i come from poor family... both father mother is factory worker.
i rmb when i started poly, my money in my bank account almost all gone coz have to buy one stupid laptop to use. for school use, compulsory for all students. cost me almost $2k. i think. didnt wanna loan those laptop from there, coz i scared lao kwee...coz my friends will look down on me n think i m poor.... ya if u loan u sure get some old cheapo model...everybody will know its a loaned one
they didnt want to pay for me coz they r paying the school fees already...anyway the $2k came from the temp office job n some odd jobs i worked after o levels....haiz heart pain. work so hard just to buy one stupid laptop for school use.
my parents give me $150 per month as allowance. very little siah, they kan stingy. but bo bian they r poor. about $60 went to bus pass. $90 left for makan n other spendings... they pay phone bill for me thankfully..broadband also they pay.. imagine i have $90 for canteen food n other spendings...thats so little lor. thats y i cant anyhow spend... furthermore i promised myself i m gonna set aside some money every month for savings...to make up for the $2k spent on laptop
i was poor all along...everyday wear giordano/bossini/OP clothes n jeans, dont have much clothes also, while the other guys were in nice branded billabong, ripcurl, ralph lauren shirts n levi's/guess/armani jeans... i so jealous siah.... i notice girls then to stick to the more rich n intellectual guys....damn these guys hor, their clothes all branded n everytime wear diff one. n they got nice handphone n everything branded...
my clothes all wear until old n faded...couldn't afford to buy more clothes coz money tight...have to save up just in case n also keep some money in wallet to go out with friends once very now n then. but seldom go out coz i not so popular... n i m using nokia 7250...use for so many years le...while i see nowadays young people all using 3G phone like nokia n series... wah lau
then lunch time to save money i often had meals that cost $1... eg. the malay stall canteen plain fried beehoon/mee goreng only $1... so i always eat that. or i'll eat chap chye with one dish only n lots of curry sauce. drank only water cooler water or my own bottle water coz drink stall canned drinks too exp....my own water is free one.
n somemore in poly always have to buy textbook so exp. siah. so i don't normally buy, sometimes borrow from friends or library n photostat a few pages...
i think my classmates could see i m poor from the way i dress n behave. haiz i feel so sad n embarassed. i think some of them secretly laugh at me behind my back or look down on me n despise me.
speaking of which... when poly first started... i was mixing around with this group of pals lah... we got along well...always sit together for lecture or lunch, do projects n assignments together, study or revise work together etc... we also went out... go watch movie, kbox, eat lunch or dinner... but never go clubbing lah, coz they not clubbing type. then everytime see movie i have to cough out money of course...heart pain siah...for a 1 1/2 hour show bout $10 gone just like that. n they often like to restaurants n fastfoods... such as pepper lunch, swensens, kenny rogers, crystal jade, pizzahut, sakae sushi... n fastfood like kfc, mac. so when we eat at such restaurant, i see the menu i feel turn off, coz all so expensive. imagine how many $1 fried beehoon i can buy from the canteen in poly for that $10+ set meal. so i usually dont eat,....drink only iced water...have to give excuse say i not hungry. i feel a bit left out when the rest r eating n i m the only one not eating...what to do? if i spend like $10+ on one meal my money wont last me for the rest of the month...
but i thik my friends know the truth that i cant bear to spend so much...that i m poor.
then even go mac i dont eat, only eat the 60 cents ice cream. n in kfc i just order one small whipped potato. after a while, i notice my friends stopped asking me out, n i think they would discuss about outings when i m not around. maybe they think i m a loser? i m not like one of them? maybe they feel i m an embarrassment to them? coz i dont eat anything in the restaurant n maybe my clothes r cheap n faded n old n out of fashion?
so i find myself drifting further from them.... they dont ask me out but i dont really care. dont go out better still, save money n i can spend time playing comp games. then during lunch time they seem to talk less to me. haiz... i feel so upset...i m losing my friends. feel more n more alone with each passing day.
i cry sometimes at night in bed. i often scold my dad n blame him wasting his salary on stupid 4d/toto n cigarettes n beer.... if he dont spend on these he can give the family more comfort n give me more allowance.. waste money n harm his health too. then when i tell him off he doesnt like it n we quarrel n i feel even more depress. now i think its affecting my studies... no friends... no money...stupid parents... n my mother also... another one who spend a lot of money on 4d but yet never strike...
oh ya then one time my classmate pals n i were talking...bout how much u get from parents as allowance. i realized i m the lowest lor.... this guy his dad is a rich businessman dealing in export goods...he gets $800 per month! would u believe it? wah kao.... how i wish i had a rich dad. he lives in a 3 storey terrace house n he says he dad will buy him a car after he get a license. he somehow likes to boast n my other classmates will oo n waa over it. but i find it childish....sibei hao lian siah....i dont like him tsk
haiz feel so sad...why i m so poor....why must be born in poor family...haiz so sad my life very cham. no girlfriend also coz cant afford.,,, feel so depress n i m always jealous of those rich ah sia kias
theres no need to find poor pple here to make urself feel better.
after all, u feel that ur poor becux u allow urself to think that wae.
start to think big.
plan ahead and work even harder in ur studies if u feel inferior.
dun ever let inferiority defeat u. let it become the motivational force to push u to greater heights.
no one will look down on you. if u think ppl look down on you, then they will look down on you. it's in the state of the mind. quite pitying urself because that is not going to resolve anything.
poor -> then go earn lo -> do part time jobs lo. when problems come, ppl dun sit there n think of it n pity themselves, they will go n search for solutions to resolve or do something about it.
i saw a movie just yesterday called diving bell n butterflies. it was about this guy who has a massive stroke and he was paraylzed from head to toe. he pity himself and refuse to cooperate with the speech therapist at first. the turning point comes when he stop pitying himself and want to do something about his life even in that situation. he uses watever he can do to expresses himself to write a book though.
this is based on a true story though.
i understand that we should not compare problems but then i just feel that it's just the way of how u see things. change ur perspective and ur life will be changed
I nvr look down on poor people.
Originally posted by seotiblizzard:I nvr look down on poor people.
no one say u did though
Originally posted by rlsh07:no one say u did though
he guilty conscience! ![]()
TS, i believe i can compare to you since im getting about 160 a month for all expenses; phone bills, food, transport. im also loaning a notebook from school which is like 3 years ago that kind. Study hard and apply for the scholarship. If money is really a huge issue to you, you would have studied hard and find means to get that money.
I think the only poor thing about you is your mentality and lack of drive to work hard for what you want.
Don't look down on yourself just because of poor. I don't think that you are that poor. At least your parents are still able to pay for your broadband and handphone bills. At least you are still able to wear giordano/bossini/OP clothes and jeans. If you are really that poor, you can't even afford all this already.
Forget about those branded stuffs. People buy them just to make themselves feel good. I myself wear giordano clothes often. Maybe you can go work during holidays and save up some money. You can use the money you got from work to buy hp if you really find its a need. You can also use it to buy some clothes its really a need too. But what I suggest is you save up the money and use it for your daily needs when your school reopens as allowance, like on food, transport fees and other things you need.
Don't be depress over those rich people. They only know how to spend spend and spend. You can turn the cycle of being poor around by studying hard now, do the best for your studies so that you can get a good job in the future. Being poor is for now, take it that its a stepping stone for you to go far in life! ![]()
wake up ur blardee idea cn anot.
sum ppl poor until no food to eat.
anyway, i no read ur whole story.
bt i knw wat lappy ting u tokin abt.
my papa bog the high-end one.
n of coz, he paid upfront in cash.
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:wake up ur blardee idea cn anot.
sum ppl poor until no food to eat.
anyway, i no read ur whole story.
bt i knw wat lappy ting u tokin abt.
my papa bog the high-end one.
n of coz, he paid upfront in cash.
U no read how u knw abt the lappie?
i oly read until the lappy.
so whiny dunwan to read lah.
he guy leh, can b more manly anot.
Ts, why sound so sad? being poor is not the end, i knw how you feel, my family used to be not so well off too during my primary sch days, mom was a salesgirl, dad was a mechanic , i still remember last time at my old house dont even have furniture, tv black and white one...hahaha
my family is doing a lot better now though, my mom is a director & my father started a engineering company. even though i have money now, most of the time i still buy stuff from budget stores, dont really like branded stuff, for me practicality is no. 1....
anyways, what i'm saying is anyone can start out poor, but you must be willing to take the opportuniy to improve yourself and get yourself out your 'poor' mentality, i'm sure if you work hard you will be just as able as those rich ppl... friends are fickle things, last time i poor also had little friends, now have alot, made me realise that if your friends measure your worth by the size of your wallet and not you as a person they are not worthy to be your friends, it better to have one true friend that really see you for who you are and what you can be, rather than many friends who would abandon you the moment you're in trouble...
anyway, how about instead of working and saving the money, why not invest it, you can read books on investment and ask people for advise, it's really a good way to grow your savings provided you make the right choices... that what i did with my savings anyway... =)
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:i oly read until the lappy.
so whiny dunwan to read lah.
he guy leh, can b more manly anot.
wah..so cold...
sometimes you're full of guano too ![]()
dis is th real world.
me is trainin him.
Don't be sad TS! Work hard in yr future. Next time u come out to work, u will more appreicate the things u bought with yr own abilities.
n dun oly buy buy buy for urself.
be a real man n bring $$$ hm.
be strong............u have to try harder than others
I also come from a poor family. My dad was a odd-job worker and my mum a housewife. His boss often no money to pay and my mum had to borrow from her relative. Previously lived in 1-room flat and then moved to 2-room which we live until now. There are 5 members in the family crammed into 1 tiny flat.
I didn't have any allowance at all! 3 years in poly and I never went to the canteen once! Skipped lunch and went home for dinner instead. Paid for transport, books, school fee, etc using money earned from vocation job.
I didn't go to local university even though I had done very well in poly (top 5%) cause my dad retired and I need to work to support the family. Went for part-time degree instead which I financed myself.
So TS, you think you are poor?
u c ppl so got backbone!
i like!
im poor too thats why im gonna have to move back to sg or malaysia to my parents.....
i think TS is just someone easily influenced bah. apparently he mixed with the wrong group of friends. why be embarassed about letting your friends know that you're poor? you see what really matters is your existance in the group not the money in your wallet.
true friends are the ones who understand your plight and try to accomodate to you. get this straight. i hate people who frequent fastfood restaurants and other classy places. i do know of some people who don't want eat in hawker centre because too hot and only want to eat in fastfood places. *pui* these are the people i really despise.
not trying to stereotype here but i feel that poor people should mature faster because they see things from a different perspective. they actually see the cruel nature of things unlike rich kids who only know they can get anything they want by opening their golden mouth and asking from their parents.
wake up TS. i believe you don't want to be like your dad right? work hard now and lift up your head. don't always live in the shadows of your 'friends' and get cast away time and again.
Welcome to the real world.
Don't compare yourself with others. We don't choose our own family.
Quit whining. Start planning for your future. After your graduation, get a good job. Money will follow.
=====
I've similar experience. Always have to think thrice about what to eat for lunch cos of the price. Felt despair at times. ![]()
i have $3.52 in my bank.
do i consider poor?
Originally posted by xavier1979:Welcome to the real world.
Don't compare yourself with others. We don't choose our own family.
Quit whining. Start planning for your future. After your graduation, get a good job. Money will follow.
=====
I've similar experience. Always have to think thrice about what to eat for lunch cos of the price. Felt despair at times.
yalor yalor ...... we cant pick our parents ........ but we can still make the best out of our own capabilities ![]()
TS is a spoilt child... U not that poor wat? Mix wif the wrong crowd oready... if u r embarrased that ur parents cant afford buying u luxury lifestyle, then find a rich family to adopt u lor...
how much does your parents bring home per month?
you're not poor.....
poor means you're not allowed to eat 3 times a day.....
so you get like 3 bucks a day to eat.......why not get yourself a part time job if your parents can't give you more?
last time when i was in primary school.....my father earned quite ok.....my mom had loads of business proposals....my dad bloody hell tell her to stop working coz he is jealous of all the clients.....then it got worse when he had affairs outside.....he didn't used to complain when we went to buy groceries.....then when he got affairs outside....he spend money on the bloody bitch......asking him for pocket money was like begging from a slave to a master.....just for a bloody 50cents......