Originally posted by FYLBA:Maybe Adam and eve are dinosaur??
dinosaur eat apple meh?
Originally posted by angel7030:
dinosaur eat apple meh?
ooo that would mean we are dinosaurs too. ROAR
Originally posted by magical_wen:eh..
ask u all some stupid qn ah..
u know the bible say GOD created adam and eve together with the earth?
then hor...
i jus read the topic on 10,000 BC abt dinosaurs.
its true dat dinosaurs existed last time.
then human le?
were they living together with the big furry elephant?
come from ah meng ro wad?
Humans did not live together with dinosaurs because the "terrible lizards" went extinct at 65.5 MYA (million years ago) before the time period of 10,000BCE and even before the appearance of Homo sapiens. Succinct and clear info on the timeline of Earth and its organisms can be found here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Timeline_of_evolution
Or you can refer to the various literature in biology, anthropology or even geography.
The biblical Genesis account contains moral/spiritual lessons ut is nevertheless mythology, and should not to be taken literally (although many fundamentalists do so). And indeed Genesis is not taken literally by many in mainstream Christian circles (refer to: http://www.butler.edu/clergyproject/religion_science_collaboration.htm).
Only crackpot creationists and kooky pseudoscientists cling stubbornly to their mistaken beliefs in a literal interpretation of Genesis.
There is no conflict between religion and science, so as long as religious believers behave rationally and do not ignore scientific and research evidence - accumulated & peer-reviewed for the past 200 yrs of moden science.
Originally posted by Deino:yesh the bible said humans were created on earth......
if i'm not wrong there were no dinosaurs during the 10th millennium bc.......
as for our origin, our evolution is just a theory not proven totally......so it is up to one to believe whether evolution is right or wrong
You are mistaken because "theory" in scientific parlance differs from its meaning according to layman use.
Evolution is both a theory and a fact. When scientists use the word "theory", they do not mean "guess"- it means a body of knowledge based upon sound evidence.
From Scientific American at: http://www.sciam.com/article.cfm?articleID=000D4FEC-7D5B-1D07-8E49809EC588EEDF
Many people learned in elementary school that a theory falls in the middle of a hierarchy of certainty--above a mere hypothesis but below a law. Scientists do not use the terms that way, however.
According to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS), a scientific theory is "a well-substantiated explanation of some aspect of the natural world that can incorporate facts, laws, inferences, and tested hypotheses." No amount of validation changes a theory into a law, which is a descriptive generalization about nature.
So when scientists talk about the theory of evolution--or the atomic theory or the theory of relativity, for that matter--they are not expressing reservations about its truth.
In addition to the theory of evolution, meaning the idea of descent with modification, one may also speak of the fact of evolution. The NAS defines a fact as "an observation that has been repeatedly confirmed and for all practical purposes is accepted as 'true.'" The fossil record and abundant other evidence testify that organisms have evolved through time. Although no one observed those transformations, the indirect evidence is clear, unambiguous and compelling.
All sciences frequently rely on indirect evidence. Physicists cannot see subatomic particles directly, for instance, so they verify their existence by watching for telltale tracks that the particles leave in cloud chambers. The absence of direct observation does not make physicists' conclusions less certain.
If adam and eve were first humans. Then liddat everyone is related then OMG!.
wth.
why can't dinosaur eat apple?
but i heard fomr somewhere saying
human orgin form a single race- red indian..
dunno true anot...
aiya...
wadeva the case
it doest affect my life, anyway :)
who called me?
Originally posted by magical_wen:but i heard fomr somewhere saying
human orgin form a single race- red indian..
dunno true anot...
aiya...
wadeva the case
it doest affect my life, anyway :)
blacks actually.....not red indian....although if i'm not wrong they got say something about the garden of eden to be somewhere near florida......to me i dun believe the garden is anywhere on earth
Originally posted by Coevolver:You are mistaken because "theory" in scientific parlance differs from its meaning according to layman use.
Evolution is both a theory and a fact. When scientists use the word "theory", they do not mean "guess"- it means a body of knowledge based upon sound evidence.
From Scientific American at: http://www.sciam.com/article.cfm?articleID=000D4FEC-7D5B-1D07-8E49809EC588EEDF
Many people learned in elementary school that a theory falls in the middle of a hierarchy of certainty--above a mere hypothesis but below a law. Scientists do not use the terms that way, however.
According to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS), a scientific theory is "a well-substantiated explanation of some aspect of the natural world that can incorporate facts, laws, inferences, and tested hypotheses." No amount of validation changes a theory into a law, which is a descriptive generalization about nature.
So when scientists talk about the theory of evolution--or the atomic theory or the theory of relativity, for that matter--they are not expressing reservations about its truth.
In addition to the theory of evolution, meaning the idea of descent with modification, one may also speak of the fact of evolution. The NAS defines a fact as "an observation that has been repeatedly confirmed and for all practical purposes is accepted as 'true.'" The fossil record and abundant other evidence testify that organisms have evolved through time. Although no one observed those transformations, the indirect evidence is clear, unambiguous and compelling.
All sciences frequently rely on indirect evidence. Physicists cannot see subatomic particles directly, for instance, so they verify their existence by watching for telltale tracks that the particles leave in cloud chambers. The absence of direct observation does not make physicists' conclusions less certain.
i know wot theory scientifically is lol....![]()
these topics has been goin one since i dun remember when.......
dunnit to teach me......
i didn't say theories are guesses......guesses are guesses and theories are theories.....
in the end, everything in this world are considered theories........theories are proven to the best of knowledge....but sometimes that best of knowledge is not good enough....its just like the laws of gravity which have been over the times been more understood better....thats why i said it is up to each individual.......
Originally posted by seotiblizzard:If adam and eve were first humans. Then liddat everyone is related then OMG!.
wth.
Err. I'm curious about one thing. If Adam and Eve are the first and only humans back then, and we are said to be descendents of the couple, does it mean their children had committed incest before our existence is possible?
Originally posted by LatecomerX:Err. I'm curious about one thing. If Adam and Eve are the first and only humans back then, and we are said to be descendents of the couple, does it mean their children had committed incest before our existence is possible?
i was taught that they were assigned pairs......the first two sets of twin didn't marry each other as in the 1st with the 1st and the 2nd with the 2nd......hmmmmi think it goes on liddat....it couldn't be counted as incest as there was no choice.......now it would be incest becoz of the world population.....
Originally posted by LatecomerX:Err. I'm curious about one thing. If Adam and Eve are the first and only humans back then, and we are said to be descendents of the couple, does it mean their children had committed incest before our existence is possible?
Precisely my point. Anyone can help us out? Like explain this?
Pls lah - they are just stories - -
Stories told by humans which may or may not be true - but if adam and eve is the first humans - then who tell the later humans the story ? diaoz -
Anyway - it's hard to human to know the actual existence of the world around us as - it's a world of uncertainity -
That's no right or wrong -
That's no purely Eastern thinking or purely Western thinking
Matter or Anti Matter
Chicken or Egg?
Mass Energy conservation - destroy mass get energy? energy create mass?
Mass attract one another ? who say one ? y?
Everything exists as a in between - thus there exists a balance -
Chaos theory ?
Man seeks for the truth, seeks for a comfort zone to ascertain himself, which him seeking to move to a side of extreme, it just creates more trouble for himself -
Why not seeks to believe in different things - create a balance and understand appreciate the world as complex as it is and not decide whether something is true or not -
if dunno - just say it is becoz of God - - -
Originally posted by Renicifera:Pls lah - they are just stories - -
Stories told by humans which may or may not be true - but if adam and eve is the first humans - then who tell the later humans the story ? diaoz -
Anyway - it's hard to human to know the actual existence of the world around us as - it's a world of uncertainity -
That's no right or wrong -
That's no purely Eastern thinking or purely Western thinking
Matter or Anti Matter
Chicken or Egg?
Mass Energy conservation - destroy mass get energy? energy create mass?
Mass attract one another ? who say one ? y?
Everything exists as a in between - thus there exists a balance -
Chaos theory ?
Man seeks for the truth, seeks for a comfort zone to ascertain himself, which him seeking to move to a side of extreme, it just creates more trouble for himself -
Why not seeks to believe in different things - create a balance and understand appreciate the world as complex as it is and not decide whether something is true or not -
if dunno - just say it is becoz of God - - -
there are two sides two everything....just like you say how many things in this world is not certain.....
i think that thinking that some stuffs happen becoz of god is ok in a way....but i think most of them think differently.....there are two sides to believing that stuffs happen becoz of god....one is merely believing it and one is believing it becoz he thinks that everything is a chain. becoz god created a certain matter, that matter becomes a tool for men, men kills people with that tool etc..........
the world really is full of uncertainty
didn't say theories are guesses......guesses are guesses and theories are theories.....
in the end, everything in this world are considered theories........theories are proven to the best of knowledge....but sometimes that best of knowledge is not good enough....its just like the laws of gravity which have been over the times been more understood better....thats why i said it is up to each individual.......
There is a confidence level in the things u believe in. If u talk about sciene like evolution, then the confidence level is 99.99 % If u talk about atomic structure or gravity, they r also within tat level of confidence. If u talk about adam and eve, the chances of it happening is probably 0.001% according to scientific understanding.
U have the right to decide on watever is the truth, but the recommendation is to follow the one tat is the mostly likely to be the truth.
Anyway watched 10,000 BC yesterday. There is NO dinosaur in the film. It is some ancient ostrich-like bird. The story reminds me of Moses though and probably how Moses come about :p
Originally posted by stupidissmart:There is a confidence level in the things u believe in. If u talk about sciene like evolution, then the confidence level is 99.99 % If u talk about atomic structure or gravity, they r also within tat level of confidence. If u talk about adam and eve, the chances of it happening is probably 0.001% according to scientific understanding.
U have the right to decide on watever is the truth, but the recommendation is to follow the one tat is the mostly likely to be the truth.
Anyway watched 10,000 BC yesterday. There is NO dinosaur in the film. It is some ancient ostrich-like bird. The story reminds me of Moses though and probably how Moses come about :p
99.99.....there is always must be room for doubts......thats how a human should think
there is also the ancient astronaut theory etc......
Nothing is certain. Only % likelihood. If god suddenly appeared and prove himself without a doubt, trust me I will become a fanatic believer immediately. However no such things happen, no sign and evidence, so many myths and folktales of how world come about tat logically it is not believable.
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Nothing is certain. Only % likelihood. If god suddenly appeared and prove himself without a doubt, trust me I will become a fanatic believer immediately. However no such things happen, no sign and evidence, so many myths and folktales of how world come about tat logically it is not believable.
yesh thats why i said humans can not be 100% sure of everything....must always leave room for doubt
without doubts and how things happen,,, we would never have science...and we will never improve..so conclusion God is science..
I don't see why they r related...
without doubts and how things happen,,, we would never have science...and we will never improve..so conclusion Flying spaghetti monster is science..
or cinderella is science
or shrek is science
or tooth fairy is science
yesh thats why i said humans can not be 100% sure of everything....must always leave room for doubt
Sure. Obviously if a certain reach a certain percentage of confidence, such as 99.9%, then it is treated as facts. If a thing is 0.01% possible, then it is treated as lame.
U sure your parents r the one tat give birth to u ? U cannot be sure of tat as well. Do u wanna live life thinking u r actually adopted or something ? U sure u did not live in the matrix ? U sure u r not mad and actually thinking u r sane in your imaginary world ? U decide man...
Originally posted by FYLBA:why can't dinosaur eat apple?
does apple exist 65 millions years ago?
Originally posted by Deino:who called me?
God