I have spare cash in my account and I was thinking of changing accounts to get better rates or signing up with prudential or AIA for their bonds thingy.
Anyone know about those stuffs?
Oh and I won't be giving/lending/donating/insert-verb-here you my money anytime soon.. In case you were wondering..
hehehe
put into CPF, you get the "best" rates!!!
about 4 digits but no more than $2000
types of bonds -
government bonds
corporate bonds
Originally posted by Agenda:about 4 digits but no more than $2000
feature of bonds -
par, face or maturity value
amount of money which can be redeemed at maturity
usually $1000 per security
aiyah
put in fixed deposit la LOL
why bonds? Not equities? Just curious
change hairstyle!
EXTENSION!
Originally posted by Phoebie:aiyah
put in fixed deposit la LOL
FD rates are dropping. Now all banks want to be cash rich, and are more reluctant lend to corporate business, partly due to the subprime issue.
If thats the case, its very bad for the economy. Which bank is good for fixed deposits? or bonds?
aiya...
take the money
go buy toto...
if tio, u get MORe money!!
Originally posted by Agenda:If thats the case, its very bad for the economy. Which bank is good for fixed deposits? or bonds?
btw fixed deposits is also known as time deposits
maybe u may want to consider maybank for time Deposits ![]()
http://info.maybank2u.com.sg/personal/deposits/sgd_time_deposit.htm
Originally posted by gigabyte14:change hairstyle!
EXTENSION!
Also still will have a lot of leftover one...
i have a feeling that phoebie is working in a bank. Are u? ![]()
firstly this 2k...issit ur emergency fund?
its a guideline to have to least 3-6mths of ur mthly salary as ur emergency fund. e.g jobless, hospitalized etc.
if not then good..can go invest lor..although its...still not alot..
since u still young e time horizon is longer..can go up to equities..
bonds are less risky, but lesser returns, equties being e most risky but highest returns...however some funds need at least 5k as a min sum.
TMD rates are v low..no point to put in there, cos its losing money..nowadays, although best rates, its still below 2%....whereas our inflation rate is, 6.6%
if u are not protected (insurance) then can use this money to start buying some cover...alternatively..u can go for savings plan, shorter term, at least higher returns than TMD. or save more money, look out for structured deposits offers (capital protected feature)..
for now..i'd rather use CPF savings to do investments..but, take note of the min. sum of 20K in both OA n SA acct..
just keep as spare... cos 2k also would earn much...
Invest overseas with better rates if u have the capacity to manage.
Originally posted by Phoebie:types of bonds -
government bonds
corporate bonds
and James Bonds
i pm you my account number? privately give you interest rate 5% gum bo? fixed deposit with me for 10 yrs
go watch all the movies at least 10 times. shop till u song!
?
So Sorry, there was a problem when I submitted 2x.. so just testing just now. Alamak, $2 better leave it alone for emergency. If you really want something out of it, I would suggest, not FD, but go open a POEMS account or may be from UT account from Fundsupermart. They are paying daily interest of ~1% or even more interest with no time limit. Don't put in FD, there is always a lock in period of 6 months or something like that.
Alternatively, you may want to invest in Unit Trust (UT), as current market is kind of correcting awaiting US recession to come.. coming? well, you can find out more about it at Fundsupermart.. there is a self guide there, read for yourself... b ut please, just jump in without knowing anything. But at least, you can do is open an account and put your CASH into the cash fund to receive 1.414% (3 April's rate). Last year end, POEMS was at 2%, not sure what's the rate for now because I had recommended my colleagues to put his $$ there.
Try this 2 site.