground.
But anyway, I find Video Pro quite ok. Made a few purchases with them as well.
you get cheated liao la that one is one of the scambug
har? Now then noe ar?
Originally posted by smartboy4:you get cheated liao la that one is one of the scambug
Originally posted by fudgester:Frankly, I find the shopkeepers at Funan to be more trustworthy.
Yup. I second that. I rather have a peace of mind over the goods Im buying if the price at SLS is going to be the same as Funan.
Who ask you to go 1st floor?
my 57-year-old dad was overcharged by $110 for a nomal 3MP digicam. he came home, informed us of his buy and we decided to take matters in our own hands.
we called the shop and asked for price. okay. quite a low price.
we went there. my bro entered shop 1st. pretend to be customer. okay, quoted the same low price.
i came in w/ my dad. all the salesman/woman face changed. we came back like 1.5hrs aft dad purchased it.
so my bro and i asked a lot of questions LOUDLY with other customers around to create a scene they couldnt deny their sales tactic.
"so 2 hours only your price decrease by $110?"
"do you always take disadvantage of senior citizen?"
"do you con the less-informed customers?"
15mins later, we were returned $95.
shop name is the 2nd blacklisted shop named by ceecookie.
i got a canon ixus 860IS for $580 from song brothers when all other shops were offering 619, 630, 669...