Sometimes, when they call, I will fork out some time to help them no matter how busy I am. It is their job, so I shall be kind to help them. You know.. sort of being gracious and all. What for lie to them that you're not free? I wonder why are we so busy that we can't even spare 5-15mins to help others?
You know, zhu ren wei kuai le zhi ben. So will you help the telesurveyors?
But if I'm really & honestly so, so, so busy, I will politely decline or ask them to call back later. I will never be rude to others. 'Cause I believe we should have mutual respect for each other. The same attitude goes for when calling telcos, etc & speaking to the customer service officers, or entering the retail shops to buy things & speaking to the sales personnel politely.
Thus, at times, I will buy that particular item even though it is not what I really need, all for the pleasant customer service that I've experienced.
Anyway, I've heard & seen my fair share of rude Singaporeans, be it on the phone or out on the streets.
Are you one of them?
if i free i will do
best if do liao got free gift or something
i do it sometimes. depending on how polite the caller is. whether or not i can understand what the caller is saying. and the 'company' they represent. but if you are going to mumble and chant even after i ask you to repeat/speak more clearly,loudly/etc a few times, im just going to say i dont have time. bye. and i;ve ever done a survey once which required me to be on the phone for more than 30 minutes. by the end of it, my ear hurt. lol
there are rude people everywhere. though in some places, not saying please/thank you is the norm. and by saying please n thank you, pple will nkow straight away that you are a foreigner. and sometimes having people know that you are a brand new foreigner is not a gd thing.
im usually polite. especially to strangers. unless they piss me off first.
In reply to FI: ah. I see. But that's the wrong mentality to adopt. You will come across as being greedy. In hokkien, it's called gien peng gien sai.
You should help others without expecting anything in return.
Remember: A sincere 'thank you' is also a form of appreciation.
But let's say, if it's in the company's policy or they willingly give you a gift as a token of appreciation, then that's a different story. ![]()
it's natural to reward ppl for their time and effort to do the survey.
gian peng mi lan?
Originally posted by udontknowme:i do it sometimes. depending on how polite the caller is. whether or not i can understand what the caller is saying. and the 'company' they represent. but if you are going to mumble and chant even after i ask you to repeat/speak more clearly,loudly/etc a few times, im just going to say i dont have time. bye. and i;ve ever done a survey once which required me to be on the phone for more than 30 minutes. by the end of it, my ear hurt. lol
there are rude people everywhere. though in some places, not saying please/thank you is the norm. and by saying please n thank you, pple will nkow straight away that you are a foreigner. and sometimes having people know that you are a brand new foreigner is not a gd thing.
im usually polite. especially to strangers. unless they piss me off first.
yes, udon. you've got a point there. I'm glad there're still gracious S'poreans like you around, albeit only a mere handful. ![]()
by right, one should have some 'rewards' for helping them with their work. it's one of the ethic rules or something actually. haha. wanna know the 'sad' bit? im not a singaporean. haha. but what does it matter really. no country can survive on it's own lah. so long ur polite some where in the world, that's good enough. haha. and i've met and known more than a mere handful of polite singaporeans ;)
Originally posted by udontknowme:by right, one should have some 'rewards' for helping them with their work. it's one of the ethic rules or something actually. haha. wanna know the 'sad' bit? im not a singaporean. haha. but what does it matter really. no country can survive on it's own lah. so long ur polite some where in the world, that's good enough. haha. and i've met and known more than a mere handful of polite singaporeans ;)
Oh. I didn't know that. Lemme guess, are you a M'sian?
Hmmm.. I say you've not spoken to enough people. Try speaking to those uneducated Aunties & Uncles, or rich spoilt brats & their useless showoff parents/so-called highly-educated pr*cks who have simply no manners & respect for others . It's either you have a hard time communicating with those ignorant fools - simply wanting to tear your hair out, or face a distasteful and overbearing, atiitude. I'm really disgusted with such people.
Good for you.
Expect to get more such calls in the future. You've been labelled as a potential.
Really regretted being helpful and doing one of those street surveys. Now they keep calling me about credit cards.