Sometime is the way how ur fren treat you. when you are rich they asked you to treat. when you are down they shoo you as fast as speed of light.
this type of fren better not to be fren better.
If Ts willing to work part time, you can earn about S400+ per months by working sat n sunday.
BUT 1 thing the whole people never consider is when there is team project, and the team project take up on Saturday. you will be earning less.
i still struggle on work and study. and i think i unable to go to Uni liao.
To ALL,
1.Are you able to cope your poly life and working part time?
2. Are you able to obtain at least a GPA 3.3+ for all the semester while working?
3. Have you planed for your future?
It is all about time management ^^
When you start comparing, you will never get rich because it is endless unless you are the richest man in the world.
Stop comparing your wealth and start comparing your intelligence.
You may be poor now but if you have the brain and hardworking, you may be rich.
Originally posted by poorkid:ya i dont like hell kitty. i think she probably a materialistic bimbo. i bet she probably look down on the poor.
u dun like me coz i can afford tings dat u cant?
u hv no rite 2 criticise others bein materialistic.
i dun look dwn on the poor.
bt i look dwn on u.
not becoz u poor.
coz u spineless.
coz u useless.
ok. so you're jealous that your friends are having it better than you are. so was i, when i (as an individual) was much poorer than my friends. but i never tried to hide the fact that i was poor. i dunno. but perhaps, because you don't tell them you cant actually afford it all, they THINK that you can but are too stingy to want to spend any $$. maybe that's why they dont 'like' you as much anymore. there's nothing embarrassing in not being able to afford the latest fashion and what not. and if they are your friends, they wont mind you being not as rich as they are. in fact, who knows, they might give you a treat once in a while and pay for your movie ticket or something.
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:u dun like me coz i can afford tings dat u cant?
u hv no rite 2 criticise others bein materialistic.
i dun look dwn on the poor.
bt i look dwn on u.
not becoz u poor.
coz u spineless.
coz u useless.
you have all the right to look down on others but remember, it would never do yourself any good.
Originally posted by ChingAlvin:you have all the right to look down on others but remember, it would never do yourself any good.
no one can look dwn on him if he werks hard fer his $$$.
he has no impact on me.
I think Hello Kitty is not looking down on him. Is a fact that POOR is not something that you blamed for not being able to be like others. Many successful people come from poor families. In some families, both parents do not even have education nor stable jobs, but their children use this as motivation and work hard in school and do part time jobs. It might be tough along the way, but this is important and very precious experience when you get older.
No one will look down people from poor families, Even if they do, YOU should not look down on yourself.
When u save to buy what you need, you treasure it more than those who got them easy.
Cheers!
oly when u look dwn on urself den ppl wil look dwn on u.
a man muz hv aspiration.
bt of coz if u nth to hao lian abt, u dun yaya lah.
To TS,
what is wrong using normal phone?
what is wrong wearing giordano clothes?
your friends are richer than you, so what?
if your friends choose to avoid you cos you are poor then might as well leave them. they are not your friends.
and for your info, i also come from a poor family. all my poly stuffs i bought myself using my own money while working part time during school holiday. if you need money, go out and earn it. and i dun remember me losing any friends cos i'm poor.
you need to change your way of thinking.
i hope this will b the determination for u to work hard and studies. and in future hope to see u successful
Originally posted by extrinsic:most ppl who tell u not to whine never been poor before, as such they dunno what is the feeling of being poor.
They just say say tell u not to look down on yourself, but let me tell you, it is 10000% vvvv difficult to NOT to look down on yourself when you are poor.
So ppl who had not been poor before, don't crap here as if the TS is whinning. Poor does give u a reason to whine. Dun believe? Okay, leave just 10 bucks in your wallet and no ATM, nothing, try to survive a week on those. + no eat at home. if eat at home, can only eat vege + rice ONLY. i bet 90% 1 week drop dead.
to TS, u have to first accept the fact u r poor. becuz u cannot accept that, thats why it hurts. If u accepted that, then u can or will able to put down your pride to accept aids. pride are worthless when you are poor.
when i started working i really had no money, at least he could still eat in school, what i ate was rice with curry sauce from chap cai peng store, even the auntie pity me and gave me pieces of potato to go with my rice. bleddy hell and you think bossini is cheap?!!?
at least this dip.s hit's not staving, he's obviously whining. wants better things in life because "other people have it" PUI!
you obviously knew your family isn't well off but you rather buy a laptop for yourself instead of loaning one! one of my friends actually had to work to help out her family ever since she's fourteen because no one else could hold a job despite the fact that she's pampered from young.
the problem's obviously with your thinking!
its really sad to read things like that, few months ago i was in exactly same situation as most of you, but now im working in Internet business company, we work on distributing computer hardware across many countries. Contact me by msn [email protected], we still need people to work with and perhaps your the one
Poorboy,
U no arm no legs ? Dunno how to get a job to supplement your spendings?
dude. u are not alone. i am oso poor like u. so be happy.
its true that money make the world goes round.
but u will soon know that what u want is not money. is the happiness.
Originally posted by freedom4ever:To TS,
what is wrong using normal phone?
what is wrong wearing giordano clothes?your friends are richer than you, so what?
if your friends choose to avoid you cos you are poor then might as well leave them. they are not your friends.and for your info, i also come from a poor family. all my poly stuffs i bought myself using my own money while working part time during school holiday. if you need money, go out and earn it. and i dun remember me losing any friends cos i'm poor.
you need to change your way of thinking.
wth....TS uses giordano clothes?
TS please lah......got people have to wear pasar malam clothes also never complain leh......
nothing wrong with using normal phones wat.......
I am a poor person too but I live happily.
Not all rich ppl are happy I guess. No need to be sad being poor. It will be sad if you dont even try to make your life better.
If you want to spend.. get a part-time job. There are plenty out there if you put your mind to it. Just go to http://www.jobcentral.com.sg or email that nice guy Vanborko who offered to help. In fact, since you wrote that you've time to game, then why not put your gaming to good use, for e.g. Maplestory seems really popular in this forum, sell your maple money things here and you'll prbly get as much as your monthly allowance.
There's no need to feel embarassed, just let your friends know you're poor. They probably stopped hanging out with you cause you pretended to be able to afford things you clearly can't-- that really annoys people. Just be who and what you are- if you have to work to supplement your lifestyle choices, then go do that and quit griping.
Originally posted by poorkid:i come from poor family... both father mother is factory worker.
i rmb when i started poly, my money in my bank account almost all gone coz have to buy one stupid laptop to use. for school use, compulsory for all students. cost me almost $2k. i think. didnt wanna loan those laptop from there, coz i scared lao kwee...coz my friends will look down on me n think i m poor.... ya if u loan u sure get some old cheapo model...everybody will know its a loaned one
they didnt want to pay for me coz they r paying the school fees already...anyway the $2k came from the temp office job n some odd jobs i worked after o levels....haiz heart pain. work so hard just to buy one stupid laptop for school use.
my parents give me $150 per month as allowance. very little siah, they kan stingy. but bo bian they r poor. about $60 went to bus pass. $90 left for makan n other spendings... they pay phone bill for me thankfully..broadband also they pay.. imagine i have $90 for canteen food n other spendings...thats so little lor. thats y i cant anyhow spend... furthermore i promised myself i m gonna set aside some money every month for savings...to make up for the $2k spent on laptop
i was poor all along...everyday wear giordano/bossini/OP clothes n jeans, dont have much clothes also, while the other guys were in nice branded billabong, ripcurl, ralph lauren shirts n levi's/guess/armani jeans... i so jealous siah.... i notice girls then to stick to the more rich n intellectual guys....damn these guys hor, their clothes all branded n everytime wear diff one. n they got nice handphone n everything branded...
my clothes all wear until old n faded...couldn't afford to buy more clothes coz money tight...have to save up just in case n also keep some money in wallet to go out with friends once very now n then. but seldom go out coz i not so popular... n i m using nokia 7250...use for so many years le...while i see nowadays young people all using 3G phone like nokia n series... wah lau
then lunch time to save money i often had meals that cost $1... eg. the malay stall canteen plain fried beehoon/mee goreng only $1... so i always eat that. or i'll eat chap chye with one dish only n lots of curry sauce. drank only water cooler water or my own bottle water coz drink stall canned drinks too exp....my own water is free one.n somemore in poly always have to buy textbook so exp. siah. so i don't normally buy, sometimes borrow from friends or library n photostat a few pages...
i think my classmates could see i m poor from the way i dress n behave. haiz i feel so sad n embarassed. i think some of them secretly laugh at me behind my back or look down on me n despise me.speaking of which... when poly first started... i was mixing around with this group of pals lah... we got along well...always sit together for lecture or lunch, do projects n assignments together, study or revise work together etc... we also went out... go watch movie, kbox, eat lunch or dinner... but never go clubbing lah, coz they not clubbing type. then everytime see movie i have to cough out money of course...heart pain siah...for a 1 1/2 hour show bout $10 gone just like that. n they often like to restaurants n fastfoods... such as pepper lunch, swensens, kenny rogers, crystal jade, pizzahut, sakae sushi... n fastfood like kfc, mac. so when we eat at such restaurant, i see the menu i feel turn off, coz all so expensive. imagine how many $1 fried beehoon i can buy from the canteen in poly for that $10+ set meal. so i usually dont eat,....drink only iced water...have to give excuse say i not hungry. i feel a bit left out when the rest r eating n i m the only one not eating...what to do? if i spend like $10+ on one meal my money wont last me for the rest of the month...
but i thik my friends know the truth that i cant bear to spend so much...that i m poor.
then even go mac i dont eat, only eat the 60 cents ice cream. n in kfc i just order one small whipped potato. after a while, i notice my friends stopped asking me out, n i think they would discuss about outings when i m not around. maybe they think i m a loser? i m not like one of them? maybe they feel i m an embarrassment to them? coz i dont eat anything in the restaurant n maybe my clothes r cheap n faded n old n out of fashion?
so i find myself drifting further from them.... they dont ask me out but i dont really care. dont go out better still, save money n i can spend time playing comp games. then during lunch time they seem to talk less to me. haiz... i feel so upset...i m losing my friends. feel more n more alone with each passing day.
i cry sometimes at night in bed. i often scold my dad n blame him wasting his salary on stupid 4d/toto n cigarettes n beer.... if he dont spend on these he can give the family more comfort n give me more allowance.. waste money n harm his health too. then when i tell him off he doesnt like it n we quarrel n i feel even more depress. now i think its affecting my studies... no friends... no money...stupid parents... n my mother also... another one who spend a lot of money on 4d but yet never strike...
oh ya then one time my classmate pals n i were talking...bout how much u get from parents as allowance. i realized i m the lowest lor.... this guy his dad is a rich businessman dealing in export goods...he gets $800 per month! would u believe it? wah kao.... how i wish i had a rich dad. he lives in a 3 storey terrace house n he says he dad will buy him a car after he get a license. he somehow likes to boast n my other classmates will oo n waa over it. but i find it childish....sibei hao lian siah....i dont like him tsk
haiz feel so sad...why i m so poor....why must be born in poor family...haiz so sad my life very cham. no girlfriend also coz cant afford.,,, feel so depress n i m always jealous of those rich ah sia kias
I also quite similar to you but i didn't post such whining post like this.
Seriously you need to change your mindset. Giordano , Bossini not sufficient? You should be glad that you don't wear those 3 for $10 shirts bought from markets.
Don't hang out with rich guys unless you want to be despised by them. I hang out with guys who wear normal clothes and i don't face embarressing problem like what you facing know. Seriously at your age, you should be more glad that your parents still give you allowance. My parents already start to stop giving me. During holidays i have no daily allowances, excpt when going out . Even so, i get only $20 when going out. I dont even whine, cause its enough.
Your parents might already have big headaches. You should feel shameful that you still get ur allowances from your parents , not shameful because you are poor.
Don't forget about the rising costs of living in SG. Food prices are going up. Transport fees going up. It doesn't end there. In the case of mine, my dad contracted nose cancer many years back. Till now he has to go for checkup . Sometimes he go for scanning also, that scanning cost $2K+. So you see, try to put yourself in the shoes of your parents.
I'm not scolding you. I'm just trying to wake you up .
I suggest you get a part time job on the weekends. That should help you lighten your financial burden.
Try to chang your mindset : Poor doesn't mean you can't hang out with girls. Just don't make yourself look dirty. You got a home right? Bath and make sure you hair is tidy. Save up liao then buy nice clothes and get a nice haircut. Don't rush into things. Do it steps by steps.
All the best.
oh gosh im poor because im wearing giordano, bossini and baleno clothes.
Neither do wearing ripcurl and billabong materials make you rich, they probably bought them from some pasar malams.
(:
Originally posted by jojobeach:Poorboy,
U no arm no legs ? Dunno how to get a job to supplement your spendings?
You are right. He is a poor boy.But you can't ask him to get a job.Now the unemployment rate is high.More people are jumping MRT .
how much allowance is call average ar ?![]()
400 a mth
dont wry man..i'm sure life wld get better when u grow older..many ppl learnt to be a spendthrift becoz they were once poor before and so they noe how precious money is...dont blame ur parents la,i mean.....who dun wanna earn more money than they are currently earning?...and dun compare urself with others...as long as u live ur life well,manage to get ur meals everyday,can le....work hard in ur academics and excel in it...no one wld ever look down on u when u excel in ur academics...who cares whether u are poor or not?..gd in academics can le...jia you!