Well...considering that the cop only fired one shot.Are people in the SPF taught to do double tap?Cuz in such a life-threatening situation, 2 shots are better den 1. But also wondering, why no warning shot was issued.
If react out of self-defence with no time to give warning, use of force will be justified. Apparently, the suspect might have been armed and dangerous.
However, if the policeman fired multiple shots, then I think he'd have a lot of answering to do.
Give another moment to hesitate when a man pounce at you and you'll be dead if the suspect did have a weapon in hand.
double tap only applies to sub-machine guns coz its more stable... double tapping a handgun/ revolver will compromise accuracy...
i heard tat it's by chance the police were there when they saw e suspect. they din noe he killed a guy earlier on. wanted to spot check him cuz he was very suspicious looking. lols. and so 'heng' sia e guy. but i still feel that e police shldn't have shot the man's chest. i believe they in spf hav learn alot of self defence skills. besides, it's a knife tat he's holding, not a gun. the police could have easily brought him under control if they have right defence skills. or if there's really a need to fire, it should be at the lower part of the body.
tats just how i feel...
haha but i tink it's fated la. fated to be checked by the police. fated to be shot and right on the chest. ![]()
Originally posted by -beehoon:haha but i tink it's fated la. fated to be checked by the police. fated to be shot and right on the chest.
spf well trained. trained to check correct people.
Originally posted by kenn3th:Why must the policeofficer, shoot the man ON the chest at point zero?
why cant he shoot him on the legs?
Since when was there any firearm training that teaches you to shoot ppl on the leg?
You dun see marks/points awarded during shooting test when the shot hits on the leg area. Some targets dun even have legs on the shape of the target.
No where in any Law Enforcement Agency in the world trains ppl to shoot on the leg.
Even Army dun teach you to shoot at ppl's leg.
Please dun be mislead by TV shows.
Its quite standard protocol world wide:
1) You draw your weapon when your life or someone's life is in danger
2) Shoot to Kill.
that guy is armed with a knife.
it is sharp and highly capable of killing.
should the police engage in physical combat, the chance is that, the police get stab and wadever.
is not like that guy is arm with a rod or hammer, where engaging close combat will be less risky.
so the most effective method is to shoot him.
Originally posted by MohamedF:double tap only applies to sub-machine guns coz its more stable... double tapping a handgun/ revolver will compromise accuracy...
That's what training is for isn't it... Pistols are usually double tapped... In foreign armed services and law enforcement agencies...
yeah. guess i watched too much shows x)
btw it's a she or he who shot e suspect?
Originally posted by Troy437:
Since when was there any firearm training that teaches you to shoot ppl on the leg?You dun see marks/points awarded during shooting test when the shot hits on the leg area. Some targets dun even have legs on the shape of the target.
No where in any Law Enforcement Agency in the world trains ppl to shoot on the leg.
Even Army dun teach you to shoot at ppl's leg.
Please dun be mislead by TV shows.
Its quite standard protocol world wide:
1) You draw your weapon when your life or someone's life is in danger
2) Shoot to Kill.
i don't think police will shoot to kill. only when lives are endangered then shoot.
only the military will shoot to kill.
don't know...
Actually can't blame the policeman. Time to brush up his firing skill.
Originally posted by wonderamazement:That's what training is for isn't it... Pistols are usually double tapped... In foreign armed services and law enforcement agencies...
believe me when I say revolvers can't be double tapped without compromising accuracy...
Originally posted by MohamedF:believe me when I say revolvers can't be double tapped without compromising accuracy...
Oh ya hor... SPF using Revolver...![]()
Originally posted by -beehoon:i heard tat it's by chance the police were there when they saw e suspect. they din noe he killed a guy earlier on. wanted to spot check him cuz he was very suspicious looking. lols. and so 'heng' sia e guy. but i still feel that e police shldn't have shot the man's chest. i believe they in spf hav learn alot of self defence skills. besides, it's a knife tat he's holding, not a gun. the police could have easily brought him under control if they have right defence skills. or if there's really a need to fire, it should be at the lower part of the body.
tats just how i feel...
Dun agree with you.
There is no rule that you can use gun when your enemy have gun.
Self Defence, the Policeman can defend himself. Then fight for how long? Then the suspect finds that he can't kill the Police Officer, he goes for a member of public (public place) who is not trained. Hold hostage and etc...dun waste time and risk other ppl life. The Police officer acted correctly by not being 'Steven Seagal'.
Lowert part of the body? why some have the idea of shooting ppl at the lower part of the body?? shoot his balls off? ![]()
So long as he does not die, he lives to kill another person. He has killed one, already death sentence. So why not try to kill more, probably police or prison officers, while waiting to be hanged.
tats just how I feel...
Originally posted by Troy437:
Dun agree with you.There is no rule that you can use gun when your enemy have gun.
Self Defence, the Policeman can defend himself. Then fight for how long? Then the suspect finds that he can't kill the Police Officer, he goes for a member of public (public place) who is not trained. Hold hostage and etc...dun waste time and risk other ppl life. The Police officer acted correctly by not being 'Steven Seagal'.
Lowert part of the body? why some have the idea of shooting ppl at the lower part of the body?? shoot his balls off?
So long as he does not die, he lives to kill another person. He has killed one, already death sentence. So why not try to kill more, probably police or prison officers, while waiting to be hanged.
tats just how I feel...
think probably the policeman fired for the safety of the public. was it the NSF policeman patrolling mrt stations that fired the shot?
Originally posted by SpecOps87:Well...considering that the cop only fired one shot.Are people in the SPF taught to do double tap?Cuz in such a life-threatening situation, 2 shots are better den 1. But also wondering, why no warning shot was issued.
enclosed area cannot do warning shots, bullet might ricochet and hurt someone....
Poor guy being shot dead..
I wonder why he stabbed his victim earlier on.. driven to desperation or fit of anger?
news say he fast approached the policeman with a knife?
news say they knew each other. witness say heard them quarreling over $$$..
I thought police first response is to challenge the person to halt?
If the aggressor doesn't halt, fire warning shot.
If aggressor still doesn't halt shoot at leg area.
Why is it that the aggressor end up being dead if they only suppose to aim at leg area?
I thought police first response is to challenge the person to halt?
If the aggressor doesn't halt, fire warning shot.
If aggressor still doesn't halt shoot at leg area.
Why is it that the aggressor end up being dead if they only suppose to aim at leg area?
Eh pls lah, u think the policeman just take out his gun and shoot the person???
Fire warning shot?? U watch Too much TV and Movies!!! And is in Enclosed area, hw to fire warning shot. u want to fire the warning shot to roof??? should the waring shot hit other ppl hw???
There is no rule tat u must ONLY aim at the leg!!!! When police did their firing training also nv aim at leg only lor.
The policeman did the right thing, i belive that he had no choice as he is only a few meter away(this is wat the news says)
Anyway, the policeman who fire the short will have a veri long report to write.
Originally posted by angel7030:i find it funny, usually in this forum, the TS never post the news and someone following up always post it...hmmm
can't you people see it? its a scam! first they let the JI guy escaped, lose our trust and now, to win our trust, they have to come up with this act so as to win us back again
Originally posted by sirAdrian:Eh pls lah, u think the policeman just take out his gun and shoot the person???
Fire warning shot?? U watch Too much TV and Movies!!! And is in Enclosed area, hw to fire warning shot. u want to fire the warning shot to roof??? should the waring shot hit other ppl hw???
There is no rule tat u must ONLY aim at the leg!!!! When police did their firing training also nv aim at leg only lor.
The policeman did the right thing, i belive that he had no choice as he is only a few meter away(this is wat the news says)
Anyway, the policeman who fire the short will have a veri long report to write.
If a few meters no chance to fire warning shot, then should aim at leg.
The police should only imobilize the person, not shoot to kill.
What if it turns out the knife was a prop and the person was insane?