Originally posted by Cowbaycowboo:in fact i find FT cyclist more considerate.....like the banglas would slow behind you and let you know they are passing....not like stoopid locals speeding past from behind you without any warning freaking the hell out of u
got one time i cycle, then an old lady came out from the side...bloodyhell i had to break using my legs coz the bike brakes won't stop them in time.....nabei she can walk slowly somemore
Originally posted by QX179R:and not forgetting the sweaty look & smell that will greet others in the same office too..
ya lor.....it definitely wouldn't look professional......
cyclist should give way to pedestrian on the pavement just like how car have to give way to the cyclist if they were on the same lane of the road.
Roads are for cars.
Originally posted by Deino:That wouldn't be "healthy"....that would be inappropriate especially to work....unless their office has a bathroom or something....besides....who in the world would want to tire out before they even start working.....
Excuses, excuses and excuses =)
Or are you trying to say that it's okay to tire out after cycling as compare to jog/walk?
Hoho.
I often see quite a handful of people cycle to work around my office. Most of them perspire a lot too.
My office does have a bathroom.
Originally posted by yamizi:Excuses, excuses and excuses =)
Or are you trying to say that it's okay to tire out after cycling as compare to jog/walk?
Hoho.
I often see quite a handful of people cycle to work around my office. Most of them perspire a lot too.
My office does have a bathroom.
well, cycling is more easier and less tiresome than jogging.....its no excuse please.......
Originally posted by aiglosicicle:
i cant stand pedestrains who think they own the pathway. i like to zoom straight at pesdestrains who block me intentionally. then we see who is stronger
that's where you are wrong. The pedestrains have the advantage over the cyclist. How fast can a cyclist ride? I remember once a friend of mine and another guy was arguing.
The other guy who was the cyclist decide to zoom straight at my friend. My friend easily sidesteps and then kick off his bicycle, causing the cyclist to lose balance and fall off. Bruises were everywhere. A scuffle continues after that until we finally separate the two of them.
Fact is, the pedestrains have the advantage over the cyclists.
cannot cycle one leh, wait the cyclist noob knock down little kids how? if knock me never mind larx at most bike spoil nia
Originally posted by weewee:
How fast can a cyclist ride?
are u kidding me? have u even been rammed by a bicycle before? they dun even need to be at top speed.. just normal speed with no intention to slow down can give u enuf problems..
y do we have to worry about bicycles coming from behind and knocking us down when we are walking? u wanna cycle, go ahead, but when u see ppl, u slow down, not ring the bell like nobody's business..
Originally posted by BadzMaro:Roads are for cars.
n bicycles too.
Originally posted by Deino:well, cycling is more easier and less tiresome than jogging.....its no excuse please.......
Then train until not tiresome lo. My colleague jogged to work around 8+ and sometimes I see him worked till 8+. Still as energetic like a tiger one leh.
My other friend stayed in Sengkang but work at Buangkok, he walked to work about 1 1/2 hours. He said it's good morning workout.
Cycling easier meh? Wait no place to park, will anyhow tie at lamp post again. Congestions and obstructions.
Just yesterday almost knocked down by a cyclist. Was with my girlfriend and we walked past this bus stop opposite Raffles City, the bus stop is like along the corridor type where there are benches. So already not much space, this cyclist who was cycling on the road, just came up to the pedestrain walkway and he's not cycling slowly lo. Quite fast. Was startled when saw it, was wondering what if it's small kid then kena hit how?
Originally posted by yamizi:Then train until not tiresome lo. My colleague jogged to work around 8+ and sometimes I see him worked till 8+. Still as energetic like a tiger one leh.
My other friend stayed in Sengkang but work at Buangkok, he walked to work about 1 1/2 hours. He said it's good morning workout.
Cycling easier meh? Wait no place to park, will anyhow tie at lamp post again. Congestions and obstructions.
Just yesterday almost knocked down by a cyclist. Was with my girlfriend and we walked past this bus stop opposite Raffles City, the bus stop is like along the corridor type where there are benches. So already not much space, this cyclist who was cycling on the road, just came up to the pedestrain walkway and he's not cycling slowly lo. Quite fast. Was startled when saw it, was wondering what if it's small kid then kena hit how?
men aren't beasts.....even top atheletes get tired......ofcourse you can gain energy easily by eating energy bars afterwards.......cozi have been in a situation where i'm damn hungry but have loads of energy......
now now....so are you're trying to say that all cyclists are dangerous from this experience that you've gone through?
if got kid then well thats just too bad.....the cyclists have to take responsibilities lor.....you're saying as if cyclists are all the same and are irresponsible.....
yes cycling is easier and you can cover more space at the same time.......i think in this case talking to you nobody will win one coz you believe wot you want i i believe wot i want......
Originally posted by Deino:men aren't beasts.....even top atheletes get tired......ofcourse you can gain energy easily by eating energy bars afterwards.......cozi have been in a situation where i'm damn hungry but have loads of energy......
now now....so are you're trying to say that all cyclists are dangerous from this experience that you've gone through?
if got kid then well thats just too bad.....the cyclists have to take responsibilities lor.....you're saying as if cyclists are all the same and are irresponsible.....
yes cycling is easier and you can cover more space at the same time.......i think in this case talking to you nobody will win one coz you believe wot you want i i believe wot i want......
I used to cycle too but I take it on the double yellow line. What's so difficult with it? 'cos what happened to me on Saturday was not the first time. And I believe it happened to some other people too.
If it was a kid it's just too bad? I don't think you will say so if it happens to your kid.
Prevention is better than cure.
Originally posted by yamizi:I used to cycle too but I take it on the double yellow line. What's so difficult with it? 'cos what happened to me on Saturday was not the first time. And I believe it happened to some other people too.
If it was a kid it's just too bad? I don't think you will say so if it happens to your kid.
Prevention is better than cure.
If prevention is better than cure......then ask gahmen to ban bicycles, rollerblades and skateboards in public places lar..........that way the odds of getting hit by any of these is infinity:1
Originally posted by Deino:If prevention is better than cure......then ask gahmen to ban bicycles, rollerblades and skateboards in public places lar..........that way the odds of getting hit by any of these is infinity:1
Skateboarders and inline skaters are more for recreation, not really transportation. As such, these activities are restricted to places where pedestrian traffic, or the risks of collision are low. Eg. skating rink or designated cycling/ skating tracks in parks.
Conversely, cyclists tend to compete with pedestrians on pedestrian footpaths... and cyclists knocking down pedestrians are very prevalent as compared to skateboarders and inline skaters.
Besides, banning everything won't work. Bicycle does not have to be banned at all if only cyclists display more courtesy in general.
Originally posted by Deino:got one time i cycle, then an old lady came out from the side...bloodyhell i had to break using my legs coz the bike brakes won't stop them in time.....nabei she can walk slowly somemore
But were you cycling on footpaths or some other pedestrain-intensive places?
I was skating along a footpath when I almost knock down an elderly couple under very similar circumstances. The elderly man started scolding me. The elderly lady started cursing at me and said that she hope to see me knocked down and killed by a car etc etc...
But I was in the wrong to skate in a footpath. So I apologized to the couple profusely, even though the old lady never let up cursing me... until the old man felt paiseh, smiled and waved at me.
Originally posted by Beyond Religion:Skateboarders and inline skaters are more for recreation, not really transportation. As such, these activities are restricted to places where pedestrian traffic, or the risks of collision are low. Eg. skating rink or designated cycling/ skating tracks in parks.
Conversely, cyclists tend to compete with pedestrians on pedestrian footpaths... and cyclists knocking down pedestrians are very prevalent as compared to skateboarders and inline skaters.
Besides, banning everything won't work. Bicycle does not have to be banned at all if only cyclists display more courtesy in general.
parks? the park is full of pedestrians......lately i have seen many skaters in the city area....one of them almost hit somebody......
well.....cyclists are humans, they aren't robots......there will likely be some who will not do as told......same goes for pedestrians.....many pedestrians like to Jay walk......so banning would actually work......its impossible for a civilisation to be totally civilised especially in the modern world......
so this hit and run situation will can never ever be resolved even in a gazillion years.......i dun like it when you say "cyclists tend to compete with pedestrian".....it sounds like you are generalising when you use the word cyclists.....
Originally posted by Beyond Religion:
But were you cycling on footpaths or some other pedestrain-intensive places?I was skating along a footpath when I almost knock down an elderly couple under very similar circumstances. The elderly man started scolding me. The elderly lady started cursing at me and said that she hope to see me knocked down and killed by a car etc etc...
But I was in the wrong to skate in a footpath. So I apologized to the couple profusely, even though the old lady never let up cursing me... until the old man felt paiseh, smiled and waved at me.
thats the thing.....when you almost hit somebody, you say sorry....ofcourse i do that if the person realised they were almost gonna be hit.......in some hit and run situations, they dun even say sorry.......
actually i think cyclist and skaters and bladers alike should be allowed to use the footpath coz i think its very dangerous to cycle on the road.......thats why i said must cycle responsibly......
Originally posted by Deino:actually i think cyclist and skaters and bladers alike should be allowed to use the footpath coz i think its very dangerous to cycle on the road.......thats why i said must cycle responsibly......
I agree on your last point about cycling responsibly... but it is apparent that many cyclists have failed to do so, else this issue of pedestrain vs cyclists will not arise in the first place.
Originally posted by Deino:parks? the park is full of pedestrians......lately i have seen many skaters in the city area....one of them almost hit somebody......
well.....cyclists are humans, they aren't robots......there will likely be some who will not do as told......same goes for pedestrians.....many pedestrians like to Jay walk......so banning would actually work......its impossible for a civilisation to be totally civilised especially in the modern world......
so this hit and run situation will can never ever be resolved even in a gazillion years.......i dun like it when you say "cyclists tend to compete with pedestrian".....it sounds like you are generalising when you use the word cyclists.....
I do not mean to generalize.
The prevalence of the matter need to be considered. Like you said there are bound to be errant cyclists, skateboarders, pedestrains or inline skaters. However, incidences of errant behaviour involving the latter three are mostly isolated cases. Conversely, incidences involving errant cyclists have prevailed to the point where the government has to take action.
Originally posted by Beyond Religion:I do not mean to generalize.
The prevalence of the matter need to be considered. Like you said there are bound to be errant cyclists, skateboarders, pedestrains or inline skaters. However, incidences of errant behaviour involving the latter three are mostly isolated cases. Conversely, incidences involving errant cyclists have prevailed to the point where the government has to take action.
yeah.....
Originally posted by digicharat:cyclist should give way to pedestrian on the pavement just like how car have to give way to the cyclist if they were on the same lane of the road.
cyclist should give way to pedestrian on the pavement just like how car have to give way to the cyclist if they were on the cycle track.
One month more till the ends of trials... But I see it as a failure. The Serious Cyclists will continue to use the roads, endangering themselves. Leaving Old and young kids on the cycling path, but did you check out those path! they are full of sand and leaves... Who use them? China men?
There are idiots among cyclists and pedestrians alike which make the whole situation unpleasant. For instance, there are jogging tossers who invade the cycling tracks at Bishan and East Coast Parks, while there are morons on two wheels who don't slow down as they approach pedestrians. For now, both groups need to learn to share the pavements graciously.
Have you ever thought of the implications if the ban on cycling on pavements was more strictly enforced? Every cyclist, including the little kids just starting out, would need to learn the Highway Code. How is anyone supposed to keep track of that?
Channel NewsAsia - 1 hour 3 minutes ago
SINGAPORE : Going green is becoming a popular choice among some Tampines residents in this age of rising fuel prices.
They are considering whether to extend a year—long trial of letting cyclists on the same paths as pedestrians.
Cyclists can be seen all over Tampines, probably one of the most bicycle—friendly towns in Singapore.
Last May, it started a year—long trial to let cyclists share the footpath with pedestrians.
They even had volunteer traffic wardens to educate both parties on the right use of the path.
The area’s MPs are now looking at three options — legislate the system, extend the trial or drop it altogether.
But before a decision is made, residents got a chance to give their feedback on Sunday, and there were strong opinions for and against the idea.
One resident said, "If cyclists choose to go on the footpath, then they must observe all the safety precautions."
Another said, "Cycling on the footpath — I will definitely appreciate it."
A third commented, "It is a good way to promote bicycling."
A fourth noted, "I am of the view that (we are) not ready to legislate until the infrastructure is all ready."
One concern the residents have is of pedestrians being knocked into, even when they have right of way.
Another is that the authorities are merely shifting the problem of high accident figures involving cyclists on the roads, to the footpaths.
But Tampines Town Council Chairman Ong Kian Min said cyclists were already on pavements all over Singapore, and the Tampines trial was to make things safer for everyone.
In fact, well—known transport academic Dr Paul Barter even suggested having a "Mr or Ms Bicycle" within the Land Transport Authority (LTA) to co—ordinate policies.
However, all of them agreed that there is a need for three things to happen — education for all, enforcement for the errant few and improved infrastructure.
National Development Minister and MP for Tampines GRC, Mah Bow Tan, said, "One day you may be a cyclist, and (on) another (day), you may be pedestrian, so don’t think you are in one camp or the other. We are all cyclists or pedestrians at one time or another, and if we all learn to co—exist, we are actually making life more pleasant for ourselves and our families."
A decision on the issue is expected in the next fortnight, after MPs speak with the Traffic Police and LTA.
Regardless of the final decision, Tampines Town Council will be building at least 2.2 kilometres of new cycle paths at the cost of S$1 million, and it will be ready by the middle of next year.
Tampines GRC is also working with the LTA to not just create more bicycle paths but also widen existing pedestrian footpaths, at the cost of S$3.5 million over the next three to five years. — CNA/ms